engine overhaul

If running rich, any method to tune it down? Through ECU setting?

Like bro Izso said, there might be exhaust leak somewhere or some fail seals thus bad fuel economy. Maybe you can try cleaning your tb like he said...Cause stock car and ecu won't run rich till that extend.. I'm just guessing will need sifus to confirm

Sent from my SM-G7102 using Tapatalk

Like bro Izso said, there might be exhaust leak somewhere or some fail seals thus bad fuel economy. Maybe you can try cleaning your tb like he said...Cause stock car and ecu won't run rich till that extend.. I'm just guessing will need sifus to confirm

Sent from my SM-G7102 using Tapatalk

The thing is after warm up no more smell, that is why I think more to cold start rich mixture.....:driver:

Remind me again what model is your 4G16 Renesis? MMC or Siemens?

Back in the day my car never had that kind of rich-petrol-fume smell. It had a bit but not to the extent it'll make you nauseous like yours. And the smell dissipated very quickly. I'm thinking the initial startup running rich is either because of your plugs, plug cables, coil or your O2 sensor. Got money change them all if you haven't already sometime earlier. These things all are wear and tear

Pullout your spark plug and check the color or gap and insulator. If the color was dark brown or black. Your air fuel mixture was rich adjustment... If it have oil and carbon deposits. You need to TOH your engine.

Remind me again what model is your 4G16 Renesis? MMC or Siemens?

Back in the day my car never had that kind of rich-petrol-fume smell. It had a bit but not to the extent it'll make you nauseous like yours. And the smell dissipated very quickly. I'm thinking the initial startup running rich is either because of your plugs, plug cables, coil or your O2 sensor. Got money change them all if you haven't already sometime earlier. These things all are wear and tear

MMC. The smell in my car seems to go on for quite some time until the engine has been warmed up. For example, if I have went out for a drive and come back to my house, there is no noticeable smell from the exhaust even when I am kneeling down next to the exhaust. Only when during cold startup, the smell seems to be everywhere.

but he said bad fuel economy compare to the same model auto's woh...something is not right somewhere..just guessing :biggrin:

Seems quite bad because when I pump full tank, I only got around 280km mileage or so and it is nearing the end of the fuel gauge. Below the last bar but fuel light haven't start blinking yet. I heard some people can achieve 300km with auto...

One day trip to pj :rofl: :rofl:

Going to PJ on tomorrow. Following family, without my car. :rofl:

MMC. The smell in my car seems to go on for quite some time until the engine has been warmed up. For example, if I have went out for a drive and come back to my house, there is no noticeable smell from the exhaust even when I am kneeling down next to the exhaust. Only when during cold startup, the smell seems to be everywhere.

Seems quite bad because when I pump full tank, I only got around 280km mileage or so and it is nearing the end of the fuel gauge. Below the last bar but fuel light haven't start blinking yet. I heard some people can achieve 300km with auto...

Full tank do 280km, like my VR woh!......fuh!:smokin:

Hmm...my old 4g91 (1.5) with kinda bad valve body can do 300km driven heavy footed lol...yours is manual right? can start with basics like clogged cat con, plugs, clean tb etc.. just my 2cents :biggrin:

well you can always plan a trip to pj on your own :biggrin::biggrin:

Hmm...my old 4g91 (1.5) with kinda bad valve body can do 300km driven heavy footed lol...yours is manual right? can start with basics like clogged cat con, plugs, clean tb etc.. just my 2cents :biggrin:

well you can always plan a trip to pj on your own :biggrin::biggrin:

I guess my FC really sucks then. If on city driving, FC is even worse. Throttle body seems ok the last time I checked it. Will change the plugs soon since that is the cheapest.

attachment.php

• DSCF6966.jpg
    DSCF6966.jpg
    107.9 KB · Views: 269

Sounds like your car needs some tuning.

older engine very tahan ...even proton's one...e.g my brother 4G93p 550k km never overhaul before...