Retreat! - Review: 2004 Satria R3

• Thread starter Tom
  • Start date
  • Replies 163
  • Views 55K
B) what a great information we get.... thanx to u TOM... free bump for u...

Originally posted by andrew_viper@Jan 9 2005, 04:35
u need to juice this baby up tom , u need to bring this to sepang for a drag..of course..after mod's..cheers mate! :lol:

Dj Viper
FYI, it isn't Tom's car dudes... :) I believe its car NO.19 and uncollected as yet.

heyyah guys! am one of the newbies in this forum. I've read all of the posts made and i tot i'll join u guys lah! Anyway...am still waiting for my baby..R3..hehehe =p :D

wah lau..finally, a tuned car from our local car manufacturer..pretty cool, yeah, it seems like the car got "presence"..pity it doesn't come with the carbon fibre front bonnet..it'll be around 5 kgs lighter ( idea : buy la 1 high quality carbon bonnet and fit to your R3s..lighter weight? )

i am once a sceptic to local cars ( u know lah..buttons falling off, window not sliding properly bla bla bla... ) but now, with this R3, i'm thinking twice already..

pity they didn't come out with diff - looking front bumper..should have made it look more menacing than this..

now i'm seriously thinking of buying this car ( as long as my old man approves la, since i want to borrow his bank statements.. how much ler this car left? Is the counter on proton - edar correct? ) but 1 question lingers : how to do a simple but nice sound system? Maybe an active subwoofer ( like the new Blaupunkt one, tested by NST's Sunday car pullout, fitted to their Gen2 test car? ), a touchscreen HU ( plus DVD player one ) and an amp..how?

how's the front camber? more aggresive than GTI? fuel consumption how? how's the car's feel?

anyway how long did it took for u guys to get the car after confirmed booking?

Originally posted by kwai@Dec 29 2004, 19:56
ha... if i rich i sure change it to rs jo... no need headached..... how to mod my slow satria... b]

same wif me lor.. no more place 4 our kar maa...de price are goin god damn down to the bottom.. :unsure:

isnt that they use mitsubishi twincam 1.6 doch engine to modified in the r3?? :blink:

Originally posted by Gtr81@Feb 12 2005, 05:49
isnt that they use mitsubishi twincam 1.6 doch engine to modified in the r3?? :blink:
It's a standard GTi 1.8 DOHC engine, 4G93P...which is pretty much an NA Lancer GSR engine.

Originally posted by Gtr81@Feb 12 2005, 05:49
That would either be a 4G92 DOHC (Non-MIVEC) or a 4G91 1.5 DOHC. Both are ancient engines. The SR3 uses the venerable 103kW 4G93P option.

wah thats means damn cow fast haaa......... gti also go smoking

maybe you should take the time to glance at the first page before randomly posting snippets.

i like its carbon fibre engine plug cover...

really cool....

anyone knows where to get one?

:)

forget it .... no matter how much proton improve this unit .... is still the copycat model from mitsubishi .... zero in creativity, zero in innovative, zero in localization, and zero in quality .... and the worst is Proton dare to announce that will be a price increase .... now i looking forward to see how proton can survive in International Standard in future ....

well ansonkit Malaysia has to start somewhere dont' we?

Proton is about 20 years old.. it's still young. It will grow with time, hopefully eventually. Car business is no easy tiding... and we were pretty brave even with the tech transfer from mitsu... I think.

anyways, I noticed you drive a satria.. so give your own car a bit of support la. copycat or not, it's still a start.. localization? quality needs a immediate boost no doubt about that.

Well they're playing by the Jap's rules when they practiced dumping in USA with Toyota.. but unfortunately Proton didn't have the luck of being liked, or touted as a great alternative..or an economical one at that.

so if i sprayed my car black because i like the colour, you'll take ur cf bat, beat my car and call me a wanabe?

There is no official SR3 club as yet, but it is in planning. Should be in existence by end of the year.