:: Suggest/Recommend a used car for me ::

Wtf? Its not about soft or something lor... I got once a Honda Civic 2nd generation which I strongly wanted to modify (young blood mah)... Yes, when going straight, comfort still ok (assuming suspension stock) but when at high speed I start to feel body start swaying. I before that also own an old Mazda 323 which nearly took my life because car skidded... Thank demon I'm alive to create more sins... :thefinger::thefinger::thefinger:

But really, I got some friends who drove that car too and I was shivering whenever they are driving above 140. I fear that the car will flew off or disintegrate from no where due to its chasis and the speed. Summore maintenance and stuff, damn mafan one... I don't think its worth getting cars over 20 years man...

I dont get you, whats this gotta do with ride comfort and the fact of you not having the courage to push an old car fast? :smokin:

So off topic weih... thats just confidence, not ride comfort :rolleyes:

I dont get you, whats this gotta do with ride comfort and the fact of you not having the courage to push an old car fast? :smokin:

>.> He's saying the car turns unstable at high speed and the suspension is weak la for old car.
Can change whole set of abs and spring la... Dat 1 no prob... Its jz the interior design. Doesn't suit me though @.@

Back to topic... Dono TS view d car d onot. TS QUICK COME BACK LA.

Ok,I drove a 130y,a 4G92 Satria,a Kelisa and the only one pending now is the KE70.

130y - Not bad but handled like a skateboard. :slug:
Satria - Very fun car to drive.Wonderful handling. :thefinger:
Kelisa - Nice pickup.Good FC. :rolleyes:

All of them were manuals.My civic coming back from paint shop tomorrow so wait till I can go to Putri Wangsa and test the KE70. :biggrin:

Ah... At last, now I can enter this thread! No no, I didn't say about going fast. The fact is old cars are not as good as newer cars are always there. I can go fast, of course, what I meant is there will not be much safety if you really did so with such an old car due to the suspension and the chasis itself. I drove many old cars, even in straight line traveling whenever the speed exceeds 120 kmph the cars itself starts vibrating rapidly. Lose control and you are surely a goner. That is what usually happens to old cars. To make things worse, such cars can start swaying to left-or-right even though you are driving straight and holding the steering firmly because of the body itself. Trust me, I know shit like this as it happens many times to me. Having confidence to go fast is good, but life is not something you should bet with confidence... :driver:

Yes anthenna is right when saying changing suspension do solve this problem, but I heard in certain cases harder suspensions will cause such old car's chasis to crack. Problem can be temporarily solved with welding, but considering other wear and tear parts, interior and and maintenance I got the feeling there will be a lot troubles. Considering their parts are such a pain in the ass to get. Summore with such looks where got cun chicks wanna hop in, fat chicks also think twice before coming in... so better get something better looking la... :biggrin:

So youre just saying that todays rights are much more stable than yesteryears rides due to the stiff-er suspensions right?...

Ok,I drove a 130y,a 4G92 Satria,a Kelisa and the only one pending now is the KE70.

130y - Not bad but handled like a skateboard. :slug:
Satria - Very fun car to drive.Wonderful handling. :thefinger:
Kelisa - Nice pickup.Good FC. :rolleyes:

All of them were manuals.My civic coming back from paint shop tomorrow so wait till I can go to Putri Wangsa and test the KE70. :biggrin:

Satria or Kelisa nice wat.... Some more can mod...

Ah... At last, now I can enter this thread! No no, I didn't say about going fast. The fact is old cars are not as good as newer cars are always there. I can go fast, of course, what I meant is there will not be much safety if you really did so with such an old car due to the suspension and the chasis itself. I drove many old cars, even in straight line traveling whenever the speed exceeds 120 kmph the cars itself starts vibrating rapidly. Lose control and you are surely a goner. That is what usually happens to old cars. To make things worse, such cars can start swaying to left-or-right even though you are driving straight and holding the steering firmly because of the body itself. Trust me, I know shit like this as it happens many times to me. Having confidence to go fast is good, but life is not something you should bet with confidence... :driver:

Yes anthenna is right when saying changing suspension do solve this problem, but I heard in certain cases harder suspensions will cause such old car's chasis to crack. Problem can be temporarily solved with welding, but considering other wear and tear parts, interior and and maintenance I got the feeling there will be a lot troubles. Considering their parts are such a pain in the ass to get. Summore with such looks where got cun chicks wanna hop in, fat chicks also think twice before coming in... so better get something better looking la... :biggrin:

totally phail statementl~~~:smokin:

So youre just saying that todays rights are much more stable than yesteryears rides due to the stiff-er suspensions right?...

No... The main question is you going to keep spending hundreds ($$) and time going up and down the workshop every few months for an old car's repair and maintenance? Thats while accepting that the car may not be safe due to the age factor. I never wanted to say old cars are shit but they are too troublesome.

But one thing for sure, ppl do feel safer whenever they are inside a newer car, dont you tink so? :driver:

P.S. I'm like this TS too, just that I am driving 2nd Gen Honda and dreamt of putting in a D15B SOHC Vtec in it or the B16a in that shit(provided I got the money la). Every 5 months either the battery, alternator, or carburetor gives problem. Got a wake up call after lose control of the stupid car and crashed on the divider at Subang Jaya curved road to Federal Highway and after that day, traded that car with a MACAMpro BLM for my brother to use. Now just driving mom's Saga 12V and yes, its safer in terms of driving in fast in straight line, but cornering still like striptease though slightly better than the Honda. Torque and power-wise still lose to my ex-28 year old car:biggrin:. That's why thinking of new mods for powering it up!! Hehe...

totally phail statementl~~~:smokin:
If you got nothing to say, just ignore okay?

No... The main question is you going to keep spending hundreds ($$) and time going up and down the workshop every few months for an old car's repair and maintenance? Thats while accepting that the car may not be safe due to the age factor. I never wanted to say old cars are shit but they are too troublesome.

But one thing for sure, ppl do feel safer whenever they are inside a newer car, dont you tink so? :driver:

P.S. I'm like this TS too, just that I am driving 2nd Gen Honda and dreamt of putting in a D15B SOHC Vtec in it or the B16a in that shit(provided I got the money la). Every 5 months either the battery, alternator, or carburetor gives problem. Got a wake up call after lose control of the stupid car and crashed on the divider at Subang Jaya curved road to Federal Highway and after that day, traded that car with a MACAMpro BLM for my brother to use. Now just driving mom's Saga 12V and yes, its safer in terms of driving in fast in straight line, but cornering still like striptease though slightly better than the Honda. Torque and power-wise still lose to my ex-28 year old car:biggrin:. That's why thinking of new mods for powering it up!! Hehe...

Okay Mishima. I get your point and agree partially. Yes, who doesn't know buying a new car is much better than 2nd hand as we do not know their history rite? But, that doesn't mean used car is rubbish... Hmm... This take some skill, I mean choosing used car.

If chose wisely, It's not a "bad" buy after all. For instance, check the upper/lower arm of the car, engine condition, mileage, chassis needed to check properly (must be jacked up to reconfirm as well). Many stuff. In short, get someone professional with you when choosing a car. Not just... "EH, PRETTY CANTIK BABILICIOUS. WOW, 3.0 V6, WOW JAPAN CAR WORH" In the end chassis rusted like shit.

Hmm. B16a with a carby eh? What kinda honda you buy? Hahaha :biggrin:

P.S my dad used to have an old 1985 Mitsubishi cordia, it had been rear ended 3 times, once by a BMW 7series (the 4 light model,old also. This was when I was very very young..), a proton saga (same here), and a Tiara.

1. The BMW's nose was smashed, all the lights werent working, my dads mitsu? Lampu rosak je...

2. Saga same thing, lights all hancur, and my dad's car rear right was only affected... knock back and replace lamp nothing major.

3. This was the most serious of all, since I stay at a blind corner, my dad used to park his car on the inner side of the corner. Opposite is my house. I STILL remember I was watching cartoons on TV3 (back then no astro :biggrin:) then suddenly got one giant BANG. I thought it was the cartoon! Haha. Some sohai in a tiara oversteered and hit the rear quarter panel of my dads mitsu. His car was pretty badly damaged this time, the side was crumpled in, lights shattered and all, but the tiara... Write off. The shell is still in my neighbourhood for proof rusting away quietly :rolleyes:

And despite these unfortunate accidents I really really disagree that newer cars are 'safer'. Also it never had much mechanical probs, just the usual maintainence tune carbs, spark plugs, tires, oil etc etc. Oh and a little polish from time to time.

He sold it in 2005... hmm. 20 years, its STILL on the road, saw it recently. I think cars run well as long as the owner knows how to take car of his car well enough lah. :driver:

Oh yeah I wanna know, HOW did you lose control of a FF civic sampai langgar divider? Dont tell me you were driving slow weih... :rofl:

Okay Mishima. I get your point and agree partially. Yes, who doesn't know buying a new car is much better than 2nd hand as we do not know their history rite? But, that doesn't mean used car is rubbish... Hmm... This take some skill, I mean choosing used car.

If chose wisely, It's not a "bad" buy after all. For instance, check the upper/lower arm of the car, engine condition, mileage, chassis needed to check properly (must be jacked up to reconfirm as well). Many stuff. In short, get someone professional with you when choosing a car. Not just... "EH, PRETTY CANTIK BABILICIOUS. WOW, 3.0 V6, WOW JAPAN CAR WORH" In the end chassis rusted like shit.

Yea, now this topic is about helping TS to choose, so I just advise get a newer car, as generally newer cars wield lower chances of trouble. That's just my point. I did not generalize old cars as shit. Very old cars DO have potentials to be better than newer cars but will you spend your time and money to keep modifying a close to 3 decade 'box' when you can just save your money for some better cars in future? In addition, metal deteriorates in time, I am just giving a penny of thoughts to the TS before deciding to buy something like KE70. Half cuts may seem to be a good solution, but the price and time wasted to find those parts? Still another cost bro....

I had seen a Saga with Mivec Blacktop engine @ RM17k, if TS wanted speed so much I can just advise him to get it right? Haha... Here's the link of the toy:-
http://www.mudah.my/Iswara-mivec-4g92-dohc-4977893.htm

Yes, Sagas may suck a lot but this one is nice to me (correct me if I'm wrong as I knew not much about modifications), though interior creepy a bit la.

P.S my dad used to have an old 1985 Mitsubishi cordia, it had been rear ended 3 times, once by a BMW 7series (the 4 light model,old also. This was when I was very very young..), a proton saga (same here), and a Tiara.

1. The BMW's nose was smashed, all the lights werent working, my dads mitsu? Lampu rosak je...

2. Saga same thing, lights all hancur, and my dad's car rear right was only affected... knock back and replace lamp nothing major.

3. This was the most serious of all, since I stay at a blind corner, my dad used to park his car on the inner side of the corner. Opposite is my house. I STILL remember I was watching cartoons on TV3 (back then no astro :biggrin:) then suddenly got one giant BANG. I thought it was the cartoon! Haha. Some sohai in a tiara oversteered and hit the rear quarter panel of my dads mitsu. His car was pretty badly damaged this time, the side was crumpled in, lights shattered and all, but the tiara... Write off. The shell is still in my neighbourhood for proof rusting away quietly :rolleyes:

And despite these unfortunate accidents I really really disagree that newer cars are 'safer'. Also it never had much mechanical probs, just the usual maintainence tune carbs, spark plugs, tires, oil etc etc. Oh and a little polish from time to time.

He sold it in 2005... hmm. 20 years, its STILL on the road, saw it recently. I think cars run well as long as the owner knows how to take car of his car well enough lah. :driver:

Oh yeah I wanna know, HOW did you lose control of a FF civic sampai langgar divider? Dont tell me you were driving slow weih... :rofl:

Cool. But jz 1 point, hard doesn't mean safe la.

But expected la from tiara. That 1 memang not car la. Dat's err... err... what ar... jz a piece of junk? and BUT wow, harder than saga wor. U meant the oldest saga or new 1?

---------- Post added at 11:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

Yea, now this topic is about helping TS to choose, so I just advise get a newer car, as generally newer cars wield lower chances of trouble. That's just my point. I did not generalize old cars as shit. Very old cars DO have potentials to be better than newer cars but will you spend your time and money to keep modifying a close to 3 decade 'box' when you can just save your money for some better cars in future? In addition, metal deteriorates in time, I am just giving a penny of thoughts to the TS before deciding to buy something like KE70. Half cuts may seem to be a good solution, but the price and time wasted to find those parts? Still another cost bro....

I had seen a Saga with Mivec Blacktop engine @ RM17k, if TS wanted speed so much I can just advise him to get it right? Haha... Here's the link of the toy:-
http://www.mudah.my/Iswara-mivec-4g92-dohc-4977893.htm

Yes, Sagas may suck a lot but this one is nice to me (correct me if I'm wrong as I knew not much about modifications), though interior creepy a bit la.

Yea but of course. Err sorry if i hurt TS or wad. Student means... just drove for maybe couple of years. So... betta buy a 2nd hand oso. Think TS should still in the "learning" period...

Cool. But jz 1 point, hard doesn't mean safe la.

But expected la from tiara. That 1 memang not car la. Dat's err... err... what ar... jz a piece of junk? and BUT wow, harder than saga wor. U meant the oldest saga or new 1?

---------- Post added at 11:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:31 PM ----------

Yea but of course. Err sorry if i hurt TS or wad. Student means... just drove for maybe couple of years. So... betta buy a 2nd hand oso. Think TS should still in the "learning" period...

Sold in 05' weih... haha iswara lah :rofl:

Yeah its not safer, just you CAN feel safe in it also. Slamming my finger in the doors wasnt very fun... I remember it used to be damn heavy :canabis:

errr 05 saga ar. dat 1 oso piece of junk lo. I ever seen a saga 05 total lost u noe how? lets say the car is about 2 human average height of 160 cm. After the crash tinggal 1 human height. Malaysia cars are soft. Their reasoning? Soft - Longer time for crash to halt - less impact. Kinda true though but its TOO SOFT already la.

I said my dads car was sold in 05

I dont know the saga model lah... :rofl: Anyways yes, thats why they created chassis bracing + autofoam! :idea:

Yea, if its a carbie then swap the whole thing from halfcut lor... But price pay like ass la... haha... That's why B16a wasn't in my budget. Just dreams.
Your experience is just rear-ended by three cars ah... That was bad for that handsome looking car to be gayed around in such manner... I think if its the same car breed sodomised ur dad's Mitsu the outcome will be the same too, headlights gone with the front fatally smashed. I even saw a retarded old Volvo 740 (which that time was the most famous solid metal coffin) ram through the traffic lights banged a year 2007 Nissan Sentra and surprisingly the Volvo front wasn't dented much except for those headlights broken, while the Sentra had both left doors dented quite badly... But the important thing, both aren't injured...

Newer cars had their body chassis to crush/cripple to absorb the force from spreading to the driver. A hard and rigid car, will most probably distribute the force around. This is all applied in physics. Hence I will never say ether a solid body or a more elastic body are better. Sometimes in accidents the rigid car can still retain its shape a lot, but still costs the life of the insiders, especially in a violent crash. Same goes to softer bodied cars too. In the end it depends on luck and fate, don't you think so?

You are comparing with Tiara man.... The stupidest make of Proton car? But your story is kinda humorous :biggrin:. The word 'Tiara' always reminded me on how someone trying to sell off his Tiara around RM16k when the market price of a working Tiara is RM2.5k.... Hahahaha...

I did not know how I even lose control of the car. Perhaps the slope and curvature design was a little too steep for normal driving. U know where am I refering to? If you know, just be careful when driving there. That day, even a Wira, with lowered springs can terbalik just like that. Its the road that have problem, hot accident zone especially speeding.

Yes, the TS is learning, but I don't think a car make which is so old could be satisfying considering he is driving something newer that has Vtec. I did rather advise TS to stick on the car, Hondas do really create good cars, even though I hated my ex car due to its appearance and the maintenance costs. Or the Satria or Kelisa which he is considering as these kind of cars can be used longer due to the availability of the parts.

Totally agree on the chassis being hard or soft, it all depends on fate...

Anyways i'll just give up on the satisfying driving part, wanna know why? New cars are FWD, and FWD's arent the most fun thing to drive :rofl:

I'll choose a touge run in an AE86 over a trackday in a Civic anyday, you just have more fun in a RWD :biggrin:

No offence to FWD owners out there tho! Im also driving one myself XD