Overheating Engine

still trying to figure out what's the problem .
and yeah, using that thick engine oil, i'll fell a bit sluggish man .
i like 10w-40 .
can really feel a bit lighter on the rev .

im using castrol magnatec 10w-40 semi synthetic .
i just noticed, that i had to pour in almost a liter after 3000 KM .

and when i turn off engine, sounds like some sort of water droplet into the exhaust pipe .
can hear dropping then psssstttt sound like evaporation .

U sure that is not aircon water sound?

will have to ask the foreman to listen i guess .
aircond water is a bit far from the pipe isn't it ?
more like at the side of oil pan or something .
can't really give definite answer. its just listening by ears .
however, i do notice wet surface near my left drive shaft .
will have to check the oil pan for any sort of leakage .
1liter of engine oil for 3000 KM is a lot man .

oh alright .
thanks for the tips .
yeah its a bit like popping sound or something like that .
its normal eh ?

anyway, i've checked this morning, i think i've overpoured my engine oil, going way above the full lvl .
is it ok ?
cause when the engine is running, it'll drop to its optimum below full level .

oh alright .
thanks for the tips .
yeah its a bit like popping sound or something like that .
its normal eh ?

anyway, i've checked this morning, i think i've overpoured my engine oil, going way above the full lvl .
is it ok ?
cause when the engine is running, it'll drop to its optimum below full level .

the most accurate is measure it early in the morning....

normally we fill bout 90% of FULL....

over 100% is like overkilled if u ask me

I always ask the mech to fill up 75% only when service. But when I check, always more than 100% :banghead:

yeah i did it by mistake .
went to the shop and went back home and turn off the engine .
see the level is below full .
fill a bit and it was just nice below the full lvl .

but this morning check before cold start, it was way above full T_T .
doesn't do any damage isn't it ?

so i guess i'm back around 300ml topup after 3000km .
did this my mistake

---------- Post added at 02:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

yeah i did it by mistake .
went to the shop and went back home and turn off the engine .
see the level is below full .
fill a bit and it was just nice below the full lvl .

but this morning check before cold start, it was way above full T_T .
doesn't do any damage isn't it ?

so i guess i'm back around 300ml topup after 3000km .
did this my mistake

overfilled little bit still acceptable eventhough its not suggested

if too much then hv to drain it out

why im so sensitive with this because i kaboom evo engine last time because of overfilled

for real ?
overfill could kaboom that thing ?
woahhhh now i have to drain it -_-"
so tedious if draining it out !

anyway, the measurement of full engine oil needs to be done during cold engine right ?
just to make sure .

not during running engine ?
during running engine, the bar is exactly at the full level .
once the engine cooldown, it goes above full .

Lol... First time I heard... Overfill can cause such an expensive accident.

it is actually .
the crankshaft could hit the engine oil and create bubbles or something .
flowing the bubble means flowing air into the system could lead to major engine failure .

but right now when the engine is running, my engine oil level is at full .
so the question is it ok ?
so far i've been driving around 30-40km still no weird sound and dont really feel any lost power and whatnot .

so should i drain it out or what ?

if just slightly overfilled its ok....myself is over 1Liter i think...lolz....and going uphill...and kaboom. im just 18yrs tat time

oh mai !
That's bad dude !
like super bad .
evo pulak -_-"
anyway, will see first later how .
so far its okay .

maybe i'll drain a lil bit this weekend .

The real way to check engine oil is to let the oil circulate around the engine first (on for few minutes), then turn the engine off and then check the level.

The instructions are on the Toyota Oil Filter box.

NA engine won't kaboom, it will just blow out a seal if you overfill alot.

so, do we have to wait until the temperature is at it optimum lvl then check the level ?
if its at full, its ok ?

i mean after temperature optimum then turn off engine

go for few engine runs (from here to there), park, switch off engine then wait for 10 minutes before check the oil level...

that's new to me .
I used to do the checking during cold engine .
when the fluids are all down in the oil pan.