Road Rage

DON'T OFFEND

Practicing basic driving courtesies is the first step to reducing road rage. The following are key sources of driver anger that you should avoid on the road.

--Cutting it close

Leave plenty of space between your car and others when you merge or another driver merges in front of you. Always signal first. If you make a mistake, carefully adjust to a courteous driving behavior.

--Slower traffic to the right

Remember to try to reserve the left lane for faster traffic. If you're in the left lane and the person behind you wants to pass, move over and let them by. If they're speeding, it's better that they are unhappy with a ticket than angry with you.

--Space invaders

Strive for at least a three second space between your car and the car ahead. (When you see the car in front pass a fixed point, you should be able to count "one-thousand, two-thousand, three-thousand" before you pass that point.) If you pass, don't get too close to the leading vehicle. If the driver behind you is too close, give him or her an opportunity to pass.

--Don't demonstrate you emotions

Obscene gestures are sure to anger anyone. Keep your hands on the wheel and avoid any expressions of irritation, even shaking your head. While not all drivers will be as courteous, your efforts will go a long way in protecting yourself.

DON'T ENGAGE

--Steer clear

Give angry drivers lots of room. If another driver is trying to pick a fight or get too close, back off and keep as much space as possible between you and the other vehicle. Never pull off to the side of the road.

--Avoid eye contact

Looking at another driver can turn the situation personal by acknowledging him or her. Keep your eyes focused on the road.

--Get help

If you feel threatened by another driver, get help. Use a cellular phone to call the police from your car or drive to a populated place such as a police station, shopping center or hospital. Honk you horn for added attention. Do not get our of your car Do not go home.

ATTITUDE ADJUSTMENT

You can't control the actions of others, but you can control your own. The following tips can help you take a safer, more positive approach to driving.

--Put time on your side

Instead of trying to beat the clock, give yourself plenty of time to get where you're going. When you race to be somewhere, you tend to compete with other drivers. Leaving a few minutes sooner and listening to soothing music or an audio book will help make for a more relaxing trip.

--Put yourself in their shoes

A person could be rushing to the hospital or be late for an important interview and is driving erratically as a result. You don't know the reason, but chances are it's not you. So don't take it personally. Just let them by.

--Change starts within

If you're a stressful driver, take a course in anger management or pick up a self-help book on stress reduction. You'll improve your driving, attitude and your health by reducing your risk of a heart attack or other stress related ailments. While violent, aggressive driving is on the rise, you don't have to fall victim to it. Try these tips for a more positive approach whenever you get behind the wheel

Originally posted by Nouvulari@Feb 27 2005, 12:56
hey guys my fren took this pic in puncak alam area (near old airport)

the owner rammed an S 280 back and he is a lil injured....but look what 's more severed....
although never kena bullied by the s280, owner kena bullied by a the workshop quote for the damages to be repaired..."kira-kira RM 380k" hehehe :P

which reminds me about the road bully case in germany involving a Mercedes test driver named " Turbo Rolf" who drove a CL600 and tiong another lady at speeds up to 200km/h who was driving only a small compact...ended up the girl was too scared and lost control after seeing the CL600 too near her bumper and crashed......she and her baby ended up dead.....

this pic is the test driver who was banned from driving and working his dream job as a mercedes test driver but wasn't sentenced to jail or whatsoever despite the loss of two lives....... :(

Originally posted by Nouvulari@Feb 27 2005, 23:07
which reminds me about the road bully case in germany involving a Mercedes test driver named " Turbo Rolf" who drove a CL600 and tiong another lady at speeds up to 200km/h who was driving only a small compact...ended up the girl was too scared and lost control after seeing the CL600 too near her bumper and crashed......she and her baby ended up dead.....

this pic is the test driver who was banned from driving and working his dream job as a mercedes test driver but wasn't sentenced to jail or whatsoever despite the loss of two lives....... :(
pls dont flame me for my view.

nobody asked her to step on the pedal, she caused her own accident because she couldnt have enough common sense.

1 )she is drivng a compact car
2 )she has a child on board
3)nobody is pointing a gun to her head telling her to drive @ 200kmh

she has got a point to prove isit?

maybe the road one lane leh.. how to pull over? maybe she panicked leh.. tot she can outdo the 'monster' behind her.. or maybe she also gila gila felt intimidated.. felt challenged.. and floored the accellerator... or maybe like you said she no common sense.. :rolleyes:

everywhere also same la.. ppl driving on the fast lane at say 120kmph see a car from far flashing lights instead of moving to the left lane.. they tekan.. try to outdo the car behind.. then when kena tiong they marah.. 'chowcipeks.. come tiong me ah' then shit happens.. move la when ppl flash.. or start honking.. if u cruising stay away from the overtaking lane.. @#$%$^@!@#$ :P

sometimes can be avoided incidents like this if ppl practise proper driving etique <_<

I don't think it is a one lane road... could be the German Autobahn... up to 4 lanes!

People drive around 200-300kph easily there and slower / smaller cars need to give way to faster / bigger cars.

Heck, even if you are driving the latest BMW 7 Series at 220kph, you still need to give way to a Ferrari or Lambo travelling around 250-300kph le... :P

wei wei yesterday I saw road bully incident right in front of my eyes

TIME : 9.55 a.m.

LOCATION : right after Volvo showroom in Fed Highway near the left turning to brickfields

description : One old man versus One worker(look like an indon). the old man driving honda civic and the worker..waht else...lorry lah!!!!

both of them screaming at 1 another on top of their heads coz I think the old man's civic kena bang

dunno what will happen to the old man...somemore fight wif indon worker :(

if me , I'll just take down no plate and head straight to police station, if not after I kena chop then the indon worker just ciao, especially during this amnesty period boleh balik sesuka hati

damn kau scary wei

oh oh and today around 5.30 p.m. saw accident near pusat bandar damansara area going towards damansara heights, one of the interchange....

hehe round light E-class bang one lady's old honda Cr-X delsol or somethin like that....

saw the whole front bonnet of the E-Class rolled up while the lady still stuck inside the car too badz I got no camera n that time also going to start to jam so I cepat cepat ciao

maybe the driver will bully the lady driver but lookz like the E-class wrong....