Engine Check Light On !

thanx levin, i strongly believe the cap wudnt cause the lite to appear, but xmika experience otherwise, and i tend to go wit the proof for now, even if it doesnt sound logical (bzzzzttt, my brain is still rejecting the fact this happens, lol).

its easy jer to work the diagnostics out xmika, i suggest u run dat and report back. bridge the TE1 and E1 port, and count the lights flash

Haha, I think I did entertain your day isnt it ? I'm a clown LOL

Hey btw, I bridged the TE1 and E1 port. My ECU light blinks 4 time for each intervals. Whats the code ?

Is it OBD1 code, No.4, Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor signal ?

---------- Post added at 03:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:24 PM ----------

My ECU is 3SFE ones :D Levin818, how much you sell the ECU for 3SFE ?

no sir, i didnt laugh at u, i was laughing at d ridiculous occurrence. if u say it solves ur problem, den i believe it does. i was laughing because my brain cudnt comprehend y dat happened, it stopped computing for second, then i laughed my a@#$ off, lol

okie, lets get back to the topics, coolant temperature sensor, dats serious. if dis sensor is fecked, den it will either switced the radiator fan on continuously or the fan wont operate. the radiator fan only switches on if the preset temperature is achieved by the engine coolant system, and dat sensor is the one dat senses it.

i hope u havent experienced any overheating issue, have u? does ur radiator fan kicks in in time? or does it operate all the time? nice finding by the way sir

Lol ... Miraculously, changing the gas cap reduces the frequency of the check lights :p

I'm not very sure about the fan .. I'll bring it to my mech now .. brb :D

---------- Post added at 04:13 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:54 PM ----------

Oh my mech say he help me order the ECT sensor .. tmr go his place to fix it :)

He was astonished that I know how to check the ECU code by jumping the TE1 and E1 socket LOL hahhahha thanks extremeleo .. you know why ? Cause I'm just a 19 year old kiddo zzz

u 19? naaahhhh!!! good work sir:proud: please update if dat cures the light

fyi, there can be more then one error message, i hope u didnt miss any..

nope .. i looked at the engine check light for a few minutes .. all steady 4 blinks each intervals .. nvr miss la i think :D I'm calling toyota service centre to double check now

---------- Post added at 04:24 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:23 PM ----------

I cannot be 19 ? Jealous of young boy ahh hahha ..

Hehe ..

Back to topic, I hadnt had any overheating issues .. but i experienced a very very bad fuel consumption for few years already .. full tank 48L for 300km :( I googled about faulty ECT sensors and most of the answers were related with bad fuel consumption because the ECT sensor did not work properly and the fuel mixture was rich to compensate for cold start engine ...

somehow i face the same problem with my satria gti,.. its because of my safc, it show that safc was on 6 cylinders setting.. after i change it to 4 cylinders, the "check engine" display gone. :)

My car dont have safc .. what is safc btw ? for wad ? I saw some with a few buttons on it

SAFC stands for air flow converter, it works by intercepting the signal between the car's air flow meter and the ECU. ;) :hmmmm:

ECT sensor faulty? Did you check the wiring connectivity before you place the order for ECT sensor? :biggrin:
Most of the time its the wire near the socket is disconnected (after long time of fatigue movement).
Similar case likely happened to Knock sensor.
I do not have stock for 3SFE ECU but if confirm that it is faulty, i can help you to rebuilt it.
*Rebuilt ECU will have better mileage, smoother rev, and most important is, can use until you sell your car without giving you any hassle :biggrin:
(*only happened to my rebuilt ECU)

I think its the sensor problem because I checked already .. no loose connection on the sensor ..

Not sure if ECU got rosak or not .. wait till friday .. I called my mech just now .. he say the sensor haven reach yet .. usually how much it costs for an ECT sensor ?

"no loose connection on the sensor.."

The connection will looks perfect but internally is disconnected.
You need a continuity tester to test it.

Internally disconnected ? Never mind la wait till friday then we'll know the results .. you can tune my 3SFE ecu so that it works better for my car ? :p How much you charge ? I want positive results ! :)

Stock ECU is design in the way that to optimize the efficiency of your engine. There is nothing i can do to make it works better on your car.
But for an old age ECU, it may lost part of its functionality that will lead to power lost, poor mileage, bad emission etc. For this type of ECU, I will be able to do something on it. Typical way is, rebuilt it and restore back its original performance.

ohh .. so my stock ecu is at optimum already la if theres no damage to it ... no need to refine the tunings to suit my driving style ?

if i know about toyota's ecus, they are very good. but, fyi, i tuned my charged 1300cc engine up using a simple safc2, the power increased 40hp (low boost) on the dyno dynamics. so, u can actually optimize the engine's capability of the engine further wit finer tuning.

a tuned a bone stock civic eg SiR using emanage and gained 19hp on the same dyno, same tuner. all the std ecu usually runs richer, too much to write on dat in dis page, lazy sudehh..

So, running on a leaner fuel mixture can actually increase hp ? My car running on rich mixture now cause the something wrong with the engine coolant temperature sensor .... rich mixture all the time ..

Can I tune my ecu so that it gives the perfect air-fuel mixture for my car ?