Evo Ix

Macau not anytime soon lar brader. At the moment my company has no business what so ever in macau. I wish we did, but maybe i'm goin for macau for holiday next year. Not confirmed yet will keep u posted on that. 1 10' enuff kick? i was thinking of changing to 2 10's. The reason i want to change is i went for a drive to ulu yam blardy hell the woofer tunggang terbalik. Sayang lar bro u were just stone's throw away, should have just drop by kl.

Hahaha... Luckily am not so much into ICE!!! If not... $$$ wil flies again! ICE is never a cheap hobby, right? Mmm... My IX jus fitted with a simple n cheap set, tht's all!

ZinZan, walan eh, how often now u guys travel along de Ulu Yam road? So now ur skill must b damn 'chun' liao ler? Hahaha... Hey were u there during last Sat. meet up btw MLOC n MEOC? I wasnt there as i hv to attend my school mate wedding! Drunk like hell tht nite... Luckily there were no gals ard... If not me being rape by them oso myself dunno... LoLz... :dancing2:

Golfer, No worry! Work r always important than any other things else... Hahaha... Take ur time!

ZZ - I like a strong bass myself and I am finding the single 10" ok. Perhaps the strength of the bass is also dependant on the bass itself other than the amp.. MTX is pretty good. I used to have 2 10" kicker (long time ago) and I find kicker pretty good too. My sub-woofer use to play merry-go-round in my boot but i resolved that now, not entirely, but 90% of the time. What I did was I screwed the boot carpet to the boot floor board. I only put screws in the middle part of the carpet. That way, with the weight of the sub, unless you are pulling some more than normal Gs on corners, the thing will stay in place. The reason why the sub is moving is because of the carpet. So, if you set the carpet down, you should be ok. Try asking your ICE shop to let you put/try/connect a 10" and listen to the sound before you decide, you may not think a single 10" is enough.

S9 - Like modding, ICE is a personal thing..heheheee... wah sounds like you are a pretty good drinker.. what? you complaining abt not knowing whether a possible rape woudl occur??? Mate, my advice is this.. don't fight it, give in... ahahahaaaaaa.

S9 -

wow man!! everyone is like ICE!!!! ICE Rulezzz.... But i dont play ice in my E9 , I play in my E46..hehehehe. Golfer, I'm using MTX 1501D old model amp together with 8000 series 12" woofer too :) MTX have a very solid and tight bass...hehe. As for the front component i'm using DLS too.. Match together with Xtant 2200ix amp. As for headunit i'm using clarion HX-D1. But then hoh, Belakang tidak boleh letak golf bag lagi. Cannot pakai my E46 to play golf, gotta use E9 to play golf..lolz ..ZZ , Maybe next meet up with u guys, you can share your ice experience with us too..hhahaha .. Storm, U gotta like ice if u hear those nice ice in the car! :)

To me ICE is very important. My hse sound system oso not this expensive. I've just changed to DLS 12". Much more compact box n i think can fit 2 golf bags......yahoo. Tried the rockford was too bassy and the staging was not as good as the DLS. EE9 which range did u use the ur front component. I'm using the C6. My back speaker i left the OEM speakers thinking of changing it alpine.

ZinZan said:
To me ICE is very important. My hse sound system oso not this expensive. I've just changed to DLS 12". Much more compact box n i think can fit 2 golf bags......yahoo. Tried the rockford was too bassy and the staging was not as good as the DLS. EE9 which range did u use the ur front component. I'm using the C6. My back speaker i left the OEM speakers thinking of changing it alpine.

Hi all, just to advice here, beware of fake goods in market. I've seens alot ICE product name branded but made in china. One of the component i experience in the market was Focal KP version. Compared Ori n fake both 90% the same. Only the serial number ungraved wise different and the crossover coil.

Well beware and good luck.

Soundstream thanks for the advice, i guess the only way u can avoid buy from reputable. even that is not 100%.

Storm,

Yeah i was there but left early i'm not too sure whether MLOC turned up. Did'nt know MLOC was joining us.

Storm,

Sori forgot to add didnt go with MEOC boys instead with my dad just sunday mornng drive.

ZZ,
I'm using UR5 series for my front component.As for the belakang i'm not using any speakers, took it off..hehe

Golfer,

Yo brader, wanna to ask u hor... Did u change ur down pipe as well when u changed ur exhuast? Down pipe located btw turbo outlet n de cat.! Heard tht it make lots of different oso if it been changed... Am thinking of changing it together with de exhuast n air intake! Exhuast definately HKS Silent Hi-Power like u hehehe... Air intake undecided yet... As for de down pipe, stil doing research on pricing n performance... :biggrin:

EE9, what abt u? Did u change ur down pipe? Jus wanna to know how different it is!

S9 - I changed the downpipe to HKS. I can't tell the difference of just the down pipe cause I changed everything except the cat and the turbo housing. Changing the cat will also yield additional hp and noise. I left the turbo housing unchanged just in case I decide to change the turbo one day...

I agree with EE9 on ICE, bro, if you get a chance, ask ZZ to give you a test sound of his sound system. I am sure you will be hooked!! I use to have a $10k sound system (which is moderately expensive I might add) in my Wira.. can disco and "feng thau" (shake head) inside when you blast the ICE!!! not to mention a good back massage!!!

Golfer,

Thx! So what abt de noise level after changing de exhuast n down pipe during idle n driving? Hahaha... Jus curious! Cos HKS Silent Hi Power suppose to b 'quiet' but then after changing de down pipe for sure de noise level wil increase! Hahaha... Compare to de ori. exhuast system, is de setting u r using now acceptable for u? Sorry to trouble u for so many Q here! Pai seh!!! :tongue:

S9,
My front down pipe is still ori, but then hoh i de-cat already. Sound is pretty quiet with my exhaust too. If using those "JASMA Approved" exhaust, the sound wont be too loud. Not until u try "RO" type of exhaust, damn loud...hehehehe

S9 - Like EE9 mentioned, Jasma approved exhaust does not sound loud at all. The Silent Hi-Power is Jasma approved. Noise level - well, there is definately an increase in noise but on idle and low rev (normal drive), the sound is not loud at all. I did not decat, so I am not sure how it sounds if you decat. When you accelerate hard, the sound is noticeably loud, loud enough for me and for your neighbours to hear for sure.
However, the sound is supressed to a certain extent by the sound of the turbo spooling due to the aftermarket intake box. Regardless of what types of air filter you use, as long as it is open air (not in a box), the turbo spooling will be significantly louder and it will drown the exhaust sound a little, hearing it from the cabin.

Compared to ori, the car is definately much more powerful. Now, I can feel that the brakes are inadequate for the power. I was driving home one day and decided to do a little aspirated drive up the hill. I accelerated hard up the hill in 3rd and then 4th, maintain at 4th through a bend, dropped to 3rd as i approached a 160 degrees left uphill and brake, double clutch dropped into 2nd just before the turn... but the car couldn't slow down in time for the turn. Luckily the road also sweeps to the right, so, I decided to take the right sweeper rather than risk an understeer (thankfully though there was no car coming from the opposite direction). I don't think I was too fast going into the lefthander. The brakes caught me by surprise as I didn't know it was this inadequate!

Anyway, back to your question, the setting right now is not complete. The next on the list would be the brakes and the suspension. After this is done, I think I can drive the thing like a rally car (save for a LSD)... In my opinion, the brakes are a must!!! I personally think that the stock brakes are inadquate for even a stock std evo, let alone a slightly modded one. Just my opinion.... ok.. enuff of my nonsensical spill.. hope that answers your question though.

S9 - have you had a chance to get in the cabin of ZZ's car and check out his ice? What is your cell phone no.? I will call you one day and let you listen to mine if you are interested.. ahahahaaa.. you will not get the full effect but you will get an idea...

ya lor we need to hook up kar storm one of these days. Been freaking bz lately. Hey ur interestes in goin for the track day.

golfer out of curiosity if there's not much road to travel in macau it must be damn frusrating. Is there a lot of roadblocks or speedtrap

Golfer,

Yo! Hahaha... Ur ICE damn 'KENG' lar!!! Wowwwww!!! As u said man, really can 'disco' n 'Feng Tau' inside ur car liao ler... :dancing2: Very cool sound system u hv ler... Eventhough v r hundreds or thousands miles away from each other... hahaha... through de phone i can really feel de 'power' of ur ICE man... :rock:

So ZinZan, i'll b testing ur ICE after this if u dun mind man! hahaha... Hey, wil call u one of this day for a meet up n yam cha lar!

Hey storm ur welcome to test my ice. My ice not so keng as golfer's but sufficient. We need to meet up but i wont be around this weekend maybe next weekend.

S9 - my pleasure! You really have to sit in the cabin to fully appreciate the quality and esp the bass! I am sure once you get a taste of Zz's, you'll be hooked! I can just imagine your next post int he forum.. where to install ha?

ZZ - you are damn right abt being frustrating. That is why I am trying to get permit to go to the Zhuhai track. There are many roadblocks, especially Friday and Sat nights on a certain part of Macau (where the racers hangout). Sometime the blocks are very frequent, esp when it is near the grand prix. Other than that, there are a couple of speed cameras which we all know and will avoid. That's why I am so envious of you guys in M'sia..

S9 - Abt the brakes, I am lookign at Project Mu at the moment. I will probably not change the callipers, just the pads, rotor and steel braided hose..for the front and just pads and the hoses for the rear. For street drivign and occassional track days, I think this is sufficient.