Got Smoked big time

Originally posted by InitialD+Feb 13 2005, 23:30 -->
QUOTE (InitialD @ Feb 13 2005, 23:30 )
Originally posted by faisal@Feb 13 2005, 13:51
Originally posted by InitialD@Feb 12 2005, 15:24
--QuoteBegin-shaunchen
@Feb 12 2005, 12:00
Hi all,

I was just rushing back home, i don't have any intention to race with the lantis. Yup, the KFC corner was fun, but I was not racing. The lantis was crap!!!

Hey.. so is it true that a R3 can do 250km/h ?

Initial,

No the M24 R3 cannot reach 250km/h. Anyone who claims that must be on some kinda drugs.

In fact in any Proton, and most Jap Cars for that matter, if the speedo is showing 200+Km/h, speedo inaccuracy accounts for 15-20km/h. So if you see 220km/h in your Satria GTi/ R3, you're probably doin 200-205 actual speed, tops.

Gearing, aerodynamics and pure BHP accounts for a lot to attain those kinda speeds. e.g The last E36 M3 had 320bhp and gearing to suit and it's top speed(tested not claimed) by EVO uk was 157mp/h(250-255km/h). And showing some 160+mp/h (260+km/h) on it's speedo.

Khoyos,

The Track Day last weekend was a familiarisation day for most. No one was clocking times to shout about . Maybe next Track Day

Faisal, thanks for the explanation.

Once more question... I have heard alot of people downgrade from 16" rims to 15" rims and they claim they their car accelerate faster and more responsive. And some of them claim that a GTi with 15" rims can touch 235km/h.

Do u supposed the readings on the speedometer is not accurate anymore due to the smaller rim size? [/b][/quote]
initial,

yes, it is definitely more responsive.. helps acceleration too. but your speedo will be quite highly inaccurate. i'm running 15s right now, and when my speedometer shows 120km/h i'm actually going about 100km/h only. (tested with 2 stock cars, side by side).

i remember when i first got my car and was wondering why i was going 120km/h and vans were overtaking me.. hehe.

another thing you might wanna consider before going for 15s is the fact that when you're braking hard, your wheels will have a tendency to lock more easily than 16s (same reason)

hope this helps.. cheers =)

Originally posted by rakuen+Feb 14 2005, 04:12 -->
QUOTE (rakuen @ Feb 14 2005, 04:12 )
Originally posted by InitialD@Feb 13 2005, 23:30
Originally posted by faisal@Feb 13 2005, 13:51
Originally posted by InitialD@Feb 12 2005, 15:24
--QuoteBegin-shaunchen
@Feb 12 2005, 12:00
Hi all,

I was just rushing back home, i don't have any intention to race with the lantis. Yup, the KFC corner was fun, but I was not racing. The lantis was crap!!!

Hey.. so is it true that a R3 can do 250km/h ?

Initial,

No the M24 R3 cannot reach 250km/h. Anyone who claims that must be on some kinda drugs.

In fact in any Proton, and most Jap Cars for that matter, if the speedo is showing 200+Km/h, speedo inaccuracy accounts for 15-20km/h. So if you see 220km/h in your Satria GTi/ R3, you're probably doin 200-205 actual speed, tops.

Gearing, aerodynamics and pure BHP accounts for a lot to attain those kinda speeds. e.g The last E36 M3 had 320bhp and gearing to suit and it's top speed(tested not claimed) by EVO uk was 157mp/h(250-255km/h). And showing some 160+mp/h (260+km/h) on it's speedo.

Khoyos,

The Track Day last weekend was a familiarisation day for most. No one was clocking times to shout about . Maybe next Track Day

Faisal, thanks for the explanation.

Once more question... I have heard alot of people downgrade from 16" rims to 15" rims and they claim they their car accelerate faster and more responsive. And some of them claim that a GTi with 15" rims can touch 235km/h.

Do u supposed the readings on the speedometer is not accurate anymore due to the smaller rim size?

initial,

yes, it is definitely more responsive.. helps acceleration too. but your speedo will be quite highly inaccurate. i'm running 15s right now, and when my speedometer shows 120km/h i'm actually going about 100km/h only. (tested with 2 stock cars, side by side).

i remember when i first got my car and was wondering why i was going 120km/h and vans were overtaking me.. hehe.

another thing you might wanna consider before going for 15s is the fact that when you're braking hard, your wheels will have a tendency to lock more easily than 16s (same reason)

hope this helps.. cheers =) [/b][/quote]
So those changing to smaller rim size are actually cheating themselves only lah... thanks for the input on this dude.

Hai all...

Wow very kuat aarrr that satria R3 140hp can touch 250kmj top speed....malaysia boleh! is it true?....wah can carik makan wooo....

mine big vtec b16a 170hp manual standard with rechipped ecu to disable speed limiter & rev cut, only can touch around 230kmj @8000rpm....with standard final drive ratio 4.4...actually that is not flat coz can go over 9000rpm but worry engine kaboom due to internal still standard...that reading at meter panel la...if use rsm maybe will be more accurate....this is true for standard b16a....but need to disable speed limiter first....I agree b16a standard engine can touch around 240kmj just only using smaller final drive ratio such as 4.2 ....if heavy modded one with B20B crv block ho ho ho...don't play2 aarrr....then B18CR...K20A...nice too.

just my 0.2 cent story...

see pic below avatar...

very THE keng.....so wat? Who can't win a turbocharged car with an NA when the driver is a so damn lousy driver and if it's in a busy road. Try track with no cars, I'm sure that the lantis will win...then we'll see which is crap.

140hp for a turbocharged lantis is actually nothing, it's the driver that counts. So there's no need to praise the driver

Originally posted by prozac@Feb 12 2005, 18:45
Can the ratios even reach 250kph? Fastest MMC GTi I've heard hit 240kph. We can't run far from standard 4G93P, ya know ;)

Anyway, it's better to have an accident on track rather than on the roads. For a start, tracks are designed to HAVE accidents. Run-off areas, tyrewalls, flags, ERV's etc. I'd rather have an accident with all these around rather than some dark road full of inexperienced drivers.

But you know...having to Puasa SIC till April is gonna be tough :(
250km/h is a baseless boast la. I think so far the best top speed amongst the SR3 brethren is 210km/h tops. Not without modding. With the standard ratios? Even more impossible. Who are we kidding?

I have to agree with prozac here. The track is a much safer place to HAVE accidents. No innocent by-standers and what naught. No pale-faced makcik in a kancil in the opposite direction when you oversteer...

April is a loooonnnggg waaayyy....must....get.......a.....fix..... go kart????

Originally posted by goslow@Feb 14 2005, 18:28
so lantis is out..who's next??ehehe
Kapcais and T-Bikes, watch out! You're next!!! :ph34r:

Originally posted by prozac+Feb 15 2005, 10:41 -->
QUOTE (prozac @ Feb 15 2005, 10:41 )
--QuoteBegin-goslow
@Feb 14 2005, 18:28
so lantis is out..who's next??ehehe

Kapcais and T-Bikes, watch out! You're next!!! :ph34r: [/b][/quote]
dun play play..... some kapchai maybe equipt with NOS
http://www.riders.co.il/Images/Msg/nos_motorcycle.jpg
http://www.flamethrowers.com.au/images/motorbike%20exhaust%20flamethrower%20kit%20motorcycle.jpg
http://www.bike.se/fotografier/bilder/1808_nos_cypern.jpg

Originally posted by Crash+Feb 15 2005, 09:46 -->
QUOTE (Crash @ Feb 15 2005, 09:46 )
--QuoteBegin-prozac
@Feb 12 2005, 18:45
Can the ratios even reach 250kph? Fastest MMC GTi I've heard hit 240kph. We can't run far from standard 4G93P, ya know ;)

Anyway, it's better to have an accident on track rather than on the roads. For a start, tracks are designed to HAVE accidents. Run-off areas, tyrewalls, flags, ERV's etc. I'd rather have an accident with all these around rather than some dark road full of inexperienced drivers.

250km/h is a baseless boast la. I think so far the best top speed amongst the SR3 brethren is 210km/h tops. Not without modding. With the standard ratios? Even more impossible. Who are we kidding?

I have to agree with prozac here. The track is a much safer place to HAVE accidents. No innocent by-standers and what naught. No pale-faced makcik in a kancil in the opposite direction when you oversteer...

April is a loooonnnggg waaayyy....must....get.......a.....fix..... go kart???? [/b][/quote]
Did I hear you say Go-Kart? Alright!!! Hehehehe....
Go-Kart is the best platform to prove one's skill. No point comparing a NA car with a turbo-charged car... it's like comparing apple and orange.

Originally posted by InitialD+Feb 15 2005, 23:15 -->
QUOTE (InitialD @ Feb 15 2005, 23:15 )
Originally posted by Crash@Feb 15 2005, 09:46
--QuoteBegin-prozac
@Feb 12 2005, 18:45

April is a loooonnnggg waaayyy....must....get.......a.....fix..... go kart????

Did I hear you say Go-Kart? Alright!!! Hehehehe....
Go-Kart is the best platform to prove one's skill. No point comparing a NA car with a turbo-charged car... it's like comparing apple and orange. [/b][/quote]
hehehe we got a member here with a BMW E30 with a SR20DET inside... the car being rewire the ECU in my workshop now seems to be quite good coz now the car is wild and uncontrollable... :D .. dunno who is the previous wireman did his car coz they removed the o2 sensors wire and cut off with resistor for the TPS sensor instead adjust from MUT system.

5th gear also can spin wheels........damn scary......only boost 0.5bar.

ps: this car at first was a nightmare but feel super happy after everything is correct hehehehe i think this happens to every1 too....

ps: i dun compare apple and orange coz i drink aprange juice which is mix both haha :lol: :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by InitialD@Feb 16 2005, 00:35
Wow! 5th Gear can wheel spin somemore.. cool!!
yeah first time test this beast sure scare hell out... the turbo not boost but like rocket at 0.5bar hmmmmm i cannot see the turbine clearly but looks like at least TD05 or 06 :o

i thought RB20 is more powerful than SR20DET? but now i feel like SR is more powerful....nevertheless let me check what turbo izit first.... really makes me curious and look like an idiot hahahaha :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well theres nothing for me 2 admit. Thats what i feel. Speeding and driving dangerously are 2 different things bro. May i ask, how fast is speeding?? You can do 80 in a housing estate and that speeding. But 80 on d highway isn't. So u tell me. Talking bout loved onces being hit by others. That happened to my loved one b4. He dislocated his shoulder. But its wasnt because that other car was 'SPEEDING' but bcoz that B.... didnt stop at the junction.
You just dont seem to get my point satria_95. You cant 100% blame accidents on the road are bcoz of speeding. Example, u see a saga or a iswara hit a bike on the road. The long tyre marks make u think that car jammed the brakes from a distance. But in reality, it was only doing 90 or 100 and the bearing gave way and made tha car skid and hit that bike. So ur gonna say that car was speeding???

If roads are not at all meant for speeding, those ambulance and fire trucks are actually not rushing to save lives but to wreck lives. Better tell them to take their own time and get to the SOS place late. Do hope u get what im trying 2 tell here.
Not everybody speeds for the sake of speeding bro. They have their own reasons.

Btw, u guys talking bout tyre sizes, or its better for cars 2 run on their ori tyres , bigger tyres or smaller tyres??? Confused :blink:

Cheers

Originally posted by didios@Feb 16 2005, 04:05
Well theres nothing for me 2 admit. Thats what i feel. Speeding and driving dangerously are 2 different things bro. May i ask, how fast is speeding?? You can do 80 in a housing estate and that speeding. But 80 on d highway isn't. So u tell me. Talking bout loved onces being hit by others. That happened to my loved one b4. He dislocated his shoulder. But its wasnt because that other car was 'SPEEDING' but bcoz that B.... didnt stop at the junction.
You just dont seem to get my point satria_95. You cant 100% blame accidents on the road are bcoz of speeding. Example, u see a saga or a iswara hit a bike on the road. The long tyre marks make u think that car jammed the brakes from a distance. But in reality, it was only doing 90 or 100 and the bearing gave way and made tha car skid and hit that bike. So ur gonna say that car was speeding???

If roads are not at all meant for speeding, those ambulance and fire trucks are actually not rushing to save lives but to wreck lives. Better tell them to take their own time and get to the SOS place late. Do hope u get what im trying 2 tell here.
Not everybody speeds for the sake of speeding bro. They have their own reasons.

Btw, u guys talking bout tyre sizes, or its better for cars 2 run on their ori tyres , bigger tyres or smaller tyres??? Confused :blink:

Cheers
hmmmm there seems 2 be some misunderstanding but anyway i belive that speed do kills, thats why i dun take the risk so much, i normally tuned any car and will only test on KLIA highway at 1am with the owners permission. like now i posted this message at 4.37am coz i just finished test fastsub wira after modifiying the throttle body.

well what can i say, FAST= DEATH and FAST + CARELESS = MORE THAN 1 DEATH

ps: do any1 know about jempol drag race? still got ah? coz wanna 2 R&D and test the car there..... more safer coz batu 3 no more :(

Anything can cause an accident. Not necessary speeding. A slow kancil can suddenly lose control on a highway and might cause and accident.

Or for some reason, you are minding your own business driving slowly but suddenly a car weave in and out of traffic and get in front of u and jam brake.. so u jam brake in time also..but end up getting rear-ended by the car behind u...and the culprit just drives away unaffected.

Or if u have been driving the Cyberjaya road long enuff.. u get to see freak accidents. For example, one day, on the way home.. I saw this Altis and an overturned kancil.
Everyone thot it was the Altis that bang the Kancil.. when actually it was the Kancil that flew across from the opposite direction onto the Altis and then topple over.... see how we can easily jump to conclusion...hahaha

Like I always say "Speed thrills. Incompetence kills". Speeding does not necessarily coz accidents. But carelessness, recklessness and stupidity does. NUff said, really.