Proton Satria R3 Lotus Racing Edition

if i have extra 115k i absolutely get one!!!....btw this car is a entry level roadlegal track car...
like megane r26 its irrelevant to compare to lancer gt..its not about practicality.in fact the guys in r3 should get rid of the rear passenger seat.
my 2cent.

the price is more expensive than the Suzuki Swift Sports.. Can this Neo R3 win a Swift Sports?

Congrats R3.

Now what I wish R3 could have done, is to make one stooopidly outrageous Neo. Just one, just for fun. Like the Golf GTI made by VW with the W12 Bentley engine. Fearsome one that.

Be f**king crazy for a bit, R3.

But remember what kind of publicity that crazy GTI receives. There's a method to the madness. You don't get publicity by being boring. Not in the auto industry.

---------- Post added at 09:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:22 PM ----------

All this talk about the supposedly puny 145hp.

Can somebody refresh me, which other NA car claims 145hp and put a dyno chart on it's brochure? Please I'm old already.

I've checked with this Lotus Satria Neo project manager.

R3 Team Members only use 3 weeks to develop this car. ( For me its already good enough in that limited time )

They didnt use Momo because this car originally fitted with airbags (CPS High Line Model)
and they are aiming more to normal road users in overseas country and also local. So they don't want to sacrifice the airbags.

Then about the seats, he told me that in this short period they cant really find a suitable semi buckets for this neo because all height, comfort , and safety test will be done if they need to change the seats.
(Dont have time i guess)

I checked the exhaust that day of the launch. The car is using fully stainless steel. ( From header to back ) Only when the owner get their cars, they will change the header to titanium. ( Dont really understand why ) Btw, the car setting was 4-1 Header - 1 straight flow midbox - s-flow muffler.
( The rear muffler is like Satria Neo's original muffler shape, the big big testis type )

Most of their lightweight project is did on the engine itself. Not the car body itself.
Performances part will be Cams, Intake, Gear Ratio, Lightweight waterpump, and quite a number of them ( forgot )

Lastly , during the launch it attracts a lot of overseas people in pavillion. Especially mat saleh ( saw it with my own eyes ) Most of them like the colour theme, bodykits, shape.

Just sharing my information. Personally i think this car worth the price.
Imagine the money and time of R3 and Lotus research on this car.

Hmmm. 3 weeks is not alot of time spent when u compare it with other cars, and when i mean others i dont mean a ferrari or a lambo.

Come to think of it, now that we know it only took 3 weeks to develop, isnt 115k looking more and more pricey =D

Just my 2 cents.

well done to the r3 division,nice look,good power on its level and i dint care bout the price,this is limited edition rm115k is ok.as long as you among the 25 ppl driving it across malaysia..for others is not a matter of powerderfull or japs car but sumting to proud off that some ppl couldnt have it even they have money..cheers.

Does anyone have information about the gear ratios?.....I'm very interested in that....I hope R3 would come up with a gear upgrade package...

Hmmm. 3 weeks is not alot of time spent when u compare it with other cars, and when i mean others i dont mean a ferrari or a lambo.

Come to think of it, now that we know it only took 3 weeks to develop, isnt 115k looking more and more pricey =D

Just my 2 cents.

urmm.. the appeal is lowly fading frm me.
dun get me wrong, the concept is superb!

but..

R&D takes abt 3 weeks, minus that off-the-shelf R3 bumper n stuff.
6oK (?) worth of performance parts fitted (i reckon most of that came frm that front brake setup & them ohlins)
god knows how many man hours used in the process..
145bhp (ini atw ka apa?)

and lastly, RM115K.

fer that price, i'd gladly take something cheaper fer the suspension upgrade, better pads & braided lines fer brake upgrades fer 20bhp more .. :smokin:

basically it's a awesome car...

too bad, it didnt come with recaro seats and momo...

and also carbon fiber spoiler...(scare of daring and idiotic thief)

urmm.. the appeal is lowly fading frm me.
dun get me wrong, the concept is superb!

but..

R&D takes abt 3 weeks, minus that off-the-shelf R3 bumper n stuff.
6oK (?) worth of performance parts fitted (i reckon most of that came frm that front brake setup & them ohlins)
god knows how many man hours used in the process..
145bhp (ini atw ka apa?)

and lastly, RM115K.

fer that price, i'd gladly take something cheaper fer the suspension upgrade, better pads & braided lines fer brake upgrades fer 20bhp more .. :smokin:

i couldn't agree more, its definitely a commendable attempt by proton but if felt kinda like a rush work. If they are going to put something out that cost almost double the price of a normal satria neo, it should come with a more complete set up.

In my opinion, i think both the 4 Pot AP brakes and the Ohlins are overkill for a street car that has only 145hp.

Firstly they could have gotten a cheaper alternative like maybe a Wilwood 4pot or a GAB/Tanabe/Tein Suspension and spend the extra money on a more complete set up like having at least decent bucket seats.

Secondly, if they have alrdy used high end stuff like AP Racing brakes, Ohlins coilovers, they could have matched with a more branded rim like volks racing/advan etc and also match with recaro/bride seats and give at least decent 180-200hp. Off course the price would be probably much higher though but with only a limited 25 units, it could be justifiable.

Overall, i feel that more time and effort should have been spent..

Just my humble opinion, don't flame me :)

Guys, i know some of you might be thinking i was a big fan of PROTON or some hate ass to other brands.

For me, why i think rm115k worth this car? Because by using a common sense. I don't think rm115k can buy a limited edition car tuned by LOTUS, and also bearing lotus name all over the car. Ya, some people might think " WTF IS LOTUS ? IT IS STILL PROTON CAR".
Ya it is proton car, but almost full lotus and r3 tuning. What is LOTUS? Don't joke guys, lotus is one of the "supercar" category.

Let me remind you, rm115k can buy lancer gt 2.0 or civic. But it is limited? and don't tell me the power is very fast or what shit because i dont think so comparing to this 1.6 145hp car. Dont mean to bash some of the brands.

And ya, some of you might think that rm115k can get a very very powerful 2nd hand car. But think again, dont ever compare your 10 years old over metal car with a newly born baby metal quality.

Second hand car will always be second hand car, especially sports car, even worst i can guarantee.
You buy that 10 years old ++ car come back and spend rm50k to fix it and takut everyday anytime anywhere you might have facing technical problems while you are fetching your girlfriend to shopping. " IMAGINE THAT "

Lastly, I can 100% GUARANTEE AND CONFIDENTLY SAYS THAT :
" If the quality of this car never change, still 100% same but just changes on the "LOGO" of the brand to TOYO-TRA or HON-DRA" , you guys might be saying : WAH THIS CAR LIMITED EDITION VERY WORTH WO!!!!!!

Remind you again, i said " quality of this car never change, only the name of the brand changed "

The car isn't made by Lotus or use any parts from Lotus. It just bears the name Lotus for marketing purposes i.e. as in special edition to commemorate the Lotus F1 team.

Sure the Lotus R3 Neo is made brand new but i suspect build quality, after all it is a Proton.

But it still is special so long as ONLY 25 get made from now until forever. And the parts on the Neos are quite spectacular. Still not worthy.

Proton hinted that if sales are good (which definitely will) they might increase the quantity which makes it not exclusive anymore in the future

And of course, this car focuses more on handling than raw power. So for this setup, the handling outweights the engine performance more already. They should have just upgrade the rear disc to 2 pots instead of leaving it stock solid disc with single caliper which doesn't look right in a way.

Oh yeah the 145HP is on engine, so on wheels around 116 WHP. I think definitely can go faster than the brochure's 9.2 second sprint time

It is kind of odd that it would only do a claimed 9.2 seconds, when the original 4g93 GTI was posting 7.8 seconds brand new (Before the Siemens ECU). The weight is relatively the same. In fact the horsepower is more in the Lotus R3 Neo... weird.

meaningful....

Guys, i know some of you might be thinking i was a big fan of PROTON or some hate ass to other brands.

For me, why i think rm115k worth this car? Because by using a common sense. I don't think rm115k can buy a limited edition car tuned by LOTUS, and also bearing lotus name all over the car. Ya, some people might think " WTF IS LOTUS ? IT IS STILL PROTON CAR".
Ya it is proton car, but almost full lotus and r3 tuning. What is LOTUS? Don't joke guys, lotus is one of the "supercar" category.

Let me remind you, rm115k can buy lancer gt 2.0 or civic. But it is limited? and don't tell me the power is very fast or what shit because i dont think so comparing to this 1.6 145hp car. Dont mean to bash some of the brands.

And ya, some of you might think that rm115k can get a very very powerful 2nd hand car. But think again, dont ever compare your 10 years old over metal car with a newly born baby metal quality.

Second hand car will always be second hand car, especially sports car, even worst i can guarantee.
You buy that 10 years old ++ car come back and spend rm50k to fix it and takut everyday anytime anywhere you might have facing technical problems while you are fetching your girlfriend to shopping. " IMAGINE THAT "

Lastly, I can 100% GUARANTEE AND CONFIDENTLY SAYS THAT :
" If the quality of this car never change, still 100% same but just changes on the "LOGO" of the brand to TOYO-TRA or HON-DRA" , you guys might be saying : WAH THIS CAR LIMITED EDITION VERY WORTH WO!!!!!!

Remind you again, i said " quality of this car never change, only the name of the brand changed "

Some how a lot ppl thing price is high and very expensive coz it still carry proton brand on it, no lotus goodies on it(means local part) or still Malaysian ppl frm R3 division work out the tuning.If we`ll had rm115k today and walk around the thousand car showroom out there most of us defenitly going for honda,subaru,mitsu or swift,well its our choice since this is or motorsport market.But when proton came out this model "satria neo lotus racing edition" which is made it shah alam or malaysia to be exact they actually offering sumting speacial to the buyer which is this car build only 25 unit according to them for the time being,by means who ever own it will proud. Either the buyer from middle income class or super rich customer will had big smile on their face when drove it across m`sia would i?(if i can afford it la). From what i understand up to this point is,proton actually targeting a small group of ppl to bought it which is in economic class i learn called nitch market. Well some ppl might be tought proton is carzy or out of thier mind to come out proton car with very expensive price and yet some of us dont even thing twice to own it like my fren does..he went to MV Agusta brutal naked bike instead of going for Ducati or honda (which i thing fair match).When i came and ask him why choose that bike he replied me "Setakat nie ada 3 biji je kat malaysia,i org pertama pakai"
My point is simple there is some of us wana feel to had sumting that other ppl dont even they had money.This is the proton had in thier mind when they came produce this so called SATRIA NEO LOTUS RACING EDITION.

Juz my 2 cents.

huhuhhu
it would be scary buy one
i bet this will be the next top stolen car like the gti's

huhuhhu
it would be scary buy one
i bet this will be the next top stolen car like the gti's

It will be realllllly scary.

But I would like to think that those lucky 25 owners can afford valet parking, unlike thousands of GTI owners?

for the outlook, so styling & so nice.. for the handling tuning & brake tuning, almost perfect(who the hell said must have crazy power to match the brake or suspension..?? sohai...) with the Lotus name on it... limited edition somemore... a great car indeed...

but, rm115k, really a high price for most of ppl here & out there, some says it really worthy to buy & wit billion of reason why this & that, mayb they r die hard satria fans or just simply blind patriot...
for those who still need to pay installment for their ride that below rm115k, of cos its TOO EXPENSIVE & NOT EVEN WORTHY TO THINK TWICE... for this Lotus edition... why, u got ur own answer in mind dy, no need to ask again..

this car good or not, dun just compare with brand, but wit technology or Tuning matters...
but i really disappointing with the power output coz its really "funny" when such nice car with small ball...but nvm, i can just 'tunggang lembu, cari kuda'... not askin for more if now day not year 2010, but year 1990... its way too out of trend la... shit... some of the sohai keep arguing in PT blog there, without any point, just a side who keep wake them up & a side with their patriotism, without knowledge of most of the brand & the car they has been compared with...

i dun mind to hav 1 of this Lotus edition, just if i got extra money to spend...
mayb with swap the engine to Evo's 4G63 to match the status...

Lotus tuned this car..?? dun kidding me la... hahahahahhaaa....:rofl::rofl:

but i dun mind to have 1....:biggrin: