BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

saltydogg said:
just wondering.. are there any waja1.6 auto users with a bolt on turbo here??

or you know anyone?

got a friend of mine done a waja bolt on with a/t, feed back from him is not bad, his a sec. teacher.

Hey guys..i need ur help man..im a newbie to turbo and im planning to bolt on a turbo into my satria 1.8...can u guys list the items i need to get?..the minimum requirements for the low boost will do..cause im planning to go chop shop n such to look for those parts...btw...does engine transplant more reliable or BOT?...reply asap thanx

Byakuya18 said:
Hey guys..i need ur help man..im a newbie to turbo and im planning to bolt on a turbo into my satria 1.8...can u guys list the items i need to get?..the minimum requirements for the low boost will do..cause im planning to go chop shop n such to look for those parts...btw...does engine transplant more reliable or BOT?...reply asap thanx

Engine transplant is more reliable... maybe a VR-4 or Evo 3 will be much better... performance is much better. For BOT its performance is limited and u will land up spending almost the same cost for transplant or maybe more... a basic BOT setup will serve you not more then 0.4 - 0.5 boost bar, maybe down the road 3 months you will feel its nuthing and will wanna upgrade to higher boost and then u will realise u wasted resources on BOT.

Cheers.

rattan said:
Engine transplant is more reliable... maybe a VR-4 or Evo 3 will be much better... performance is much better. For BOT its performance is limited and u will land up spending almost the same cost for transplant or maybe more... a basic BOT setup will serve you not more then 0.4 - 0.5 boost bar, maybe down the road 3 months you will feel its nuthing and will wanna upgrade to higher boost and then u will realise u wasted resources on BOT.

Cheers.

i guess u r not using bolt-on rite? well, diff people diff taste. i wont go for engine transplant since IT'LL COST MORE!! for sure. for starting u'll pay around rm5000 minimum. then change this and that a few thou more... my bolt on cost me (untill today) not more than rm2500.. and im totally satisfied!:_:

yes savvyhitam diff people diff taste... so what engine did u bolt on ?

im using 4g13 bolt on. the cost i mentioned include transplant from carb to injection system as well. its not hi performance engine, since its not my goal. my target was better accelerate than stock 1.3 (additional torque) and satisfy me. not to mention the tail gating b16 at putrajaya highways... heheheh....

how bout u rattan? i like to know...

Oh that price is reasonable then if include transplant from carbie to injection. Currently im running stock. Engine is stock Wira SE 1.5MT. Wanted to BOT, then after asking around people told me that the cost will be almost 5k la some told me almost 10k la... so i decided to run stock. Wanted to transplant to VR-4, then JPJ cannot lepas because only stock only 1.5 and now days very strict, furthermore VR-4 engine alot of problem.

Really wanted to use my current engine as the engine very new, only 1 year old this March and clocked 28 000KM so far. Top speed I have done stock is 180KM/H.

So how much can you boost ? What turbo kit are u using ? Big or small intercooler ? How about your ECU ? Air intake ? Boost meter ? BOV ?

boost 0.4 bar only, using CT12 turbine from starlet (1.3 oso). small intercooler only upfront, standard ECU with standard engine internals. BOV normal one... just for the sake of practicality and to jaga the turbine only....

your engine is very the new dude. mine oredi 10 years old... if u really interested and ready to go mad, no prob. nothing is impossible. i saw one 8th gen civic oredi bolt on in USA. thats because that guy really really into bolt on.

Savvyhitam..ur MY hero...where did u do ur car??..will my gti cost the same to do so??..how much will i need to bolt at the start??..i wan to know more..if can tell me ur workshop location..=)..TQ

Byakuya18 said:
Savvyhitam..ur MY hero...where did u do ur car??..will my gti cost the same to do so??..how much will i need to bolt at the start??..i wan to know more..if can tell me ur workshop location..=)..TQ

not hero la... i did it in serdang. can show u the workshop oso. very friendly mechs there....i cant promise the cost will be the same. like me, i buy the turbine, intercooler, BOV by myself at chop shops. then bring there, leave my car and the do the manifold + pipings. the amount depends on your setup. i got my intercooler for rm90 only. so small one. hehehehe... anyway, u can call me anytime 019-3745558, but not after midnite la... bz racing! joking..:_:

Savvyhitam u are hero already, hehe.

Yeah my engine very new, but i think BOT wont damage the engine rite ? As I dun wanna keep spending on the engine to maintain the bolted on engine. Have you tried to boost higher then 0.4 ? Did u do port and polish ? Did they open your engine to BOT ? How isit after bolting on ? Any problem with the engine ?

So u mean after pruchasing all the items required + workmanship + manifold + piping, it cost you RM2500 only isit ?

yup thats all it cost me.... nope i havnt tried beyond 0.4bar, dont think the injector can support... and i still want my engine working efficiently, hehehehe....
they didnt open the engine, just 'purely' bolt on. problems nope other than burned head gaskets before, due to chasing an evo (silly me... hehehe..). overheating solved by replacing the aircon fan infront the radiator.

savvyhitam : isit possible to BOT my car engine without any major modding and cost. Maybe somewhere around RM2.5k, like you did yours. Is it possbile to use bigger intercooler, maybe I will source out the goods myself then just pay for labour like you did ? I am always dreamed to have a huge intercooler and a blow off valve... hehe... its been a dream of mine to have turbo in my ride... it seems not to become a fact till date.

Here is my stock engine photo...

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b310/rattan/4dbc8044.jpg

Dei friend...serdang how to go ?? sounds far man...im from pj...wah u really can get good deals dont u??..i also wan that great deaL ler...can give me a lil road guide ar??..be happy to know more from u..TQ

Rattan: we do together ler..maybe can get cheaper..hehehehe..nice engine btw

Yeah Byakuya, yeah can do it together... maybe I will be doing it 3-4 months time, for now my roadtax/insuranse expired need to renew. I will gather all the parts + $$ needed then send workshop to get it done... maybe just pay workmanship. Serdang is actually nearby Puchong only. U can go there using Sg besi highway.

My car engine very new, thats why I no heart to transplant... maybe BOT only for now. Still deciding yet.

Wah great mind thinks alike..im also getting a bolt on around that time only..perhaps we travel to the workshop together??..eh dun leave me behind ler..we go buy parts together also..im a newbie to engine parts man..sigh..

No worries everyone is a newbie here... or else we wont be here isnt it !
Yes can, no worries. Maybe can meet up for yam cha one day ! what u guys say ? Maybe can test drive Savvyhitam turbo ride.... boost and feel the G's then surely we will bolt on quick

What u guys say ? Wanna meet up for TT ? I got a couple of other friends from ZTH also that will be interested to meet up... hehe

i will be delighted to...im living in pj ler..so can TT somewhere nearby both our locations ar?..im suck at directions..so cant really travel far..ahahaa...happy to know a person who has the same interest as me..

Byakuya18 : We all share the same delights and interest as everyone here... so what car u bolting on ?

If we can get savvyhitam to join us too will be great...