BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

lol..yeah i guess so...my car is a gti 1.8...many ppl said that cheap BOT is not reliable n stock parts cannot tahan..now that someone like savvyhitam can prove them wrong..i guess i might just trust him..ahahaa..plz make my dreams come true my friend...

hehe yeah... Byakuya I also always wanted to have a turbo charged car... always admired the blow off sound. Hehhee... but for long run I think, stock parts cant take it, thats true for sure, stock parts like, piston rings, valves, gasket, cylinders n etc etc.

So Byakuya18, I suppose trying is believing rite in our case. Where do u wanna meet up for TT ? Maybe Bangsar ?

savvyhitam,
u serdang kaki? Which workshop u go to lar? ME also stay in serdang leh...

savvyhitam said:
yup thats all it cost me.... nope i havnt tried beyond 0.4bar, dont think the injector can support... and i still want my engine working efficiently, hehehehe....
they didnt open the engine, just 'purely' bolt on. problems nope other than burned head gaskets before, due to chasing an evo (silly me... hehehe..). overheating solved by replacing the aircon fan infront the radiator.
...... y will overheating?

My kelisa with L5 kit, boost 0.9...

Din overheaT.. temp pretty as b4.

hi beyond, thanks for ur num, now cant make it la..too busy ..maybe will call u later ..hope to c ur car soon ....wer u mod ur car ? how much for that ler?

aiyo,whr u live ? come find me la...
belanja me makan minuM.. then let u see lo... haha.. joking la...

rattan said:
hehe yeah... Byakuya I also always wanted to have a turbo charged car... always admired the blow off sound. Hehhee... but for long run I think, stock parts cant take it, thats true for sure, stock parts like, piston rings, valves, gasket, cylinders n etc etc.

So Byakuya18, I suppose trying is believing rite in our case. Where do u wanna meet up for TT ? Maybe Bangsar ?

Why my mod bolt on waja still ok? with internal pistons....u name it....why huh?

now bz selling things.......not much time to follow up with this thread

For those newbies who wanna BOT or do engine transplant, this is my advise to u guys.

1. Do budget out extra for the project. dun estimate the budged just enaugh for it. Alot of unforseen circumstances will happen and u never know wat it is.

2. For those who expect total reliability, i guess u may wan to change your mindset. once you TC the stock engine, u're about to compromise your engine reliability in certain sense.

For bolt on, i guess the you could save up abit on purchasing your own parts frm chopshop by urself. But thn again, do u know what is the right parts to get? Are you able to ensure the parts that you purchase is in good working condition? So this are the small little things may get your budget upset. If u leave it for your mech to do the purchasing, expect it may cost alittle bit more thn what you can get by urself. Afterall, Mech is out here to do business, friendship cant earn him money to feed his family mouth.

So for parts alone, i guess its about 1.5k to 2k depends on what you get (turbin, intercooler, injector, manifold) and condition. Be expect to pay more for some other small thing like oil return hose, pipping and some other thing that cant be predict yet. Thn you have to factor in the labour fees/workmanship into it also. I guess it shld be around 600-1k. Have i include the exhuast system yet? pls do the math thn.

The most crucial items we lack out here is ecu management. cheapest solution would be piggyback system like Apexi SAFC those. so cheapest also will cost your another rm500-rm600 onwards. get a better one? prepare to pay more.

now, there is still plenty of items we have not talk about it or even include in yet. uprated fuel pump? fuel regulator? and so on. more $$$ we're looking here.

As for engine conversion, its not going to be any better also. For current market, 1.8 GSR easily cost you around 5k onwards. Tks for JPJ new rules, the price has been shot up tremendously. Installation going from 1.2k onwards. As its a used engine, its better to play safe by changing timing belt, plug, engine oil and some others tear wear parts. Again, here will set you off another rm300-rm500 onwards depending. SO u think you're done? think again. exhuast system again is not included yet.

So far, i havent come across or heard any conversion which once done, left workshop and never come back (unless the mech screw up big time and the customer give up on him). For sure, there will be some tiny whinny problem here like leak oil someting like that. so prepared so spent some extra time for going in out workshop until all thing settle.

Afterall, its a second hand engine we're talking about here. And how long will the parts last? you judge it urself. There is still alots of thing can be happen that i did not list it out here yet.

Im not trying to scared all newbie out here. But just to set you guys expectation right. Its better be well prepared thn being caught unprepared. So i guess, this will answered most of the newbie question here, Iin generally.

TT? meetup? no prob bros.... just set the date and time, i'll try to make it.
im not in serdang, just my fren live there, so he introduced me to the mech. the workhop's name is HSW MOTORSPORT.. behind south city plaza around there la....

here is my car pics, u can judge it yourself....

just after leave the workshop.....
000_3312.jpg

current engine and still running! hehehehhe....
DSCN0682.jpg

DSCN0684.jpg

i think i lost the turbine and intercooler pics... sorry...

well like normality said is quite true... u cant expect to be the same as mine..... the cost especially. yes, u can leave it to your mech to find the parts, but i prefer to hunt it myself since i enjoyed it so much! hehehehe..... i got the turbine itself qt cheap, just lucky i guess... u can check the condition before buy the item. easy to say, good turbines have the fins inside not shaking2 one... and not jammed. the intercooler im using very small one, its cheap and less lag. using huge intercoolers can, but u'll suffer a bit lag in air movement, since my fren (using bolton 1.5) use vr4 int... then for the feed and return oil, i got cheap steel braided hose for feed line, and custom return. remmeber u have to tap into your existing oil sump. i use normal heat resistant fuel hose as my return line. i use normal black steel pipe plus rubber flexible hoses for the intercooler line straight to the manifold. i add fuel regulator and change injector to 1.6's one for fuel support...

the cost is the major issue here. no kidding. if u really want to make it small budget mod like mine, then u should have your target first. if u really want to go for power, then internals are RECOMMENDED to replace with more appropriate one..

the thing i really gain with this mod is EXCITEMENT! i really enjoyed my hunting days, wait at the workshop for whole day... take komuter rides to see my car.... then zoooom! with turbine inside!

so guys, when meetup?

beyond_4896 said:
...... y will overheating?

My kelisa with L5 kit, boost 0.9...

Din overheaT.. temp pretty as b4.

overheating due stop-n-go drive in KL...:cry_smile: and my mech said since the air not moving inside the bay, the temp increase... its not bout the boosting i think...
and bout the gasket burned since i was chasing this irritating evo ( as if he's the only msian have that car!) i cant chase him anyway... duh....

hi savvy , quite a neat job.....:regular_smile: have u solve ur overheating prob?

ya normality, thanks for ur advice again..:regular_smile:

beyond_4896 said:
aiyo,whr u live ? come find me la...
belanja me makan minuM.. then let u see lo... haha.. joking la...

kawan ..in sg now la..oi..where is ur mech ??? intro to me ler?

rattan said:
Waja4646 : so how long have u been using BOT for yr waja ?

Since Dec 2004....why? waja piston i can get very cheap cheap one.....no worry....so far so good...so r u planning to do so????:regular_smile: :regular_smile: :regular_smile:

Byakuya18 said:
lol..yeah i guess so...my car is a gti 1.8...many ppl said that cheap BOT is not reliable n stock parts cannot tahan..now that someone like savvyhitam can prove them wrong..i guess i might just trust him..ahahaa..plz make my dreams come true my friend...

I get Mad when people said BOT with stock parts not tahan one !!!!!My waja is the pioneer waja did it in KL ...and still boosting high!!!!!:baring_teeth: :baring_teeth: :baring_teeth:

Dragger Racing has done an excellent work.....thanks to them.....

Byakuya18...when somebody talk about BOT ...come and c me 1st......I dont know why the mentality of our Msian people.....try search on the web..c how many BOT has been done outside Msian......We can do one.......

One thing 4 sure.....the mechanic should know what they r doing....with proper ECU / piggyback / setting then u will enjoy boost without worry on internal parts..........SAY AGAIN? BOT CAN BE DONE????? YESSSSS IT CAN BE DONE AND DAMN RELIABLE!!!!!!!

WAJA can BOT / SATRIA / SAGA / WIRA / SAVVY?? GEN 2??? WAJA CAMPRO?????

ROBOTS still ROCK !!!!!

savvihitam,
overheating problems? See... this is what i meant that if u want a reliable system, you'll need to spend more than that. Coz' once u bot, there's a lotta other things u'll need to take in consideration... and engine temperature is one of the most important thing to look into... the turbo changes the engine operating temperatures... u are no longer running within your optimum operating temperature... so u'll need to find a way to bring your temperature down... ie: bigger radiator, bigger intercooler and so on. Not forgetting now that u've got oil feed going thru your turbine... is your oil pump packing enuff power? So many things to look into man.

I know where's HSW, i go to the exhaust shop beside it. Cheap+Good ! =) hahaha... where do you stay la then? Or the next time u're down at HSW, gimme a buzz la... its like 1km away from my house only... walk also can reach in 10-15 minutes. =Þ

Byakuya18, waja4646,
When people say stock internals cannot tahan... they meant if u treat it like a turbo engine... it can't tahan. If u bot, u have to treat it as a BOT... NOT a full turbo engine. Unless of course u've done A LOT to it to make it reliable. Cheap turbo kits aren't reliable... reliable turbo kits aren't cheap. =Þ Engine internals are made with a certain degree of safety factor from its original operating conditions. Adding a turbo kit is really pushing it to the limits.

When u BOT... u have to run low boost.... and have to try not to over rev the engine. Unlike stock turbo engines where u can just whack it upside down and nothing will happen to it.

In order to achieve the stage where it can be whacked like a normal stock turbo engine... u'll have to spend $$$ for that reliability.

Normality : thanks for your advice and guidance.

Waja : Yes I am planning to do but now gathering resources. Want to gather maybe 4k first then only do the BOT, but mean while I will start to gather the parts. Wanna use big intercooler. Hehehhee

Savvyhitam : Nice engine setup u have there, nice engine cover, love the R3 logo on top of it... looks very nice. Your engine is very neatly done. Yes, I think many of us cant wait to TT ! So u decide when. I suppose bangsar will be great as everyone surely know bangsar. For sure weekend is the best.

no way man... bangsar = traffic jam+no parking!

I would suggest Sunway extreme park like last time i suggested before... otherwise, syed arif in Taipan USJ... confirm got parking and the food is great. Damn a lotta ZTH kaki all TT there oso. =Þ