Originally posted by AE80TypeD@Jan 13 2005, 16:26
unless u have done all that i have advised above, (which u may explain in ur next post hating me :lol:) i personally dont think u are ready to know which 4AG u want, and whether u should transplant at all. thats why ppl in here call me the newbie frightener... MUAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA
:lol: me also newbie why you didn't come frighten me?
fritz,
if you dunno what to mod with 4k ringgit, then best if you make more friends with all the sifoo here lor. IMHO its best for someone to learn more about car modification first and come up with a modification plan instead of just asking for advice from sifoo directly. I think this way because you are you, and the sifoos are the sifoos, everybody's driving style and condition is different. Learn more and mod the car to suit YOUR driving.
Trust me you can learn very very fast by just listening to what the sifoo's here got to say ^_^ i also join not long ago when acoustic sifoo tell me i can learn alot of things here and there will be alot of ppl who would help me (and also confuse me
i'm also still a student, dreaming of driving a faster car. Got interested in moding with 2 main reason. first is my engine almost kong liau, second is kena initial d bug + i got an FR car :lol: . lucky i found these guys and learn that i make alot of stupid mistake on making modification decision. so now take the chance to learn as much as posible while i collect money.
my humble opinion on your mods: ;)
you say you won't want to race. Then why you want a 4ag transplant? 4af is already fast enough for practical non-racing use IMO. wouldn't 4ag(z)e a little bit waste for practical daily driving use? dun forget also, IMO engine from halfcut doesn't always be in good condition. Except for 20v blacktop, other 4ag are just as old as your 4af, and remember those are engine with racing potential, which mean they might be raced before, and also mean it might cost you alot to rebuild it pretty soon. So if you say you don't race (and you really mean it), and i asume you don't really need so much extra power, wouldn't it be more worth it if you just rebuild your current engine?
IMO if you rebuild your current engine, tho you only get abit improvement in performance becuz of the new parts, you get a newly rebuild engine, its new, will last for some time. If you use the same amount of money for rebuilding engine to get a 4age, sure you get more power compare to your 4af, but its an old engine, probably in the same state as your 4af, and since you used up the money for a conversion, where do you get the money to rebuild/overhaul the 4ag you just bought when it brakes down? Ask sifoo AE80typeD lar.. he told me his 4ag got lots of problem when just installed. Before that i thought all engine imported is good condition.. not anymore.
Or just go and upgrade your tire and suspension? Tire is the only thing that connect your car to the ground, don't you think thats important? formula 1 say 30% of the car performance rely on the tire. dun forget about your suspension, a good set of suspension not only improve comfort, safety, but also performance. with a good susupension you can accelerate faster, decelerate faster, and go around corner faster and more stable(learned form acoustic sifoo, and everybody know what he would say when it come to this).
power is nothing without control. so control come first, then power, unless you are so rich that you do both at once. don't forget safety too. :) :lol: