New Police Opt

what's the outcome?...
JPJ inspection? on-the-spot summon? or *ahem*?

here's something to confirm.. .got it from The Star today...

Crackdown on Xenon headlights
KANGAR: The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will act against vehicle owners who modify their headlamps with bright Xenon lights that are blinding to other motorists at night.
JPJ Director of Enforcement Salim Parlan said the Xenon lights could blind drivers of vehicles coming from the opposite direction or in front of them.
He said the JPJ had received several complaints from the public on these modified headlamps and would take immediate action against modification beyond the set standard under the Road Transport Act 1987.
“These Xenon lights are too bright and can obstruct the visibility of other road users at night.
“This poses a danger to the other road users,” he said during an integrated traffic operation here yesterday.
The Road Transport Act provides for a RM200 fine for modification to a vehicle without the approval of JPJ's technical authorities.
Salim said the JPJ was considering regulations to prohibit the use of Xenon lights on vehicles altogether.
“We know that vehicles of several manufacturers use such lights. The JPJ will submit its application to introduce such regulations to the higher authorities for consideration,” he said.
Commenting on the two-day traffic operation that began on Monday, he advised motorcyclists in the state to get valid licences and update their road tax.
State JPJ Director Zahari Awang Senik said that during the operation, 123 summonses were issued for various offences.
The operation involved several agencies including the JPJ, Department of Environment, police, National Anti-Drug Agency, Immigration Department, Road Safety Department and Anti-Corruption Agency. – Bernama "

People don't give a shit about proper installation and that's how the white lights become flood lights. I've personally driven in front of a 4x4 (like those mitsubishi storm kind of 4x4) and he had white lights installed. He was just behind me at a near by safe distance and his light was SO NOT glaring. It was by far one of the best installations I've seen and I know that that 4x4 model don't come stock with white lights. I moved over to the left lane and when he slowly over took me, the beam of his light shined on the road with good light and good distance ahead of him. And all this without the glaing from the white lights.

I agree with satria95. I have on many occasions looked directly at cars with properly installed HIDs and they are not blinding at all. In point of fact, it's a pleasant looking white-light with plenty of visual efficiency.

As mentioned, it is the fault of retards who do not bother with proper installation that are giving HIDs a bad name.

The cops should also get their facts right. Indiscriminately issuing summons to every HID owner sounds like an ignorant and ill-educated thing to do. You want to police something, at least make sure you know what you are policing.

the problem is not on HID but those mothaF*cker who know how to install HID but never know how to adjust it properly. Some mothaF*cker tend to do it purposely as i met alot of them already.

last two week, got into a JPJ roadblock and they stop me saying that my light is white. I told them it OEM but they still check it whether it is glaring or not. Luckily my haedlight angle is motorised where i can adjust the headlight angle from the cabin so i adjust it to the lowest possible as i normally put in normal position. After see see and look look, they let me go... :)

motherfuckers... set the rules earlier and control the sellers instead of the buyers la.. imagine... u buy HID.. on the shelves.. thinking it's ok.. u install.. next day paper say police mau tangkap... what happens to yr money? down d drain.. y not control on the selling level instead of consumers? so if we kena block can we bring this to the jabatan konsumer or watever they call it? then who's wrong? us? the consumer? or them the sellers? or the government for not being firm on the items that's legal to be used... same goes for tinting... so? makahai, we pay tax to the government to govern the country and the laws to protect us.. not to make us pour money down the drain.. all these are excuses to either re-focus our attention from the numerous robberies and gang rapes on the streets (as published in the star, yes, ANOTHER ONE HAD OCCURED IN JB!) or to conjur up opportunities for more cup of coffee$ on their table...

I agree with your.. They should make it like pirated cd.. before stopping us to buy pirated cd, their show closed down all the pirated vcd shop.. Same as HID.. SInce is illegal, they should ban it earlier before it come to the market!

for me, using HID is ok. only those irresponsible driver using HID with don't know how to adjust the beam.. Those fella not only deserve summon and also deserve go back learn how to adjust beam same as the shop which help them install!!! Because of these kind of people, cause other responsible HID driver suffer too..

I quote the star,

"The Road Transport Act provides for a RM200 fine for modification to a vehicle without the approval of JPJ's technical authorities.
Salim said the JPJ was considering regulations to prohibit the use of Xenon lights on vehicles altogether".

The first sentence says JPJ's technical authorities...i'm pretty sure all of us know the level of technical knowledge that these officers possess.

And secondly, prohibit the use of Xenon lights on vehicle altogeher?
I challenge them to saman those datuks' Brabus or Cayenne with Xenon lights.

This just open another flood gate for side income despite the salary adjustment.

let them answer my wrath and try saying it to my face that I'm wrong with a focused white beam on the road!

hahaha... but they still might just cucuk you until you give them some incentives not to disturb you... ya know... :tongwink:

we can hope... but we know that chances are slim for them to be professional in determining if your HID is installed correctly.....

sigh.....

is it a big deal if car with hid? just glaring about a second to other user? just dont stare at the lamp if irritate ur eyes. how about driving like barbarian ppl zig zaging n speeding on heavy traffic road? can accident n kill innocent ppl? u r bias to proton and perodua owners. indeed waja is projector headlamp like any conti cars that oem hid. y u still said it glaring? n hid is better view than halogen. if jpj o police want to summon all cars that have hid all the conti oso will kena jugak. n its standard spec with hid. so is it fair to summon them? so want to summon car that mod to hid only? is it fair to them oso? u can ask the police under what act is hid illegal to use.:confused_smile:

hoohhooo hooo...

i am sorry mr fadzwan, but it bothers me. and of course some other people. what the thing i am doing at staring at those light? I am driving of course, and these cars with altered shiny white lights are coming at the back and also at the opposing lane. how can't I being attracted to those lights? how can't I being not disturbed by the lights?

I am not biased at all. I am urging the police to take actions to the drivers which disturbed the other road users. If the 1990 integra with shiny white light oso, just fine them.

and if the 1960 lexus or some american muscle car with distruptive lights oso, find and summon them.

screwed up installation of the HID oso is a good point.

if you ever compare, the standard white lights are good. not even blinkered me. just nice. but, some nissan sunny or wajalution owners decided to give their ride new lights, and they installed that white-glaring lights.

I am sorry. but thats the fact. accident happens in split seconds.

ps- I am not saying white lights are bad. its just disturbing white lights. its just one of the many reason that might cause accidents.

i do agree with drMpower.
Basically no one is deliberately targeting protons or perodua....just that there's too many cases where all this glaring lights are coming from these makers...
whether it's HID or normal lights.........

fadzwan, U don't have to get this sensitive......
why?....u in that lot too??........but I guess u r not in that category but agree that these ppl are giving u guys a bad name thus this "all-worked-out" comment trying to defend...

[Joc]™;2288541 said:
Salim said the JPJ was considering regulations to prohibit the use of Xenon lights on vehicles altogether.
“We know that vehicles of several manufacturers use such lights. The JPJ will submit its application to introduce such regulations to the higher authorities for consideration,” he said.
"

die liow,die liow.....goverment is going to ban HID altogether liow.:cry_smile:

so it has been comfirm that is true than... having a glare shield shud be ok ady... but i seen b4 some ppl put beyond 8k which have purplish colour beam... -.-"

i kena edi last month i think fr police.. say i use white lights..

Dude...show them this from the Road transport regulations :

70. Lampu depan selain daripada warna putih
Kesalahan Seksyen/Peraturan = K.96(2)(i)
Hukuman Seksyen/ Peraturan = Seksyen 119(2)

& screw them up...mutha farker!!!!:baring_teeth: :emoticon_U: Normal white light also get caught?:Not_Impressed:

I was thinking if those white beam HID is illegal...then how bout yellow beam HID??

that means light booster gain more money this time lor...hahahaha...
i m using it now... yellow until the headlight bcome a bit white..
block wise...no problem...

for your info...market no more new yellow beam HID for sale liao..except u down grade the bulk to 4000k onli...hehe...
sure no problem...my fren is using HID 4000k yellow beam...block no problem also...

i do agree with drMpower.
Basically no one is deliberately targeting protons or perodua....just that there's too many cases where all this glaring lights are coming from these makers...
whether it's HID or normal lights.........

fadzwan, U don't have to get this sensitive......
why?....u in that lot too??........but I guess u r not in that category but agree that these ppl are giving u guys a bad name thus this "all-worked-out" comment trying to defend...

thank you very much.

atleast somebody is talking with sense.

i am all for the police to find those distruptive headlights, white headlights and fine them. thats all. and, good mechanics/ installations can help alot on the other road users.

as for police to fine all of the white HID Xenon headlights, I do not agree. infact, i guess, all the newer cars are equipped with the lights and they are standards. all around the world are using this lights.

Dude...show them this from the Road transport regulations :

70. Lampu depan selain daripada warna putih
Kesalahan Seksyen/Peraturan = K.96(2)(i)
Hukuman Seksyen/ Peraturan = Seksyen 119(2)

& screw them up...mutha farker!!!!:baring_teeth: :emoticon_U: Normal white light also get caught?:Not_Impressed:

our law is subjective... n de police say to my dad ( my dad pay behalf of me cuz i need to work) y tuka tuka? white light can but my car stock is yellow.. so its not original.. so kena saman.. i showed dat to my dad.. he say for spotlight wo.. means add on.. i duno la.. msia rules so SUBJECTIVE... they like they saman..n theres noproper rules.. black n white for us to guide... cuz if got.. they dun hav any chance to makan ..if got black n white also.. no use la.. suka suka say sudah tuka la ini law..

the last my friend went into the office of one JPJ officer (high rank, that's why got personal office) he was shown a chart. And the chart says that as long as the light beam is yellow or white it's ok.
If it's blue onwards than it's wrong and summons would be issued.

Why my friend is in that office is another different story lar....not good to say it out in the open

Sorry that i have to say this but ........"YES!!" it is about time they enforce this law.

There are so many jinjang fellas with HID and the likes on the road that are not properly installed. They dont give a damn about other road users.

Unfortunately the innocent ones gets the crap also due to these irresponsible wannabes.

I think is just those ppl neva adjust thier headlamp. Most of the HID user shoot thier light so high. Especially those 4x4 when they use HID, its just so irritating driving in front of them.
If the height is properly adjusted, it's just fine.