Volkswagen made proton cars...good idea.

faisal said:
Secondly, VW has a desire to be more prominent in the SEA market. So if ever they decide to buy/JV with Proton I would think the likes of Bernd Pietchrider and his board would like to establish Proton and the VW brand here , in the SEA.
vw has rescued/brought up those companies, no doubt about it

but, we screwed up so badly during 2005 (afta anybody?) do you think they are still interested in malaysia? especially after the AP issue?

if I were vw, I'll build a plant in thailand, import some workers, and start selling more cars to singapore/indonesia/china/japan. Less cost compared to buying over proton and correcting it.

Later we would have to add Porsche into that list since they are headed towards a merger.

boggysv said:
vw has rescued/brought up those companies, no doubt about it

but, we screwed up so badly during 2005 (afta anybody?) do you think they are still interested in malaysia? especially after the AP issue?

if I were vw
, I'll build a plant in thailand, import some workers, and start selling more cars to singapore/indonesia/china/japan. Less cost compared to buying over proton and correcting it.
Do you have any idea the amount of money and time and work involved in the planning , building up and running a auto manufacturing plant?

And you mention Importing workers. You'd think any govt would allow that. The main reason a GOVT wants a multinational to set up in their country is so those companies will provide job oppurtunities.

VW China ( VW's 2nd largest market) already has their plants up and running, controlling 30% of the China market. No need to export there.

Pls Do recall the reason VW was interested in a JV with Proton was to use an existing manufacturing capability and NOT set a new one up. The Tanjung Malim plant is not up to full capacity yet so there is scope.

faisal said:
VW China ( VW's 2nd largest market) already has their plants up and running, controlling 30% of the China market. No need to export there.

yea, VW is like national car in china, u see them on the road like like u see proton in malaysia....

Why would anyone want a W12 on Malaysian roads? Our system is not designed to handle such power.... Not like we got deserts here wat. I just hope if there is a takeover, we can atleast reduce the number of malaysians who say "Malaysian car....hayo...problem lah, nogood. Better go for jap" Seriously, dats just plain sad.

goldwave84 said:
Why would anyone want a W12 on Malaysian roads? Our system is not designed to handle such power.... Not like we got deserts here wat. I just hope if there is a takeover, we can atleast reduce the number of malaysians who say "Malaysian car....hayo...problem lah, nogood. Better go for jap" Seriously, dats just plain sad.

before bringing in the W12, they wud've obviously thought of that kinda stuff.
but we got lambos, ferraris, porsches and many other types of supercar here, why u think W12 cannot?:rolleyes:

goldwave84 said:
Ummm tell that to the countless owners of Ferraris Porsches and Big engined Beemers and Brabus modded Mercs. The all got too much power too.

Not having a desert never stopped anyone buying massively powered sportscars anyway.

faisal said:
Not having a desert never stopped anyone buying massively powered sportscars anyway.

or converting their 1.3 satria into a 16V 2.0T!:tongue:

seriously dude.
it's a very minor issue indeed!

faisal,

sry about the jetta bora part, I had a few pages open, copied the wrong link...beer does wonderful things to your brain:tongue:

Pls Do recall the reason VW was interested in a JV with Proton was to use an existing manufacturing capability and NOT set a new one up. The Tanjung Malim plant is not up to full capacity yet so there is scope.
They "were" interested in using the TJ plant, but as you have seen, they were turned off by various factors (which most believe to be our national car policy, but really, who knows?)

VW has no problems setting up new plants or improving/saving companies.
mexico, brazil, china, czech, and even a few dedicated engine plants
If they are really serious, thailand is a no-brainer. Especially after the deal that didnt work.

What's the next best alternative? beg proton?

moreover, I didnt say they should import ALL workers, just by a small scale, to have them hold posts like QC manager, supervisor...just to help kickstart the plant and make sure things run smootly.

goldwave84 said:
Why would anyone want a W12 on Malaysian roads? Our system is not designed to handle such power.... Not like we got deserts here wat.
that's quite an ignorant statement. have you driven one yet?
W12 engines are not about all out power...

Cars with big displacement engines are traditional not very popular in our country. I think that is what goldwave there is trying to say. Am I right?

si|verfish said:
Cars with big displacement engines are traditional not very popular in our country. I think that is what goldwave there is trying to say. Am I right?

well..the tradition got its 'roots'.
if our roadtax can be a bit more consumer-friendly, i myself dun mind owning one of those 3.0 supra TT's.:tongue:

Well you see, it sort of made sense last time. Because big displacement, means bigger power, bigger pollution and bigger car. So a heavier roadtax sounds fair enough.

The thing is, the rules never evolve with the times. For example, some of the huge engines made today create less poluting emmisions than an old small displacement car, many of which are still running around Malaysian roads. Maybe even less polluting than some kapchais. If big engined cars use up just as much space on roads and produce just as much emmision as any other car on the roads, why charge more?

If our beloved Road tax for big cars were'nt so exorbitant I'd be driving a Holden Monaro fully done up by HSV. Puny cars can eat my smoke. hahahaaha

100cc kapchais polute more than 2.8 ltr twin turbo engine these days. Maybe the Govt hsould punish those fellas instead.

Silverfish, you nailed it right on the head. Seriously, how many of you have seen a bunch of Ferraris, Porsches, Big engined Beemers and Brabus modded Mercs tekaning it on our highways to see who comes out tops? Most of the time when I've seen a high powered car, its stuck in a jam.I do not deny that ppl do buy these cars for its power and speed, but not many of them. I hope I am not upsetting the regular posters here, but I am trying to make a point on the W12. Its really not something that would benefit the Malaysian market. The 06 VW in the US is 6.0 W12 and is about an estimated RM880,000. 1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 2.0, 2.5 and even 3.0 should meet most Malaysians needs. Suggestion only here, pls do not bite me for it. In the end, If VW joins, its all about really good quality cars, ride and everything. We can start to build up from there.

All I hope is that we can finally get really good cars, with a practical price. Everyone agree? :tee:

goldwave84 said:
1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 2.0, 2.5 and even 3.0 should meet most Malaysians needs. Suggestion only here, pls do not bite me for it. In the end, If VW joins, its all about really good quality cars, ride and everything. We can start to build up from there.

All I hope is that we can finally get really good cars, with a practical price. Everyone agree? :tee:

hey man it's all good. i join ur tee..:tee:

goldwave84 said:
Seriously, how many of you have seen a bunch of Ferraris, Porsches, Big engined Beemers and Brabus modded Mercs tekaning it on our highways to see who comes out tops? Most of the time when I've seen a high powered car, its stuck in a jam.:tee:

maybe you hardly travel on PLUS highway..... go take a vacation up north or down south, and u will meet some 240kmh+ beemers, brabus/amg merz flying pass you on PLUS highway, or if u r lucky, u might meet some ferraris/porsche.....

once i was doing 200 - 220 consistently back to penang from kl and a SL55 just fly pass me and smoked me easily...... in less than 1 km, i could hardly see his tail light..... :biggrin:

when they travel in the city ofcourse caught in jam la.....