BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

hey guys, after BOT for 2 months, problem arised again.

For your information waja have 2 ignition coil which connected to the spark plug. My car was having dificulty to start after long run in highway and get diagnosed that 1 side of the ignition coil malfunction. Today my car have the same problem again, and the foreman told me the same side of the ignition coil spoilt.

He suspect is the turbo causing the ignition coil malfunction. Anyone have any idea what is it going on? Could it be the tuning problem? or engine over heated problem?

well ah ren

if u using emanage on the 4g18.
last time i measured a lancer 4g18 wif a scope i found the ignition coil signal is around 10Vp. the emanage can only set to either 5v or 12v. make sure u update the firmware to the latest version. this can be found at mohdparts.com. they reportedly have the latest fix for ig coil problems.

over heating from long distance running might also be a cause.

good luck

from your explanation above,i think most likely is the emanage coil ignition signal voltage problem. i went to normal workshop they said it might caused by the high voltage supplied to the ignition coil

if to say my ignition coil is caused by over heating from long distance running, but my water temperature doesnt indicate overheating symthom

besides that, for emanage tunning, on road training will be more accurate or dyno tuning is more accurate? what is different between these 2 method?

alright sifu..im new in turbo..may i know wat are the components for bolting on a turbo?my car is a 1.8 v6..twin turbo or single turbo better?? i wanna play low boost and low budget too...

1.8 V6 = mazda mx3 ?

dear to all BOT sifu,
just want to know how u all control the boost to 0.3~0.4....

thanx

either by a proper boost controller, be it manual or electronic, else the most cheapo way, using fishtank valve but not so reliable

i just bought a small festo valve. its machined aluminium with a brass knob and locking nut to prevent changes. cost me rm75. looks more serious than most fancy purpose built manual boost controllers.....plus u can get it from any festo pneumatics dealer. coming from festo, u know, they know their pneumatics and flow control. i can now switch from 0.6bar to 0.8 bar or anywhere in between wif about 15 turns of a knob. talk about high resolution. it works just as well as my previous fishtank valve, but wif much more 'resolution'.

i never had any problems wif my boost controller, nor do forsee any problems arising from such a simple setup. an electronic system wif valves and solenoids face a higher degree of problems simply due to to extra components, complexity of setup and wear n tear. a simple boost bleed however will never wear out.

u dont need an electronic boost controller for fast boost spool up. no turbo will spool up faster than if the w/gate is completely shut. so make sure ur wgate actuator is in good shape b4 plunking ur bonus on a fancy boost controller, just to find out ur too broke to replace ur faulty wgate actuator....

the only time u need a good electronic boost controller is when u using an extra large turbo, extra large wgate, hi cams etc etc. then it all makes sense...

good luck

either by a proper boost controller, be it manual or electronic, else the most cheapo way, using fishtank valve but not so reliable

As mentioned by 140db, you can use industrial grade of pneumative valves.

You don really need fancy or expensive boost controllers.

You can get it at from shops who deal in Pneumatic pumps, equipment. (refer to yellow pages, plenty of such shops listed)

Main reason Fish tank valves not realiable because it was not meant to witstand pressure.

When pressurized air is applied to fish tank valves, it leaks. THus you get boost spiking or creeping.

SOme people have used fish valves for year but have not problem though.

It depend on your luck. If so happen the fish tank valve you bought is ok, then you're alrite.

140db,
thumbs up! good info..
how small is your small festo valve? u got any pics to share? I think its better that the cheap aftermarket manual boost controller. where do you put the festo valve?

Lowering the compression is always a good thing... double metal gaskets are one way of lowering the compression on an engine... for safer BOT applications.

normality78,
Thinking of a BOT project eh? Well... all I can say is... if you want to have a reliable system... u're going to have to spend! What engine are u running on anywayz?
IF you want response and not power... then stay as an N/A lorr... ekekeke. =)

There ARE ways of bolting on a turbo kit without any major mods... can even use back stock fueling, stock ECU everything ler.... just opt for smaller turbos loh. Proton Turbo kits are bolt on also whut! Its running a TD025 boosting at 0.35 bar. These are the kinda setups that don't require much mods... literally plug and play.

What has to be done... and how to do it... would depend on your engine, and whut kinda turbo setup you're planning to run on.

alvin..
do you know the specs for the proton Turbo Kit used for 93P? the details of parts needed.. wanna try n survey the parts n plug n play

may i know if we need any upgrade for the engine part? as i know that some of those diesel engine need turbo's ring, nozzle, gasket etc. do we also upgrade these parts to keep our engine fit enough for that stuff?

overboost

140db,
thumbs up! good info..
how small is your small festo valve? u got any pics to share? I think its better that the cheap aftermarket manual boost controller. where do you put the festo valve?

dude, this is the one i used

http://catalog.festo.com/enu/asp/DefaultBAResult.asp?ID=151213&L=001

cost me rm75. may be more or less in ur areas i dint bargain wif the fella looked too good to be true. however, this guy uses m5 pneumatic connections which may be a bit hard to integrate wif 1/4" systems. u can buy another that suits your app.

http://catalog.festo.com/enu/asp/DefaultBAResult.asp?ID=151195&L=001
this one looks cool too

90% of all manual/pneumatic boost controller systems i know of bleed boost pressure off the wastegate pressure line to control boost. u simply buy some brass T's and hoses ( fat blue ones look race) from your local hware store or spart shop. place the festo valve so that it accurately bleeds pressure off the wastegate thus fooling the wgate to think that boost pres is actually lower than it is......

u could also put a small reservoir like a can in line to the wastegate boost feed. this would have an over boost effect for a while. once the can is filled, the boost will slowly drop back to standard. u would have to experiment with different size bottles/cans for duration of overboost.....

140db,
i like the reservoir idea..how does this work? it will overboost for few moment then return to normal boost? does it work like a trigger minus the button? when will this overboost situation occurs...good stuff again man..

the overboost will occur only when u put your foot hard on the accel pedal. this would cause the reservoir to take some time to fill up before pressure reaches your wgate.

if u slowly accelerate, there will be no overboost. also, on steady state hiway driving, no overboost. only when u suddenly put your foot down hard.....

put a tee on your wgate line to an air tight container like maybe a fancy aluminium drinking bottle fitted wif the correct air tight fittings.

just got TD04HL today at sg besi.will upgrade my old TD04L in 1month time.budjet tight.than dyno again.

no prob.
just make sure u have mapped the fuel for that area of boost. means that ur car would run fine on that particular higher boost setting.
take care
happy boosting

Bolt On Turbo for 4g93p

hi all!
got sum ques regarding BOT for 4g93p
ques how reliable isit for this conversion?
wat r the internals dat i gotta chg so dat my engine will not blown
not looking for high boost here...how much boost can the block support?
wat r the basic/fundamental parts dat r needed?
how much roughly is the conversion?

Hi Luka n Xinghonh,
I used to Bot my putra auto. The boost was set at 0.45. Did not change any
internals. Only my auto gearbox went kaput. For manual tranny, should not
be any problem. You can boost up to 0.6-0.7 safely, but better stay below that.
The kit is plug n play for wira/satria/putra 1.6 n 1.8. It consists:
1) 1.8 GSR manifold
2) 1.8 GSR turbocharger (TD04L)
3) Full stainless steel intercooler and airfilter piping
4) 4 pcs of 1.8 GSR fuel injectors (390cc)
5) Blitz blow off valve
6) Small intercooler, not sure but maybe standard GSR's
7) Apexi boost gauge

If you are interested, pls call or sms me. 012-6082510. Or my
email [email protected]
I am staying in Shah Alam.