change engine or overhaul engine

i own a toyota LE 1.3 year 1984. the car engine nowadays got some problem. the engine's problem is that it eat alot of engine oil then also got leakage for engine oil. so now i need to something to the engine. got some ppl said change engine then got smoe ppl said overhaul. so which wan is better n wats the cost for changing the engine or overhaul it. can i get soem idea from u guys. then if change engine is that the condition of that so call new engine is in good condition. i heard it is a recond engine. pls give some suggestion. thatnkss

bro, u can alwis ask the sifu at Toyota thread...if u hv the budget then go for levin engine which is more reliable..if not then just go for overhaul...mostly ppl will change engine...currently im driving LE 1.6 stock standard..so far so good for my engine..nuthing goes wrong...u can can check with Toyota sifu there as they might give u better idea...

Good luck...

i believe simply by doing top overhaul will solve the prob. once u had the cylinder head removed check whether piston ring need to be replaced or not. a good mechanic can recommend which wud be best for you. top overhaul wont cost you more than RM1,000. maybe slightly extra if u need to change piston and piston ring set.

change engine cost more. but a fren of mine had coverted his EE80 1.3 to 1.6 20valve silvertop with Four Throttle body. complete with AE101 Levin dashboard.

that is very niceeeee... he had resigned from toyota as a foremen and set up his own workshop. if want to contact him let me know. otherwise, can ask other sifus at toyota forum...:D

If you do change your engine you have to go to JPJ to get it registered. Before you register you have to go to Puspakom for inspection.