PROTON R3 Amprex Wins the Biggest Race in Asia

HKS-GT2835R said:
i say there's actually hardly any competition?
As a comparison, the orig Lotus Sport Exige 240R with a supercharged and intercooled high-revving engine producing over 240 hp and over 170 lb/ft of torque, can do 0-100km/h in less than 4 seconds and 160km/h in less than 10 seconds before topping out @ approx 250 km/h. unladen weight is 930 kg and the power-to-weight ratio is @ 261 hp / tonne (195 kW / tonne, 266 PS / tonne).
now they took that engine out & replace it with a 400hp three-litre V6 engine, which later on hafta be detuned at around 350bhp! just look at the power-to-weight ratio of that thing!

i say our R3 team kix ass out there! congrats!
Thanks for the congratulations. It was a team effort between R3 and Amprex.

The Exige 240R and The Exige 300RR are 2 totally different beast. The only thing they have in common are the aluminium tub, roof panel and doors. Everything else on the 300RR is bespoke. So it's safe to say the Exige 300RR is a one of a kind BEAST.

boggysv said:
BIGGEST race in Asia????
By numbers, maybe yes
By competiveness, technology, budget, sure kah?
Well that is what the organisers SIC claim and personally I think it doesn't get any bigger in this region.

And by numbers, it's pretty spot on as there were 91 entrants and 77 starters in the race

differ said:
eh, wat's this all about?

'search' on "lotus europa/new proton sports car [classified]".

faisal said:
It was a team effort between R3 and Amprex.
......So it's safe to say the Exige 300RR is a one of a kind BEAST.

yes it is the ONE [special one] & only ONE in existence. kudos

netmatrix said:
I don't know if anyone noticed it. But i believe R3 should be classified as a tuning firm, rather than a company brand like Proton. But of course their preference is mainly Proton cars. Next time, i think we could see R3 tuned Nissans, Hondas and Toyotas.
i think R3 is more like wats Nismo 4 Nissan o TRD 2 toyota o Ralli Art 4 Mitsubibishi

greetings..congrate R3.

really can't wait R3 workshop to be open. Maybe we spirited malaysian can have motoring consultantcy at affordable budget. :tongue:

Hope future R3 race model will be charging the sepang ahead of Vtec in MSS or 2006 MME..and maybe in MME 2007 they can win a podium where we malaysian shall celebrating our 50th Merdeka anniversary. Plz Proton & R3. :smile:

im gonna type something patriotic since merdeka month and all and say " Malaysia boleh ! "

out of topic :

what do u guys think on the lap times ?
the honda civic 2.0 times are faster than those wrx and evos and even porsche. Any of u know the hp on the civics ? It's NA right ?

munky said:
out of topic :

the honda civic 2.0 times are faster than those wrx and evos and even porsche. Any of u know the hp on the civics ? It's NA right ?
The MME Honda Racing Malaysia Civics are equipped with Mugen built engines. Power are anything between 270bhp-300bhp, depending on who you ask.

The Michelin tyres on the Honda cars are special Michelins on 9" wide wheels. A friend who works for the Honda team told me that Michelins work closely with them to develope the tyres.

If you were to look closely at the Honda the are more Touring car spec than Street car spec. To compare them to street WRXs and Evos that were converted to race cars are like comparing chocolate and cheese.

And Their No. 1 doraiba Hiroki Katoh is one heck of a fast driver. In his last stint he was still clocking 2' 26 - 2 '28, more than 3 secs fater than his co-drivers.

munky said:
out of topic :

greetings.. HMRT 2nd place car lap time of course looks very fast for this event, even faster then those turbo'ed car.

bro faisal correct me if i'm wrong.
1. that car is sponsered by HONDA MALAYSIA! so there is no way they want to make it simple and easy for everybody on the grid.
2.compare to the lap time that civic in faster that DC5 time, it's weird isn't it. so from there already u can assume that civic engine performance is one hell of a kind. 270-300hp is reasonable. maybe torque also quite higher than DC5.
3. gear ratio, handling, braking, cooling system, lightened and other small aspect that we dunno.
4.they r pro people backing their team, got lots of racing data and engine spec data. latest vtec technology is in there for sure.

so believe it or not MME is a brand fighting field. i hope to see toyota & nissan also will react and sponsoring their racing team. so..if this kind of team keep coming in,we local
malaysian team must be more eager in fighting back.

my 1cent :frown:

and hopefully sponsor will keep pouring in..

emm..about sponsorship..i think our motoring scene is really big in our own way :tongue: . but how come those people at tv1,tv2,tv3,ntv7 or even channel8 never give a damn this yer about putting our motoring scene on tv (live/delay) AFOS, MSS, MME, GO KART OR DRAG RACE???

maybe sepang's marketing executive should produce cd's of above motoring event. think of in board camera, think of vtec, turbo'ed, boxer engine sound..think of the actual speed and lots of other things that we public don't know. i'm not sure about production cost but if u people can make it happen then i think motoring crowd will get bigger than ever. it's good to have a collection of those race event. we will buy original set if this thing become a reality. i think those marketing people can see it as a sideline of income for sepang in a long term.

it just a dream... wuuaaarrrggghhh ngantuk gilerr

"It was a mammoth day for PROTON R3 Amprex as the team asserted total domination and clinched the overall and Class O win in the sixth edition of the Merdeka Millenium Endurance race at Sepang International Circuit on Saturday.

After setting a blistering pace and securing pole position during Friday's qualifying session, the talented trio of R3’s Tengku Djan Ley, Amprex’s Genji Hashimoto and Australia’s Tony Ricciardello never looked back as they went on to lead most of the gruelling 12-hour endurance race and finally setting a new record of 279 laps for the overall win."

IMO it wasn't a total domination by R3 due to the fact that while it pitted in for trouble shooting, HM was quite a no. of laps in front. also do bear in mind it finished only 1 lap ahead of HM considering its lap time is more than 10s ahead of HM therefore it wasn't leading for most of the 12hours. however i do not find it offensive by calling it proton coz proton do owned lotus at the end of the day & without proton, lotus might end up like rover this day.

Congrats Amprex R3 and keep the good thing coming....

talking bout R3...did any of u guys read Hypertune Volume 46 lately? it is stated that R3 boys have completed 80% of their research on 200hp campro 1.6 engine...

if that is true....GO R3...

but sad news is...i read in newspaper today...petronas EP01 engine will be used by chinese car maker. I think this engine is hell of a beast.....sadly no malaysia company realized that....sighh

but business is business..GO Petronas also...

im feeling patriotic....MERDEKA....

Petronas people are smart. They know invest in Proton will oni be a Proton.. The car wont export far beyond Malaysia.. But in China, things are a lot more different

Lennon said:
Petronas people are smart. They know invest in Proton will oni be a Proton.. The car wont export far beyond Malaysia.. But in China, things are a lot more different
china market much much bigger than malaysia mah... plus if china wanna produce car, surely they need to beat their biggest rival VW Santana mah... VW cars are powerful, thats why they need something more powerful to beat them and be their nation favourite car...

malaysia is jz a small country... no use invest in malaysia adi since proton has jz made a scar in their face with such bad quality cars in each production...