engine overhaul

Mechanically or ECU?

I keep blasting carbon away whenever I drive. Occasionally I rev to 4k rpm and above. :biggrin:

Your ECU can tune meh?

Driving pass 4k rpm is rich air/fuel ratio, probably add more carbon....lol
Drive constant 100kph on highway, I think 90kph even better ratio for a longer distance will clear carbon better. My wife SUV after an outstation drive she always comment the SUV have better and smoother drive....:driver:

Your ECU can tune meh?

Drive constant 100kph on highway, I think 90kph even better ratio for a longer distance will clear carbon better. My wife SUV after an outstation drive she always comment the SUV have better and smoother drive....:driver:

Thought MMC can adjust things like air-fuel mapping.

90-100kmh should maintain rpm around 2500-3000 mark for common cars. But din't know that helps to burn away excessive carbon deposits.

Constant speed, good air fuel ratio will slowly burn off carbon. Town driving, especially go stop traffic, rich air fuel ratio will create more carbon deposit.....

MMC 1.3 ecu can do full flash and become fully programmable ecu wooooorrr...

look for steven a.k.a mxsteven da buaya :driver:

MMC 1.3 ecu can do full flash and become fully programmable ecu wooooorrr...

look for steven a.k.a mxsteven da buaya :driver:

Mine is 4G15, but I guess it is the same. What are the things that I can do if it becomes fully programmable?

Tweak AFR, tweak mapping er... that's it I guess considering your car is stock

In a way, that changes the power curve across the RPM? The downside of doing so is probably poorer FC?

Depends. Manufacturers tune their cars to be a little richer than normal. So you can probably dial in a bit better FC if you have a good tuner.

In a way, that changes the power curve across the RPM? The downside of doing so is probably poorer FC?

Power curves remained the same pattern, just that you might gain some at certain areas and also your AFR will be more optimized from low end till red line. Drivability might be better too, these you can't 'see' from the dyno graph.

Depends. Manufacturers tune their cars to be a little richer than normal. So you can probably dial in a bit better FC if you have a good tuner.

Power curves remained the same pattern, just that you might gain some at certain areas and also your AFR will be more optimized from low end till red line. Drivability might be better too, these you can't 'see' from the dyno graph.

To get all these done, I probably need to head down to KL to do it. Not so sure there are anyone in Ipoh who can do all these. Not to mention doing it on an old 4G15 Wira.

Tomorrow I'm getting the car checked by mechanic. I'll see what he says.

To get all these done, I probably need to head down to KL to do it. Not so sure there are anyone in Ipoh who can do all these. Not to mention doing it on an old 4G15 Wira.

Tomorrow I'm getting the car checked by mechanic. I'll see what he says.

Come down kill 3 birds loh! Tune, blast carbon and tt with us......hhahhahahhahahhaha:biggrin:

Your ECU can tune meh?

Mechanically or ECU?

I keep blasting carbon away whenever I drive. Occasionally I rev to 4k rpm and above. :biggrin:

Constant speed, good air fuel ratio will slowly burn off carbon. Town driving, especially go stop traffic, rich air fuel ratio will create more carbon deposit.....

wait.... i thought reving it to the moon once in a while was the way to cleanup the carbon......
if no, what daheck have i been doing....

Redlining doesn't clear the carbon. Low rpm high speed does. And if you're running in the engine don't redline la.

haha nono old old car way past the run in period

always thought, high rpm, short while = italian tuneup, my car is driven short distances, lots of small roads + traffic lights, all the 'not good' stuff. once in a while i bring it to 7k or so (not bouncing off the limiter ofc)
*also mivec sounds nice*

**also, if anyone is decarbing in kl/pj/wherever remember to tellls meh!!**

haha nono old old car way past the run in period

always thought, high rpm, short while = italian tuneup, my car is driven short distances, lots of small roads + traffic lights, all the 'not good' stuff. once in a while i bring it to 7k or so (not bouncing off the limiter ofc)
*also mivec sounds nice*

**also, if anyone is decarbing in kl/pj/wherever remember to tellls meh!!**

Assuming your car isn't tuned some way or another, if you do dyno the higher the RPM usually the AFR will run richer at the higher RPMs. High RPM means more fuel means if it doesn't burn clean it'll be more carbon.

If you're running fast but low RPM means leaner AFR = less fuel to burn but higher flow of air. To some extent the air itself will brush off some of the carbon along the manifold and the leaner burn will burn cleaner. The speed of the air is quite amazing when you're running at high speed.

Generally that's the gist of things la.

Assuming your car isn't tuned some way or another, if you do dyno the higher the RPM usually the AFR will run richer at the higher RPMs. High RPM means more fuel means if it doesn't burn clean it'll be more carbon.

If you're running fast but low RPM means leaner AFR = less fuel to burn but higher flow of air. To some extent the air itself will brush off some of the carbon along the manifold and the leaner burn will burn cleaner. The speed of the air is quite amazing when you're running at high speed.

Generally that's the gist of things la.

ahh icic :adore:

That is why I post this to bro. RENESIS
Drive constant 100kph on highway, I think 90kph even better ratio for a longer distance will clear carbon better. My wife SUV after an outstation drive she always comment the SUV have better and smoother drive...

gg..... mine is probably completely carbon then...

heck this car is running quite rich (apparently its normal)

Write your reply...