Evo Ix

Storm,

Tonite goin to China. Want to get china doll girl....... hehehehehe

Zin - Where do you travel to in China? I travel to China pretty often too.
S9 - Have yo done your speed cut yet? I am looking at a few things - exhaust system, HKS Twin Power, boost controller, ECU, to name the very very few things I have in mind.

S9,
I'm doing simple on my bodyparts, just some front splitters and canards will look nice already. as for the side and back, i'll ask my friend to custom made for me. Will custom made damd style. hehehe. U le? wads ur next project bro?

EE9,

Yo, me ah, same ler... Lately bz a bit so i guess in de near future oso no 'big project' for my car ler... Hahaha... But really hope to do those basic things 1st lar, examples: Air filter + exhuast + Rims lor... On n off still looking ard... but no decision yet lor... I think i'll jus take my own sweeeeeet time lar... :biggrin:

Golfer, wah?!! DIY meh? lolz... Sorry i dunno anything abt how to install de filter ler... So cant help here! Remember to share us de result/defferent!

Installed the ARC airbox. Pretty simple stuff, the only "real" difficulty, if there was one, was removing the screws that screws the airflow sensor box to the original airbox (which houses the air filter). other than it, everything else was pretty much unscrew here and there, remove this and that and then install on new airbox and finally install airbox to airflow piping.

The results?

MAGNIFICO!!!

The sound of volumes and volumes of air being sucked in is magical.. like sucking in air with your mouth and with your teeth clenched.. only with more base. the car reacts much better than before. above 3k rev, you can actually hear more and more air being sucked in by the turbo. i have not checked statistics but i reckon turbo lag is reduced slightly. power delivery is faster and even smoother than before. listening to the sound of air being sucked in and then the release of boost by the BOV and then air sucked in again.... wonderful!! noticed that water temperature fell slightly (low 80s) before, it was around mid to high 90s. don't know if this is weather related, cause its getting cooler at nights now.

EE9 - does your aftermarket filter give you a nice sound when you rev the car?

the car is even more fund to drive now.

The only thing I am not certain is the sound that the filter makes after you release the accelerator to shit gears at high revs. it makes a funny sound, i am not sure what the cause of the sound is, however, i suspect its got something to do with plenty of air going in and suddenly stopping. any ideas??

hey storm, you online now ah? got msn messenger or not? wanna chat? send me PM of your details if you have msn messenger.

Golfer,
Ya, the response r better. but mine is open pod style. So actually night time is better. kekeke Wad kind of funny sounds huh? i dont really understand

EE9 - Its is hard to describe the sound. Its like rubber parts being rub together and causing noise. A friend of mine said that it could be because of the back pressure when you release the accelerator. I am not even sure where the sound is coming from - possible suspect -
1. airbox not properly installed resulting in the thing moving and hitting something (i doubt it though);
2. back pressure;
3. turbo noise being released to the air as a result of using open system?

anyone using an ARC airbox can shed light??

Photos

guys some pics of my recent DIY. sorry, the engine bay is damn dirty. left the car in the office carpark for over a week and the dust from the carpark sorta slowly consumed my entire car. when i drove the car out, the windscreen was kinda blurry!!!

anyway, the process, if you guys are interested is not complicated at all. if any interest, i will post more pics with steps and and explanation.

noted that the standard air scoop is still used and it doesn't cover the filter panel. wondering if the engine would be sucking hot air from within the engine bay when under full throttle and compromise performance?

seventh_son - i went through this dilemma before I decided on which intake to chose. from speaking to mod shop owners, forummers, frens etc, yes, it does take in hot air within the engine bay no doubt. however, this would apply for any open aired intake system, regardless of brand/model. some pple prefer the hks/k&n/apexi style air filter, which has the same affect of sucking in hot air from the engine bay. however, there are some who adds a heat shield to isolate the air filter so as to not let the filter be exposed to hot air from the engine bay. from what i have been told, it does make a difference with the heat shield but the difference is minimal.

i left the original air scoop in to give that part of the car more cool air. it can be taken out. the ARC airbox also has another filter on the right side facing down which you can't see from the previous photos I posted. I have posted another photo which you can just see the filter on the side of the airbox. the air scoop will give that part of the car more cool air, especially the side filter which also benefit from air coming up from the bottom of the car.

so, after much a thought process and deliberation on the pros and cons, i thought that the arc box leaving in the scoop is better than installing a heat shield on another open aired intake system.

there are many school of thought on this and at the end of the day, its a matter of personal preference albeit my little spill above..

Buddies,

Yo, why suddenly so quiet here huh? Where is everyone ler??? Oh yeah, for those who r celebrating Hari Raya n Deepavali next wk, :dancing2: "Selamat Hari Raya n Deepavali" to u guys! :dancing2: Hey ZinZan, so how u gonna celebrate man? LoLz!!! U manage to get ur China Doll? Any spare Doll for me??? :biggrin: How long u gonna break? For me 1 whole wk ler... Boring lar... dunno where to hang ard!

wufpek, Yo brader! How's ur car ler? Sudah siap? When can yumcha?

EE9, u hving long break next wk as well?

Stormvolution 9 said:
Buddies,

Yo, why suddenly so quiet here huh? Where is everyone ler??? Oh yeah, for those who r celebrating Hari Raya n Deepavali next wk, :dancing2: "Selamat Hari Raya n Deepavali" to u guys! :dancing2: Hey ZinZan, so how u gonna celebrate man? LoLz!!! U manage to get ur China Doll? Any spare Doll for me??? :biggrin: How long u gonna break? For me 1 whole wk ler... Boring lar... dunno where to hang ard!

wufpek, Yo brader! How's ur car ler? Sudah siap? When can yumcha?

EE9, u hving long break next wk as well?

China Doll...???That's great..!!I was in Shanghai back in July.. My agent brings me around town during my visit...The China Doll is NICE...But kinda hard to communicate though...But I just let the BODY LANGUAGE do the talkin'....ZinZan...Did U managed to bring back China Doll as souvenier for our fren Mr. Storm..??? :evil:

Zin & all our muslim members - Selamat Hari Raya ..
To all our frens celebrating Deepavali - Mates, have a good one!!!

The rest of the gang... just enjoy the public holidays!!!

Darn, I am still living in the years when Hari raya falls before/after chinese new year!!! time flies!!

Golfer said:
guys some pics of my recent DIY. sorry, the engine bay is damn dirty. left the car in the office carpark for over a week and the dust from the carpark sorta slowly consumed my entire car. when i drove the car out, the windscreen was kinda blurry!!!

anyway, the process, if you guys are interested is not complicated at all. if any interest, i will post more pics with steps and and explanation.

hi Golfer,
just wondering how much is the ARC filter and where you buy it?
pm me if possible.. thanks man

Hi S9 and all...

Just got back my car fews days ago after more than a month in the workshop waiting for the parts from Japan!! The turbine fin got broken for some reasons donno why really... even them they don't know what's the cause for this thing to break... anyways they replaced a new one for free since it is still under warranty... so guys, when wanna meet up?? been waiting so long :) hehe

stopid9 - I am not based in Malaysia, so, even if I tell you, you will probably not be able to get it. anyway, i think you will be able to find them in most mod shops that do evos. i think Stormvolution9 can give you some guidance. S9, help him out..