Need some comments from experienced one...

wah... "WASTE $ for suspension"!! tukar engine buta2 not considered waste!

this one i got nothing more to say..

everybody says they wont race.. once they get a happy revvy engine like the 4AGE... hmph... no point telling ppl who duwan to believe... waste my words typing oso :P

up to u lor.. i dowan to say any more :) good luck and enjoy learning the hard way! (or hope u r a lucky person ;))

AE80TypeD...dun get so angry....calm down...
For me is not waste..for my dad..he might feel tht..
Hm...can u list out roughly wat i can do first? i mean by using roughly 4-5k? Hope to get advice from u all sifu la...i dun wan to knock my head to the wood gau gau..!
Dun get so upset...i listen to taiko's advice...u hope can get to know u all this sifu also....but can i ask something stupid? If i buy halfcut...the suspension still can use? or is it good enuf? i guess the answer should be NO...just a stupid question...

Hahaha....dah kena bantai.... ;)

It might be a problem since the car is not "yours" but then you can also reason that its money well spent just based on how you wanna phrase your words.How would you reason an engine transplant, with more ponnies???....unless your dad is ultra cool abt the current race scene the I dunno la!
YES, some of the suspensions from half cuts can be reused or fitted into your car when you do the transplant. BUT, remember that these are USED items of which its condition or future durability is uncertain. Purchasing a halfcut and hoping to reuse some of the consumables (timing belt, suspension, springs, brakes etc) is like lottery, you damn kow lucky you kena jackpot lo, can even get performance parts like cams and racing clutch also ;) , else be prepared to purchase them seperately ;extra cost above the half cut coz you will generally know this only upon detailed inspection by your designated mechanic).

ABout the rm4k..still not confirm can get it..im still considering what can i do wit tht SEG and i try to ask tht for my 21st bd. My dad told me tht he wanna change engine coz u know wat..my car is 12 years old!

Is your engine giving you issues or is your itchy behind giving you issues??? :rolleyes:

If you ultimately decide for 4A-GZE, its gonna be just as old or older. ;)

B)

emmmm....

actually,r u sure and confirm u will never go to track???as what sifu typed say......i will totally agree.......suspension is the most important thing...

but in ur case abit susah....soo many thing to do with so little money.....

emmm what if u spent 2k on suspension or less..and another 2k ..rebuild your old trustworthy 4afe........no one dare to say 4afe is not good...its just an engine with diff design in mind..not like 4age...............

to answer ur Q..yeap......with hcut,all the absorber still can be use bolt on with disc and knuckle too......

masterD,
heheehehe im not a doctor ler........but this is what i feel.......remember 1st year u play car...........and the 2nd year u play......im sure theres alot of diff.....i mean in knowledge and car power of coz........hehehehheheheh but at one point..gehehhe it will stuck there..like know everything already..except when later more high level sifu will come and ketuk ur head and tell you this is the correct way to do it....hence thats why we got ACOUSTIC.hahahahha ^_^ ^_^ ;) :P :D :lol:

My dad dun really like watever race event or cars. But he wan to make tht toyota to a better condition but deal to $ problem...so wat he say he can is buy a half-cut n try to replace as much things he can and also...its me who request a higher performance engine for tht car coz i do hope to hav xtra ponnies as wat u said! haha....

Hm..actually do u ( Master D ) has any suggestions for me? Im quite confuse as i dun really know where should i start from and i must cleverly use tht 4-5K n not regret about it. Hope to get advice from u.... :D

get 4age 20v auto .. your father happy .. you happy .. both also satisfied ... B)

Originally posted by fritz@Jan 13 2005, 18:32
AE80TypeD...dun get so angry....calm down...
For me is not waste..for my dad..he might feel tht..
Hm...can u list out roughly wat i can do first? i mean by using roughly 4-5k? Hope to get advice from u all sifu la...i dun wan to knock my head to the wood gau gau..!
Dun get so upset...i listen to taiko's advice...u hope can get to know u all this sifu also....but can i ask something stupid? If i buy halfcut...the suspension still can use? or is it good enuf? i guess the answer should be NO...just a stupid question...
aiya i dun know u oso what for i get angry! its ur money bro :lol: i oledy said that if u think u want to gamble ahead without preparation in KNOWLEDGE dont regret it of problems keep cropping up and make u learn ur lessons abt 4AGs the hard way lorr! dont say that time that nobody warned u b4 :P

me oso not that much older than u, in fact i am oso still studying. i oso kena tiu oledy wat... coz i advise u like bagus only when in fact i oso still using stock halfcut suspension and go whack here whack there then kena tapau in the corners by GT20V (his car fast wooor) there u go la.. free2 kenak tiao coz i myself wasted money on 2 halfcuts but never upgrade handling coz i always phek corner oso..

THE STOCK SUSPENSIONS ARE NOT GOOD ENUFF if u drive fast and usually lose to young blood. trust me. im only 23.

im not purposely dissing u or anything. the thing is i oso said wat u said b4; "I wont race one mah!! i just want new engine only, so easier to maintain!"

see now where i am? always kena speedtrap and always nearly causing accident bcoz of our young blood. u think u will be able to control urself but u'll find out its harder than u think, especially at 21. think abt it when u finally get ur engine. see if u never ever go above 120kmh if a stupid rude driver kacau u :P

rileks la bro.. me oso still learning and kantoi with real sifu2 oledy :lol: if u really can manage not to "drive fast" (of cos we never "RACE") :lol: i respect u lah.. now only i realize my mistake in spending and mistake never asking and befriending ppl who got contacts and experience b4.. now struggling to save buy proper suspension that safely allow me to phek corner faster.

yolk san is very right... u claim u dun race, then get an auto.. everyone will be happy.. jam in town oso no problem, and not much more difficult to maintain, no? ;) hehehe no worries dude.. peace

Sifooo Zul,

yeah,we are all learning...all made mistakes before.Hard earned money gone...hahaha :lol: Actually I'm waiting for the rest of the seniors to give their opinions too,this is a good topic.

fritz,

If I were you, I'd ask myself what I really want to do with the car, you must have a goal or target set and then work within the parimeters of your budget (which I must again say is not too great an amount, but still you can do lots with it depending on your expectations).Do lots of reading to understand what different after market parts are available, their reviews and their prices. From there you have an estimation of what the outcome should be like and you wont be disappointed.

An engine transplant is not the answer to all "I'm sick of my car" problems. You would be suprised at how many of our members here drive relatively stock (non transplanted) cars which are trouble free.....trust me you do not wanna have to spend a couple of hundred bucks a month just to FIX your ill-transplanted engine. Since yours is a family car, I suggest you think of practicality as well as durability. You can ask the guys here to tell you their "I make a bi-monthly visit to the workshop" stories. ;)

So, engine wise, SIFOO yolk's suggestion is good! Think abt it and read up.....

I suggest you join the guys for their TT (teh tarik) sessions if you can, clear your doubts there...dun worry,.....we dont bite! B)

GT20v Posted on Jan 13 2005, 19:19
hahahah i kena ignore.

hahahhaahaa

Not everyone can understand Professor talk one....hahaha told you rite!!!!?????

:lol: :lol: :lol:

:ph34r:

Gt20v..who ignore u?!?
Get auto? my car currently is manual..change to auto?

Actually Ae80typeD is rite la..we sure SPEED..althought im with my stupid 1.5L..i also speed. Actually wat i hope to hav from my car is ofcoz more power la...but as masterD mentioned..i can use 2K to touch up my old 4afe...how? ;)

I hope i can be fren wit u all these sifu-s.....can know more stuff from u all...
n if i say im scared of phek corners...should i hav a nice suspension?!hehe.... :D :P

Actually Ae80typeD is rite la..we sure SPEED..althought im with my stupid 1.5L..i also speed. Actually wat i hope to hav from my car is ofcoz more power la...

ARRRRRRRR..see see....the tanduk sudah muncul!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol: :D :P ;)

Speed is nothing without control bro..... ;)

SOrry tai kor..i just say young ppl loves to speed. I know...suspension is a important things to change first.
Actually GT20v said take 2k for suspension , another 2k for touching up the old 4afe...how do u all think?! but...wat can i do to the 4afe after changing the suspension? ;)

hi fritz ...

i also want to give some advice lor .. but i'm not sifu ... base on my experience la ... actually ur a lucky get a car even u still study .. that already good enough 4 u ... me have to study day & night for 4 years ... just to get good result so can good job .. then "kerja" like hell... OT summore save money to buy a SEG car :D .... then "kerja" like hell save money to buy halfcut ...

ur are lucky ur dad sponsor the $$$ ...so u dont fell da pain like other sifu here ... hope ur all know what i'm saying here ... actually all the sifu here said is true.. better spend da money to improve ur car first ... like suspension, brake and whatever la ... important thing improve ur skill on driving .. ur la now days so many crazy people on the road ... learn how to DRIVE SAFELY ...

on modification i leave it to other sifus here ... they are more "know how" then me ... hope this will help ur decide "what to do" and 'what not" .... :D

p.g...thankz for ur advice..i know im lucky to hav support from my dad. THts y im trying to use the $$ wisely...so i ask for advice. Now i know suspension is important..i need to know how can i improve it...

Originally posted by AE80TypeD@Jan 13 2005, 16:26
unless u have done all that i have advised above, (which u may explain in ur next post hating me :lol:) i personally dont think u are ready to know which 4AG u want, and whether u should transplant at all. thats why ppl in here call me the newbie frightener... MUAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA

:lol: me also newbie why you didn't come frighten me?

fritz,

if you dunno what to mod with 4k ringgit, then best if you make more friends with all the sifoo here lor. IMHO its best for someone to learn more about car modification first and come up with a modification plan instead of just asking for advice from sifoo directly. I think this way because you are you, and the sifoos are the sifoos, everybody's driving style and condition is different. Learn more and mod the car to suit YOUR driving.

Trust me you can learn very very fast by just listening to what the sifoo's here got to say ^_^ i also join not long ago when acoustic sifoo tell me i can learn alot of things here and there will be alot of ppl who would help me (and also confuse me
i'm also still a student, dreaming of driving a faster car. Got interested in moding with 2 main reason. first is my engine almost kong liau, second is kena initial d bug + i got an FR car :lol: . lucky i found these guys and learn that i make alot of stupid mistake on making modification decision. so now take the chance to learn as much as posible while i collect money.

my humble opinion on your mods: ;)

you say you won't want to race. Then why you want a 4ag transplant? 4af is already fast enough for practical non-racing use IMO. wouldn't 4ag(z)e a little bit waste for practical daily driving use? dun forget also, IMO engine from halfcut doesn't always be in good condition. Except for 20v blacktop, other 4ag are just as old as your 4af, and remember those are engine with racing potential, which mean they might be raced before, and also mean it might cost you alot to rebuild it pretty soon. So if you say you don't race (and you really mean it), and i asume you don't really need so much extra power, wouldn't it be more worth it if you just rebuild your current engine?

IMO if you rebuild your current engine, tho you only get abit improvement in performance becuz of the new parts, you get a newly rebuild engine, its new, will last for some time. If you use the same amount of money for rebuilding engine to get a 4age, sure you get more power compare to your 4af, but its an old engine, probably in the same state as your 4af, and since you used up the money for a conversion, where do you get the money to rebuild/overhaul the 4ag you just bought when it brakes down? Ask sifoo AE80typeD lar.. he told me his 4ag got lots of problem when just installed. Before that i thought all engine imported is good condition.. not anymore.

Or just go and upgrade your tire and suspension? Tire is the only thing that connect your car to the ground, don't you think thats important? formula 1 say 30% of the car performance rely on the tire. dun forget about your suspension, a good set of suspension not only improve comfort, safety, but also performance. with a good susupension you can accelerate faster, decelerate faster, and go around corner faster and more stable(learned form acoustic sifoo, and everybody know what he would say when it come to this).

power is nothing without control. so control come first, then power, unless you are so rich that you do both at once. don't forget safety too. :) :lol:

TITAN? har?......one word?hehe...

GT20v....
What can i do to the old 4afe?