Which First?

beyond

G Evening guys. Was thinking of buying a new 'second hand' car to replace my old AE101 SEG. Been thinking bout Camry. But looks like my wallet wont allow that purchase yet. So I decided to restore my old AE101. The paintwork is beyond dead and banged here and there. Engine is stock BT. I have plans to repaint the car from Metallic Pearl Red to Solid White. Also have plans to do a full overhaul. But I am undecided which to do first. Should I do the mechanical part first or exterior first.

Exterior plan:
- Bought new Taiwan Smoked Lights. My old Ori Koito is very yellowish.
- Bought US spec Rear Lights.
- Dug out the ori SEG bumper lips
- Dug out the Levin side skirts
- Repaint the whole car to white and the after a month Sierraglow it.

Mechanical plan:
- Full overhaul (Roughly how much? I wanted to do top overhaul, but my mech said better do full. Was quoted under RM2.5k)
- Adjustable Cam pulleys?
- New sets of Spark Plugs
- Replace the wiper motor? Its getting weak. Anyone knows where to get the motor?
- Exedy Clutch?

Exhaust:
- Remove the Tanabe and opt for something quieter.
- Get a proper Header

But before all that..What to do first?

easy... do ur engine first then only your body work. why? the reason is straight forward. u don't want your mechanic to damage your paint job during overhaul. :)

Is this the wiper motor you're referring to?? I'm selling it for RM80 including postage.

It's taken out from my AE100 (not halfcut item) cos when i swap engine, mechanic install everything from the halfcut.

PM me or call 0128831808 if interested.

• P1020435.JPG
    P1020435.JPG
    144.7 KB · Views: 88
1st do this...

Mechanical plan:
- Full overhaul - workmanship only around 1.5 K (good workmanship) without spray engine bay..not including port/polish
- overhauls set kit - very hard to find nowday - wing hing quote rm500 ++..but no stock wait another 2 months
- trd metal gasket rm300 +
- complete acl/king bearing - 650 ++
- Adjustable Cam pulleys (for what purpose..if stock cam no need lor) rm 1k ++
- New sets of Spark Plugs - ik20/22 rm 180
- timing belt - oem dunno price..toda rm500++
- tensional bearing - cant remember price
- - Exedy Clutch? full set rm 950.00 without bearing..bearing itself around rm70.00
- engine oil..
- water pump
- all belting
- gearbox oil
- termostat
- trumpet/open port..
- fuel pump
- fpr
- hose
- brake pad front / rear
- suspension
- header/exhaust..

at same time sent body for paint work/repair/ketuk/etc..better workshop side by side..easy..

if u buy new car......start over the installment......its like u r working for bank......."installment=pain plan"......haha:banghead:

---------- Post added at 01:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:00 PM ----------

send to E & T, damai perdana.....reasonable price.....no invisible cost......BUT hav to see wether he's free.......

Honestly. For those who changes cars every few years, it s like renting a car.

Nappx, thanks for the guidelines. Where to look for a overhaul kit now?

Funny thing. My mech, he said if tak makan oil then no need to do overhaul. My ride is kinda sluggish. Not so responsive as the day I did the transplant.

[QUOTE;at same time sent body for paint work/repair/ketuk/etc..better workshop side by side..easy..[/QUOTE]

aiii...u mean wanna promote him to sent his ride to HAZ garage? as far as l know, next shop to HAZ garage is paint/ketuk shop...haiya, got kamsen ka nappx?:rofl:hehehehe

yup, better do a full overhaul to juiced/revived the potential of ur engine....
Last time when l do the full overhaul the costs(2010) are as below:
*ACL main&conrod bearing(not racing series)-RM 3xx
*TRD metal gasket from wing hin-RM 320
*Ori toyota full overhaul kit from wing hin-RM 380
*RIK piston ring-RM 180
*labour cost for overhauling in alor setar-RM 1200

that's all l can remember...to eliminate the sluggishness, u could try to clean ur injector and change the fuel filter to allow smooth path of fuel from the tank to the engine.

Thanks bros. today damn sueh. I ter reversed my other stock SEG onto a pillar. The bumper got dislodged.