rnb ice recommendations

i.k.

hey yall,

my stock ice is busted n so im thinkin of gettin something new but nothin fancy with a budget of say 2k (hope that's enuf) for a player n speakers. i listen to mostly rnb, hip hop and the like, any recommendations???

thx!

if 2k for speakers only try to look for RS Audio SPL series (replaces RS Comp) very good for R&B

RM2K is just enough for u to buy a HU and reasonable speakers. With the money, there is a lot of offerings from Alpine, Pioneer, Eclipse, JVC, Kenwood, Sony,Panasonic etc. I'm sure some accessory shops can offer u a package. Of course, there are better European offerings but I think with your budget, u might be struggling for more. Hopefully all the sifu sifu who are well-verse with products from Europe can shed him some light. Try to attend some of the TTs so you can have a rough idea what kind of set up u can buy with that money. In fact, there are also a lot of great 2nd hand stuffs which u might want to have a look.

off topic a bit.... r&b is my soul food, i'm a big fan of this genre also neo soul. however i normally listen to male solo, duo or group mostly from america only (with certain exception of female) and currently i'm more into neo soul (i think i have huge collection from ealy 1990s till now - u name it i might have it either mainstream artist, known label, underground to independant label- i also have dozen of rare collection where i normally trade over ebays).

back to your qs, i have ice setup in my car with the budget you have (very simple and basic but havent tune in properly, i tune according to what i know and i like to hear coz no time to see zenn, his tt so far from my house, maybe if i go there ask him to belanja my whole family...hehehe - but so far oklah the sound to my ears),

btw my suggestion ...all you need to do is do is

1) state your budget (which u did)
2) decide what item you want? front comp, HU, amp, sub?
3) compare product after reading review
4) makes decision (either buy new or used)
5) survey everyday in zth marketplace ice section, makes notes if you saw something u want and start nego. dont commit first ok sometimes its good to wait for few days or weeks or month sometimes better product sells cheaper but of course buy from trusted seller lah (i got mine from here and so does the item in my previous car)

p/s : correct me if i'm wrong but r&b can be SQ and SPL so its very hard to tune coz they use many instrument and sampling. try playing r&b cd from 1990s till 2000s u'll hear different sound - maybe the way the mastered it.

neo soul is even worst, hehe dont believe me try playing d'angelo debut album and his 2nd. or rahsaan patterson or lynden david hall or raphael saadiq or van hunt or dwayne wiggins and the list goes on.

anyway mine is all original cds not burn cds or mp3.

u need to find good recording rnb cd to tune it..many rnb cd are having bad recording...even ori...just something i found out...dun flame!!..hehe

With your favourites such as R&B and hip hop, maybe u want to top up a bit to get an amplifier so u can 'feel' the music better. Later, when budget permits then u can add on a sub-woofer for more bass.

howie...its not bad recording....its because the way they mastered the album....coz those what you heard (those arrive in our shore) are mainly produce and enginereed by known ppl in the industry....

wait till yo hear some independant artist or underground....with cheap budget and limited production equipment...the sound mixing really bad like karaoke....hehe

you may try using usher latest album perhaps (mainstream) but make sure its imported not the locally distributed...theres diff in the cd...i normally found locally produce cd is not good compare to the one manufactured in europe or usa...

I have on comps MB Quartz Discus Series 6.5". Alpine CDA 9831 HU. I listen to alot of varying music. RnB and hip hop 60-70% of the time too.

With rnb hip hop, freq will range mostly in the upper and lower sections. Just getting a HU and comps may be good enuff esp. if ur on a budget. Just like how i started out! :regular_smile: However u will be missing out on alot of the lower freqs. & SQ Less bass!
My advice would be :
1) Get a good HU, with features dat can fit into future system expansion.
2) Select the biggest mid range u can, for door speakers usually 6.5" (bigger=more bass)
3) Add/Save up a bit for basstubes (cheap & easy bass)

Keep in mind, this is just a quick guide. Actual stuff may vary according to ur system aim: SQ or SPL.

for r&b u need very strong midbass and u definitely need a sub, 12" at least...

best would be 4 way setup, 1", 4", 8" and 15" with dynamic type of amps..

not to say normal 6.5" comp + sub kenot, just depends la on car and eqpt.

last time the xetec amps with RS Audio pro speakers in the jazz was excellent for r&b, thats until we did a 3 way front + 15" sub then only u know what was missing, hehe...

cheers guys

thx for all ur input guys,

i think with my budget, i can only afford a HU + speakers (back & front), don't think i wana spend more than 2k for my car audio.

i think testing at the shop and hearing a system in a car is totally different, so i'm reluctant to do that, plus i dont have the time anyways. just want to go to the shop and install a good system based on sifus opinions like u guys.

so can u guys name me a good HU + speakers set up. i would really appreciate it :regular_smile:

p/s: yeah, i dig rahsaan too.

zenn, pls explain furtherlah on basic setup let say 6.5 frt comp, 4 ch amp and 12inch sub..how to get the best out of it. should we use the rear aswell (for ambience) or leave it as it is (disable or fade to front more) or should change the speaker aswell (dont recomend high end brand just basic entry level ok) let say to get some "additional" bass sound.

Personally, I prefer my music comes from an amplifier because I like music with some sense of 'power'. Of course, your RM2'000 is merely adequate for u to get a mid-end HU, low-end amplifier and some low/mid-end speakers. SQ to me is not really my ultimate factor of consideration. Afterall, we are listening to the music in a very sound hostile environment full of NVH unless we have the budget to sound deaden the car. That also will not give u a 100% completely free of other sound interference. Think of your future plans and do what u can and what u want with the budget u have now. Recommending models is a challenging task as everybody has different taste & expectation in music. Like our Taiko Zenn, he will never settle for a setup anything less than RM10k, is it???Perhaps, u may want to join some of the TT tonight to listen to various ICE cars. There is one at DPP, (Taman Desa), Taman Dagang, (Ampang) and etc. Usually these TTs starts at 8.30 pm onwards.

hehe nicholas, yea lah, that why i only listen to stock OEM system nowadays, no money...

id rather have no SQ than lousy SQ with money gone with the wind. just bcoz once u buy something u lose a lot when u want to sell it (if u can get rid of it) when u want to upgrade later (after kena poison) so might as well be patient and save up for something good then only can be happy. if u spent something then u dont enjoy it it only becomes irritating, might as well stick to stock...

save money dont buy rear speakers. for 2k maybe u can get alpine type X components speakers and alpine 9846 head unit.

Zenn, u serious? U listening to stock only meh? I see that u are some IASCA winner or have u sold off everything to upgrade to better set up. By the way, must keep some antidote lah everytime we enter into some "poisonous land". The finance minster at home also plays a very effective role.

yeah no money, no work, no income, sold off everything (car, apartment, golf set, etc).....fire the finance minister lah, show who is wearing the pants (me talk big coz not married, lol)