need ur comments~~thx

get 5 yrs old wira 1.5M or 1.6 millenium, ranging from 32-40K.

condition so-so, if lucky can find good example also.

the benefits - cars with adequate power and sound economy, low maintenance and easy on repairs but best of all....easy to re-sell.

but you must be able to live without image laa.... LOL. you want image, get a E36, E32 or 190E merc.

for similar budget, you actually can get a 5-6 yrs old waja or SGTI.

with 10K balance, should take care of light mods - sport rims, ICE etc.

true true...i totally agree with my sifu zan...buy a car and use the balance to do as u like..u'll be very happy..!

Get cheap but good condition 1.3 satria . And the balance , settle your college fees . Isnt that good ? Lighten ur parents burden . Haha !!

~Look whos talking ~

I guess most people in this forum prefer Jap cars? oh ya, E36 can get 50k+ mer? year 94 right? dat one nice car also.... but i hate the interior. :)

50k+ budget

Get a 1998 Civic and spend all your 50k+ on it. And it'll look like this:
All you get in the interior is a steering, gear knob, seats and practically nothing else. (VTEC right?) A car with nothing to worry about, and nothing to be excited about either, provided you throw in a K20A (Did i type the wrong engine code? ) anyway, can mod gao gao this car.

http://images.autobytel.com/cyber/196681/iP4586A_1.jpg

Get a 2001/02 Fiat Punto HGT for around RM45k. And it'll look like this:
All you get from the car will be Twin Air Bags, Traction Control, Adjustable Steering Ratio, and a Sunroof. (Warning: Maintenance higher than Honda, but rest assured, it's also worthed, parts are RARE.) No need to choose, too rare in M'sia. But nice cars.
http://www.se.com.pl/stare/testym/foto/puntoleonv1.jpg

Get a 1995 Audi A4 for RM39k and then spend the rest of your money to mod it like this: (Warning: Maintenance higher than Honda, but rest assured, its worthed and parts are abundance in M'sia as there were quite a number of them.) CHOOSE CAREFULLY !!! DELICATE CARS, MUST MAINTAIN CAREFULLY.

http://www.audiwerks.com/images/350x225/chelsea_audi.jpg

Or if you are as lucky as my brother, get a 2004 Vios 2nd hand for RM50k. :)

Good luck!

just buy watever u like it..everyone got diff taste..no point asking also..Buy motor trader n flip thru it..

fritz said:
just buy watever u like it..everyone got diff taste..no point asking also..Buy motor trader n flip thru it..

Ya~ but i think he will choose the one he likes after considering from all recommendations? If he knew'd already... what for he post this new thread? DON't BUY MOTOR TRADER, go www.motortrader.com.my all cars are there, got search function pulak, you can go www.autoworld.com.my also ....

Ingolstadt said:
Get a 1995 Audi A4 for RM39k and then spend the rest of your money to mod it like this: (Warning: Maintenance higher than Honda, but rest assured, its worthed and parts are abundance in M'sia as there were quite a number of them.) CHOOSE CAREFULLY !!! DELICATE CARS, MUST MAINTAIN CAREFULLY.

Skip.
get it for 40k, spend another 10k to pay petrol bills. Or if you are unlucky, spend it all on blown turbos, leaking oil/gas pipes, gearboxes, steering racks, control arms and tierod ends.

boggysv said:
Skip.
get it for 40k, spend another 10k to pay petrol bills. Or if you are unlucky, spend it all on blown turbos, leaking oil/gas pipes, gearboxes, steering racks, control arms and tierod ends.

haha~ those are the summary of all that happened on MANY cars lar~~ i know alot of them had such problems, but its such because people who drove them tend to treat them as Jap cars, which is fundamentally more simple and robust, these European ones actually had more complicated designs, hence need more care.

Example : Toyota suggests you change timing belt at 100k mileage, but u can actually stretch to 120,000k

Audi suggests you change timing belt at 100,000k but u should change it at 70,000k ~~ haha

i aggree with boggysv, with you aren't prepare for such maintenance, just dun go for it, but most buyers who ARE, actually prepared themselves for a first 1 year of continuous change of parts, but after that period, the car really rides well and will stay good and healthy for a longer period.

For control arms and tie rods, buy OEM ones which are made of steel rather than aluminium ones which wear off faster since most will get themselves 17 inchers or 18 inchers. Anyway, happy hunting ~ !

OEM arms are forged aluminium.

IIRC, euromobil once quoted me about 5k for the whole set of OEM control arms + tierodends. 4pieces of control arms each side = not fun to replace.
That is not even the quattro version yet!

It doesnt matter how well you take care of the car, malaysian roads will kill them. Audi figured that it is not worth the labour hours to just replace the ball joint or bushings, so they made it into a whole piece.

In conclusion, they are some really decent aftermarket replacement arms. but is a heck of a headache. If he does get the A4, I highly recommending getting a full kit of these babies http://www.customperf.com/a4.htm
*chough* singapore *chough* cheaper*chough*

They are AWESOME!!!

If not, I'd say it's best to go for a produa.

oh my, poor thing.. you really paid 5k for all that? oh my oh my, alot of Club Audi Malaysia members paid like RM220 for each control arms, and around RM170+ for each Tie Rods..... OEM lar i guess....

hmm i think there were OEM ones made of aluminium... but i remember a forum member advice others to go for steel ones... anyway, thanks for the info.

college student = 50K car :wow:

i buy a affordable car & invest/safe money.

you have all the time in the world to indulge in "cars" when you get employed.
you probably be too distracted (with "hot" chick magnet car) in college. unless you wanna "score" with the girls.

trust me; the world is your "oyster" when you ahead.

you guys damn bad lar.. jus bcos he said he's a college student u guys dismissed his probabilities as a car enthusiasts mer?

Ingolstadt said:
you guys damn bad lar.. jus bcos he said he's a college student u guys dismissed his probabilities as a car enthusiasts mer?
no lar.. we just envy him only.. no harm done lolx

Ingolstadt said:

well, I am jealous because my daddy did not give me 50k to buy a car.
enthusiast or not, it is most fun when the money is earned yourself.

Write your reply...