Emergency Lane on Hi.Ways

How can the abuse of this dedicated lane be curbed?

• Traffic Police stop them, saman them, and tahan till jam finish..die!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other users take registration numbers down and submit to Police

• Have a "Ops Sabar" crap thingie campaign, try to teach people the art of being patient (as if!)

• Plant anti-tank mines every 5 km

• Total voters
if dont have turtle or snail captain lead at front,then the hi-way all the time will be smooth,so no need use emergency lane

I guess the only way to make M'sians stop abusing the emergency lanes is to saman them and give them demerit points. Advising them not to do so simply doesn't work for the "me-first" and "ok-for-me-but-not-ok-for-others-to-do-so" types...

As for giving way to ambulances, sometimes I don't really want to give way, bcoz the ambulance driver seems to be abusing the siren so as to have a smooth journey... sometimes they only put on the flashing lights but not the siren, and only turn on the siren when I don't give way, and after passing me, off goes the siren. Now that doesn't seem like a genuine emergency situation to me!

And some drivers "tumpang" the ambulance closely to hv a smooth journey, and after you've given way, you may be stuck at the road shoulder for a while b4 u get to merge back into the traffic!

Esky>>
you have a point as sometimes ambulance drivers have patients inside, but use their 'granted rights' for their personal gain.

But whatever it is pun, I still believe, an ambulance should be given way, no matter what, cos no one really knows. I've been in an ambulance rushing to go to University Hospital with my ill grandma (God bless her), so I'd understand if an ambulance is blaring its signals / lights and asking ppl to MOVE (over the loudspeaker)..

Hey PR1MO>
I agree with you. At least ppl with REAL emergencies can slowly & safely come to a stop.

Originally posted by lekalo@Feb 17 2005, 13:21
Hey PR1MO>
I agree with you. At least ppl with REAL emergencies can slowly & safely come to a stop.
emergency lane is not meant for stopping at road side only...
disagree with those yellow strip lines...

Originally posted by 4agze+Feb 17 2005, 14:11 -->
QUOTE (4agze @ Feb 17 2005, 14:11 )
--QuoteBegin-lekalo
@Feb 17 2005, 13:21
Hey PR1MO>

emergency lane is not meant for stopping at road side only...
disagree with those yellow strip lines... [/b][/quote]
Then.. what are the emergency lanes exactly used for? If got flat tire takkan wanna stop in the middle fo the highway?
Unless you have hi-speed crash like mine lastime and ter-stop, different story la.

Originally posted by Dremel+Feb 16 2005, 19:15 -->
QUOTE (Dremel @ Feb 16 2005, 19:15 )
--QuoteBegin-JINEIL2EN
@Feb 15 2005, 08:37
woi....... :huh:
my car is old lousy junk.....cannot tahan jammed.....so, hav to 'main kiri/tepi'....but i didn't speedy........ :(

but still.. you're not an ambulance though :lol: [/b][/quote]
i juz prepare for my car break down....if break down in the middle lane, ppl will very piss me off..... :(
so, hav to 'main kiri' lah...///....... :(

it all boils down to enforcement, in UK and Australia...motorists are TERRIFIED of traffic police...cos they know if they fo something wrong..they are gonna be caught, fined, and get demerit points.

If PDRM can get thier act together, it will solve not jsut emergency lane abuse, but also everythign else...

when im driving my company Ranger...i poke out abit into the emergency lane..jsut enough that the fuc kers cant pass me easily..see them sweat..you will be suprise how many ppl actually hon me to get out of the way..

If you're late, who's fault is it? time.. sleep? its your life..
Those people who take the emergency lanes and cut back in are those creating the jam . Simple.. Just take a look at Jln 222 and heading to sunway... famous amos area..

A lot of cars will not simply jam up a road. Its things like being inconsiderate such as :

Using the emergency lanes
Kiasu, don't want to enter the main road until you reach the end of the dotted lines. (I've personally tried this from mid valley exit to federal highway a few times. Purposely leave 2-3 car gap in front of me on the left lane (3rd lane). Nobody will even bother entering. They'll wait till the last moment then only enter).
Not giving way to any other car to enter the main road.
The main road user forced to give way to the entrance road user. Entering car not adjusting speed to the main road.

:)