Boring the TB

yes putting the itr intake manifold only oso can feel the diff especially on high rpm...
last time i got 12 atw hp increment by changing the open pod air filter & itr intake manifold + itr injector.

samco,
good itbs with proper chosen ems and good human tuning, its always good.

akuma,
theres too much risk involve in modding.u know and i know we all dun wanna be guinea pigs all the time, so to NOT-heartbreak ourselves, lets stick to whatever ppl are using relatively proven on our own malaysian track/drag scene. u can give super90 a call if you like big intakes, big TBs, big watercooled intercooler, everything is big lar. ha ha ha. aiyah, lets talk about 4-throttle when YOUR time comes. ha ha

hattech-v,
http://grabka.org/articles/injectorsize.php
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2087961
http://vtec.net/forums/one-message?message_id=22801
http://www.superhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?t=268460&page=2
http://www.terato.com/cars/content/view/216/38/
all these are random sites. the latter model of b-series injectors are saturated and high-impedence. so i guessed the type-r injectors are over-priced huh? hehe

integramania,
i guessed you are stuck in the "should i do or shouldnt i" mode now? worth or not worth its all about whether you wanna spend that extra money and also appreciate that tiny mod for future upgrades. again, it may be a 0.5whp increase which i think its still better than nothing. you cant compare these with other bigger mods as other bigger mods will take more money and more mods to be done. its all depends on your setup. u can trade-in your TB and probably get a used ITR TB cheaply. the choice is yours. similar to buying sport suspension spring, not too hard, not too low, not too high and not too soft. :p

J101, yes i think the price is overprice if its confirm that ctr n itr injector is the same. some wshop here in KL sell the b18cr injector for RM600. haha
let the price down.. hehe

hattech-v said:
yes putting the itr intake manifold only oso can feel the diff especially on high rpm...
last time i got 12 atw hp increment by changing the open pod air filter & itr intake manifold + itr injector.

wow 12 is pretty good man...cool:regular_smile:

J101,

Yup I fully agree....only if I can find someone who is willing to trade my TB with a ITR one....I also prefer not to port ler.....stock is da best....kakakaka

J101,
yada yada yada...hahahahha.......abt d injectors,i tot ITR > CTR?either sum1 told me abt it or i read it sumwhr....

integramania,
hehheheheehehe..............

n i do agree dat bolting on a Type R intake manifold will increase hp,espeically in d higher rpm..hey,a DOHC VTEC IS supposed 2 stay in d higher rpm range....hehehe....sigh..wish i haf d money 2 get a completer intake manifold+TB+injectors frm an ITR....

what's the difference with those tapered TBs then? (those with 68mm outer, tapering to 64mm at the butterfly valve)

What measurement do we take then? the outer? or the inner? From what my friends tell me, only the inner matters, but why the taper? venturi effect?

akuma,
only the prelude series has bigger injectors than the b-series, that is why they are commonly use for 2L setup.

shiroitenshi,
- tappered due to the fact they use back the ITR TB
- tappered due to the fact they dont make custom TB like STR or ERICKs that has 70mm butterfly and same ID and OD.
- tappered due to the fact that changing the butterfly and maximising the OD will involve some cost.
- if the japanese want big air-flowing they would have gone for ITBs.
- i never thought of the venturi effect but then again venturi would only benefits mid range and short track distance.

shiroitenshi said:
what's the difference with those tapered TBs then? (those with 68mm outer, tapering to 64mm at the butterfly valve)

What measurement do we take then? the outer? or the inner? From what my friends tell me, only the inner matters, but why the taper? venturi effect?

Tapered will give you more horsepower than equal size intake. Faster air flow.

J101 - Help me clear this one eg TB - 60mm ID, CTR TB - 60 or 62mm ID?

Spoon as u sed has the tappering on the intake....is this then better than taking a TB and borring the ID to the same from the front to the back since the venturri effect will be better? this way no nid to change the butterfly?

62mm is ONLY for ITR. By all means 96,97,98,99 or 00 spec ITRs. That is why SPOON took the ITR ones for their so-called SPOON TB. A big size to start with. They cant be taking some EF9 ones rite and start to bore from 58mm and mill to 64mm rite?

If your butterfly is right in the middle and you bore both ID and OD bigger than the butterfly, its gonna be a choking process and bottleneck isnt it? Then you have to custom a new butterfly that inccurs cost to it. Say, u want an OD/ID/Butterfly match to 68mm. Dont forget, the intakemanifold has to be 68 also.

Forget about the venturi system. What you want is more air. I know the venturi system increases air velocity but when you need that "too much" air, it chokes at the high rpm. That is why you dont seen venturi plates for sale nowadays. Its good for short distance track. They just want the burst power everytime track cars comes out from a corner.

If you plan to have best in everything then its gonna be a problem my friend.
Let me guess, u want to have a big OD and ID without changing the butterfly YET having a venturi system effect? :p

ps. im running on stock 60mm TB, when im dead bored then i run my quad throttles alternatively.

integramania said:
J101 - Help me clear this one eg TB - 60mm ID, CTR TB - 60 or 62mm ID?

Spoon as u sed has the tappering on the intake....is this then better than taking a TB and borring the ID to the same from the front to the back since the venturri effect will be better? this way no nid to change the butterfly?

j101,

for the usage of ITB, u must have a standalone ECU rite? so, wat do u have in hand or wat do u plan to use?

What i have is a fully custom chip to suit my quad application. Yes, i do plan to run with Haltech E8, but it is still too expensive. Maybe next year if budget permits.

xxxx said:
j101,

for the usage of ITB, u must have a standalone ECU rite? so, wat do u have in hand or wat do u plan to use?

J101...no lar i am a newbie when it comes to the TB stuff...i just wanna get the best bang for buck.....i think either i just kasi my eg one to be bored till 62mm or if I'm lucky get the ITR's one....

Alternatively I can stick with the 60mm stock and be happy...kakaka

Always knew tat the bfly had to be changed but reading your venturi theory got me thinking lor

4 throttle ah? thats crazy bro....street driven?

If I'm not mistaken B16A 60mm, CTR is 61.5mm, B18CR 64mm.

ha ha, debate is good, everyone is learning, i can be wrong sometimes.

i think what we wanna clear out is the commonly used TeRminoloGy.

- what do u use to measure?
make sure its a vernier caliper and not some primary 3 wooden ruler.

- TB positions?
the outside portion of the TB that goes to the air ram is OUTER position
the inside portion of the TB that goes to the intake is INNER potion

- TB ID ? OD? (plate dimension)
ID is the inner diametre circular measurement of the tube (convex caliper)
OD is the outer diametre circular measuremeant of the tube (concave caliper)

so now guys, how do u measure and where?

have a good day, ha ha.

Write your reply...