Pak Lah bashed Proton??

zan

from
http://www.thestaronline.com/news/story.asp?file=/2007/6/1/nation/17904200&sec=nation

Talk to other firms, Proton told

KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has asked Proton Holdings Bhd to start talks with other carmakers on a partnership because Volkswagen AG is not interested.

“I have made the decision that since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of the equity participation but they want cooperation in some other form, Proton can begin to talk to others,” the Prime Minister told reporters after chairing the Umno supreme council meeting last night.
Besides the German carmaker, US-based General Motors Corp had in the past expressed interest along with French PSA Peugeot SA to work with Proton.
When both the car manufacturers pulled out, Volkswagen became the forerunner.

However, the March 31 deadline to announce the strategic foreign partner of Proton passed without any development.
The Government’s investment arm, Khazanah Nasional Bhd, is offering its 38% equity in Proton for sale to save the carmaker from further losses.
Local automotive companies who have been eyeing a stake in Proton include Naza Group, Mofaz Group and DRB-Hicom Bhd.
Abdullah also called on Proton to do whatever necessary to turn around the national car industry.

It was announced yesterday that Proton’s net loss was RM591.4mil for the year ending March 31.
On whether there was a need to revamp the top management of Proton, Abdullah replied: “They have to do whatever is necessary.”

i think what Pak Lah actually mentioned was " You are on your own now..."

i mean, a net loss of RM591 mil over a year? that's 1.6 million per day!! sell goreng pisang also untung 2-3 ringgit per day.

who shall Proton turns to now...TATA? KIA motors?? goshh.... imagine new Proton Waja that is actually Kia Cerato underneath...

and if i am not mistaken, the facelifted Waja does look a bit like VW Touareg (Mk1). what are they thinking?? VW will fall for such cheap trick??

Image:Volkswagen Touareg.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

He is not a brilliant Prime Minister, isnt he?

Let Proton do business. When we let the businessmen do business, then everything will be just allright.

but then, these people will not let it happen because their fathers and relatives are proton sick vendors which produced bloody parts and confined the quality of the car right to the dustbin.

and also, re-construct the whole RnD department, because the way foward is the only way to turn Proton back into business.

If only I have billions on my hands now... I'll buy Proton and privatised it. Then watch me go!

proton is making loss...u dun need billions...
juz 591millino only
juz to pay the debt...then its urs
like like how they sell augusta..or perhaps u can buy for EURO 1 too
hahhahahah

these people will not let it happen because their fathers and relatives are proton sick vendors which produced bloody parts and confined the quality of the car right to the dustbin.

Yeah. I can see many of their saudara-maras going out of the window due to being incompetent once VW gains majority stake at Proton. Hence they want to remain in control.

Simple fact of the matter is they dont realise that Volkswagen will not allow its name to be jeopardised by allowing a bunch of wrong people to run their sub-company.

tutup kedai..mahathir very sad wan u know...

somemore....top gear sure laugh at proton finally tutupkedai own lotus somemore

hehehehe

Mahathir save money then buy Lotus ..wait Proton tutup then open Mahaton car hehe lotus tunning also :P

Proton ..i think is time to beg Mitsu ehhee ..

proton is making loss...u dun need billions...
juz 591millino only
juz to pay the debt...then its urs
like like how they sell augusta..or perhaps u can buy for EURO 1 too
hahhahahah

hohoho....

nope. need billions because not only want to turn proton around, but also bash several proton critics along the way! what a noble man i am.... :_:

euro 1? i've got RM72 in my wallet right now. lets go! simoncangwaimun would be the first CEO under my ownership.:shades_smile:

and ahhh..simon, u can have that petronas engines. 200+bhp u know.... and also R3.

hahahahahahahahahahaha....

ps- seriously, stop giving freebies to Proton and hope they will stay in business.

Mahathir save money then buy Lotus ..wait Proton tutup then open Mahaton car hehe lotus tunning also :P

Proton ..i think is time to beg Mitsu ehhee ..

i was thinking the same, actually. why not bring Lotus here, we got extra that tanah liat for modelling, right?

you take one Lotus Elise design, u do prototype on the tanah liat, and then just alter few things.

then, u twick Campro to deliver atleast 180bhp and u give proton badge on it.

erm..let say, Proton Elisa? Elisa Campro?

what i am trying to say is that, since we own Lotus, then why not use all the technology and few cues of their designs.

and I am sure, Proton will be good. but, design is one thing. reliability and quality is another matter, of course.

Come on!!!!!!

he is proposing it as like the AirAsia case eh ? lol ...

Proton, i loved ur putra, ur wira SE, ur satria, gti, r3 ... dun die on us ..

When you place monkeys in top management, we all get bananas.

With higher-priced competitors, as well as so much government subsidy + advertising, Proton can still somehow make a 591 Million loss in a year?

Must be the worst business people in the world.

i was thinking the same, actually. why not bring Lotus here, we got extra that tanah liat for modelling, right?

you take one Lotus Elise design, u do prototype on the tanah liat, and then just alter few things.

then, u twick Campro to deliver atleast 180bhp and u give proton badge on it.

erm..let say, Proton Elisa? Elisa Campro?

what i am trying to say is that, since we own Lotus, then why not use all the technology and few cues of their designs.

and I am sure, Proton will be good. but, design is one thing. reliability and quality is another matter, of course.

Come on!!!!!!

ya i totally agree, with Lotus at hand they should use it to the fullest.. just like Satria ..they let Lotus 'touch-touch' walaa ..Gti come out and selling like hotcakes ...

My opinions are Europeans car makers wanted to coorperate wit Proton also because of the Lotus tech.. but now all also hands off ..got evil plan gua ehehe ... Proton need take out their final weapon 'Lotus' if not sure lose until no blood..

When you place monkeys in top management, we all get bananas.

With higher-priced competitors, as well as so much government subsidy + advertising, Proton can still somehow make a 591 Million loss in a year?

Must be the worst business people in the world.

Look at their Savy ... the overall is a potiential seller ..but they make a milo tin head .. in many ppl's opinion it is fugly .. so Myvi gained the upper hand again .. i had high hopes on a TRM ..and yes ..the handling and interior is still okay ..but the Looks ..i dunno wat the designer doin ..drink to much milo izzit ..

actually .....i think its the TAX system dat is in serious doubts........tax structure for cars should be lowered......n opened....then ppl will have more better choices....proton.......survive or not.....will all depends on their real deal instead of protection......i sure if they can produce up to par cars...need not be a lexus....at least somedting of our local ckd branded makes... with the affordable price range....then they can survive better n prove themselves worthy....instead of rite now.....ppl rather spend more to buy a ckd than a proton...the name has tarnished......its worst than quality n pricing......

it's not whther or not Proton wants to talk with other makers.....
it's whether or not other car makers wants to talk with Proton....
kekekekeke....

proton is advertised in Lotus' webpage:
Proton
kekekeke

we got Campro wor; which is a technology from Lotus, just that we haven't really properly utilised it.

what a joke!

lower taxation would kill off Proton instantly considering their reputations towards ctizens.. so a logical solution is to have jap makers like Mitsu to support as to gain back the conficence of malaysians...

ya we have Campro w/o CPS campro lol ..and most importatnly the outlook designs .. look at savy.. u wan savy or myvi ? ehehhe

can't really blame it on tax, as perodua's doing so well wit a silly almost 50k small car. And ppl can still afford more xpensive rival manufacturers..

so itz all about the damn car... they should just fucking put some passion and commonsenses into it..