Post overhaul problem

Pathmaprasad

Hello seefu's

Currently i'm having a Toyota Corolla AE92 with a 4AF carburetor engine. The engine is just overhauled about 7 months ago. After doing the overhaul i encounter some problems which are

1. Engine oil in the air filter pan
2. Leakage of engine oil from the valve cover
3.Leakage of engine oil near the gearbox(The top part of gearbox always flooded with engine oil)
4.Leakage of engine oil on the connection between the distributor and engine.
5.High petrol consumption

All these leakage are causing me a 4litre top up of engine oil in between 5000km service interval.

Each time i bring back the car to the mechanic he just say that the seals(valve cover gasket) are not good and he just change them

Referring to the engine diagram, i suspect that there is a pressure build up in the cylinder head which forces out the engine oil from all:wavey: the mechanical seals. And i guess the pressure build up occurs due to the improper valve grinding.

Hence, i would appreciate if seefu's here can advice me of my problem and the solution for it.

Thank you.

not valve grinding fault...

put more likely piston/piston ring clearance doesnt match and causing too much blow-by pressure inside crankcase thus all seals and holes leaking oil

not valve grinding fault...

put more likely piston/piston ring clearance doesnt match and causing too much blow-by pressure inside crankcase thus all seals and holes leaking oil

Wah.. if it is that then the mech who did the rebuild is incompetant.

Pathmaprasad : go back to the mech and complain la.

Everytime i go to the mechanic he say that the valve cover gasket is the one leaking and he changes it about 3 times. But after close inspection only i find out that there are engine oil leakag elsewhere... so , i wana clarify and then go hunt the mechanic n screw him up... and then ask him to check all this possible causes, then repair it on his own cost.. Tats the reason i'm seeking advice frm members and seefu's here so that i can proove that it is his fault...:wavey:

too much blow by through the combustion chamber.try when start ur engine pull the dip stick where you check your engine oil level see whether it is smoke out from there.if yes means there is a blow by.some sort like piston rings having problems.like the gap of the ring or the position of rings

Dan KC, i have removed the dipping stick and found out that there is air flowing out of the place where we put the dipping stick. Is it confirm that there is too much blow by through the combustion chamber?

in case if we suspect piston ring clearance problem....

Piston ring clearance too big...why, because cylinder bore oversize.

why oversize, wear and tear - normally mechanics need to use oversize piston ring when they do overhaul on long distance engines...

you can check with them, what size they use and compare it with original size...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

to clarify , you can easily go to any realible mechanics and check each cylinder pressure...if it lack of pressure, then it mean it escaped into engines..

This is bad workmanship leh! and engine oil in air filter pan says it all. 4L top up is really really bad. This way you don't even need to change oil....

with piston ring pressure leak, not enough compression than normal...

thus engine making low power and uneven firing...hence the vibration and low idling...

My opinion. Screw this guy. Do not go back to him. Use the tribunal to get your compensation and use the money to overhaul somewhere else.

Hi guys

I send the car to the same mechanic. He took around two weeks to figure out the problem and he say it was the PCV. Then after changing the PCV the car was ok for a week and the problem repeats again. By then i have brought the car to Penang and i don't find it reasonable to bring it back to him. Here, i came across a mechanic in Kulim. After checking the car, he finally confirms that the problem was due to improper valve clearance and poor carb tuning. He charged me about RM120 to tune the carb and adjust the valve using the shim. And finally the car performs as if it is a new engine installed. Fuel consumption improves a lot as well...:driver: