Overhaul Engine Vs Engine Replacement

hou yeh!! sifu acoustic gonna have a new buddy oledy.. rising gang of FR modders to kick ALL OUR FF asses into the longkang soon! be it LE, SE or SEG.. watch out! :lol:

i bet acoustic very happy now :P

:lol: acoustic's website really got influence one lar.. before this i can't find good site on KE70 mod as good as his. ppl no interest in modding KE70 also gatal gatal liau..

Finally all regtration done and i will collect my car tomorrow.. now redy to join TT with you guy to learn more about the car.. :D :rolleyes:

Originally posted by kenlevin86@Jan 10 2005, 22:13
Get the lsd service .. change ger oil as it create sound when taking connering... after treatment... still have the sound but reduce abit from before.. as what my mech describe...
My TRD 2-way LSD no sound.

But last time when use the oil from mobil 1 fully synthetic gear / differential oil 75w-90 got sound.

After add LSD additive from Trans X no sound for 1 week.

After 1 week when deceleration can hear slight chatter :(

Open check oil, all black, lots of debris :(

Quickly change to Motul 90PA, completely no sound.

Castrol LSX SAE90 no sound, but oil black after 1,000 km

Best combination so far is SAE140 + Trans X LSD Additive. After 8,000 km oil still gold color but got debris lah.

DON'T LET THE LSD MAKE NOISE EVER.

Originally posted by kenlevin86@Jan 10 2005, 22:13
Sill have not yet go to Puspakom for inspection... heard so many bad thing now :huh: :huh: ....from one of the runner... :blink:
Don't ever use runner and don't ever believe runner. It's their rice bowl. They will make story even when there's no problem.

Originally posted by rollakid@Jan 10 2005, 22:45
part 1

btw i heard the LSD usually make noice one, dunno true or not.

part 2

if got money can get new LSD for AE86 from TRD. but the price can make ppl faint one, can buy new engine already.
part 1 = NOT TRUE.

part 2 = LSD for AE86 basically have 2 category.

1st category is OEM.

2nd category is aftermarket.

Aftermarket got at least 3 brands

A) TRD
B) Cusco
C) KAZZ or was it KAAZ or was it KAZZA or was it KAAZA :)

Anyway, I've got a OEM LSD overhaul kit for sale. RM436 see http://www.my-acoustic.com/Car/Rear_Axle/LSD_Rebuilt/LSD_parts_analysis.htm

All new and unused.

why need to sell? because I thought my LSD was OEM :) so I bought the wrong ones.

BTW if you have OEM LSD and buys this set from me, I will teach you how to improve OEM LSD performance :) hehehhehehe

to AE80typeD = no lah, happy got more kaki, but we won't be pushing the FF away, it's nice to have a variety of different cars.

to rollakid = thanks

kenlevin86 = yeah, can't wait to see your car and drive you car :) hope you are willing to let me test drive :) share share experience.

I don't know how to do drifting BTW. Sorry to dissapoint you.

to 20vturbo = I just drove a stock KE70 recently. I was happily reving around 5k rpm round town :) - even without engine upgrade, even without suspension whatsoever.

So, don't say your KE70 stupid. Be glad that you even have a car to drive. Some more is KE70 elder brother to AE86. Should be dam happy and dam proud already.

aiyo,sorry ke70 taiko...i go wash the car and wax now..heheh.altough it was such and old car,but i got lots of memories and sentimental value as i grow up with that car,from way 1980's wah,so sad aaahh..hehe. about lsd unit making sound,my cousin bought one ef9 halfcut where the previous owner use it
for track,come equip with lsd.according to his mech,the previous owner from japan had lock the lsd to make it full??? i also have no idea..but when he come out from junction,if slow got klek...klek..klek..sound..not from driveshaft ooo,but from inside the gearbox. erm,anyone can clarify?

Hahaha, now that you tell me you grow up with the KE70 - that makes it even more value.

So did I with my mom's KE70.

I remember the days when she was driving like nobodies business like gangster style going out of the junction have to slowly move the car head forward to stop the other cars. Hahahha I so happy learn that.

I also remember her driving style of stepping on the accelerator steadily into a turn and out of a turn so that constant speed / small amount of acceleration will hold us to the back of the seat and we won't feel thrown out of the car much.

It's a very nice feeling and I treasure that memory of my mom very much.

Your LSD I don't know lah. You open once to check and remember to take picture lah.

as for mine,that ke70 actually belongs to my granpa..he abandon the car and said doesn't want to drive anymore..btw,he's sick now.

erm,remember when i was in primary school,he use to brought me each week to the sea side,i was a kid,noob,dunno anything,simply ask him "langgar air lah",so with a simile on his face,go and langgar the sea water.then at the evening,i will see him wash the car...hehe..also always follow him to town buy groceries,remember he only use until second gear from the house until the shop.the engine roaring so loud, and he doesn't even care...why?
because he's hearing is not good anymore..heheh.

even now,i went to buy groceries,people made fun of his car.

one guy driving modded putra park beside the corolla,throw up words at it and he doesn;t even know the driver was beside him in the shop..altough he was right,yeah i admit it was an old car,and my heart was touch to see such an insult to it..

anyway,after all these came to my mind,i realized why some people doesn't want to sell their scrap beetle,mini and other classic cars...hmm

need to overhall... liao... i got one friends. drive corolla 1.8 KE70 original .. due to his car accident..total loss. only left engine and some part's still available. sell you cheap cheap ... want ? contact me lah... 012-2231135 ... the engine just overhall and change new piston. 100% work condition.

:D so many ppl's KE70 got nice memory and history... come to think about it my KE70 is my parent's wedding car :lol: still remember saw a pic of the car in monocrome yelowish photo, with all the ribbons and flowers and my parents stand in front of it :)

then my dad gave the car to my mom (let her drive nia.. ) and my mom bought my dad a nissan 130y. and hey acoustic.. my mom also like your mom lar drive like nobody's business, speed at 120km in narrow road (at least thats what she told me, dunno about speed back then), and once fall into a mud drain less than 100 yards away from home, have to call the tow truck.. i wasn't born yet.

what i remember is that when there's alot of ppl in the car, i was always forced to sit in the middle at the rear seat. those KE70 owner should know lar.. 10 minutes enough for you to cry out "telur sakit" liau :lol:

my dad also a car freak like me, probably it runs in the family, he use to collect old car magazine and catalog, and still have an issue of local toyota magazine of the year 1986. he like cars so much that he polish it until you can see the undercoat paint :ph34r:

fuiyoh.. he use to tell me how proud he is when he bought the car, say its the newest thing in town, like sport car that time :huh: dunno lar.. but now i'm proud to drive that old school car B) but have to thanks to my dad lar for the care he give the car, or else i'll be driving a pile of rust by now :lol:

dunno will the car last for another 25 years or not so i can gave it to my kid next time :D

Now my ke70 parked in my garage.. :D ... today go to workshop and get the registration cr and go to insurance company for endorsement.. add another rm20 for the endorsement..... tomorrow will go to jpj wanga maju for new road tax....

anyway after driving the car.. the only problem is the sound from the LSD... when cornering... clik clik sound come out.... when press the pedal.. the "dengung" sound all the way to like on the track racing racing.. the lsd actually from a trueno use to be in the track. and the lsd is racing spec.. base on my mechanic... the lsd is full load... he will ask the taukey from potong shop for another replacement.. need to wait for the taukey as the taukey are in japan now.. hope by next week he will be in m'sia.. all his workers.. don't have authority to give other lsd... so for now. i will use it until the taukey come back to m'sia laa... hopefully he agreed tpo replace the lsd.... i dunno what brand the lsd.. oem or after market ... .. :huh:

One more the suspension is very uncomfortable on rough road... as i use to compare it to standard iswara and my other ride citroen xantia with hydraulic suspension.... the fron suspension seem okey.. acceptable but the rear one.. need to replace the absorber to the better one.. i'm using standard ke70 abs ( gas type KYB) as the ori ae86 is too short for ke70...

My ke70 is from my late father.. bought it in 1983.. i learn driving with this car since 1986... ori engine is realy cheap to maintain and my max speed with ori engine was 170kph.... same as you guys.. my ke70 have a lot of memories and sentimental values.....

Acoustic.. sure can.. you can test drive my car when we meet.. but this fridaay tt .. i don't think i can't make it as I have l2tt group tt(citroen car) at the same day and time.. I'm one of the founders.. so have to be there laa... but maybe can drop by for 1 hour... as i have onother important agenda at l2tt group.... if tt is on other day.. that is possible to join...

acoustic,

just put the story lah..hehe..

kenlevin86,

my cousin ef9 dohc vtec with lsd also got that type of sound..kelk..kelk..the mech says full lsd..but after put lsd oil,few days after that no more...