Worth to top overhaul A32?

chteo

hi guys,

i'm driving a A32 2.5lit, and recently the car is billowing white smoke, just wondering whether any members here have done a top overhaul on the engine before.

my mechanic advised me to save the top overhaul money instead and plunk in a new recon set....

appreciate any comments especially on the cost and feasibility of doing top overhaul on such a complex (but beautiful) engine....

2.5L you may have problem getting the some gaskets. Cause is not common. get the VQ25 engine kosong, so all the oil seal change. Much safer.

thanks weikee, was at mun lee today, 2.5lit engine kosong around RM 1.6K... very likely to follow engine kosong path...

mandomain, yours is 2, 2.5 or 3 litre?

engine kosong can get from mun lee, half cut need to search around though, my car is also around the same age as yours, but body still in good condition as well as the interior.

if only your gasket is giving issue, then just engine kosong will do, unless other parts are failing as well...

i'm going for engine kosong as it's the one giving me the issue now, for brake rotors, going for brand new, it's not worth taking the risk....

mine is 2.5 ...yup mun lee infront of my house only...will go there afternoon to ask ...got ask arround puchong perdana...get RM1500 engine kosong & installation arround RM500 , half-cut with body part expensive..think worth it cost get all small item change ...at then end still have to stick with budget..

just asked around town today for VQ25DE engine kosong

1. Mun Lee - RM 2,200
2. USJ - RM 1,900 to RM 2,100
3. Klang - RM 1,600 (bad condition) to RM 1,900

didn't go to Puchong Perdana, regretted a bit didn't buy back then...haha...have to fork out 300 more now.... installation i'm getting my own mechanic to do it though...

7 months price naik sudah. Did you try jump starting the engine at the kedai? You know how many VQ25de they have? Good luck on the overhauling!keep us updated.

price increase is expected with the current rise in yen, didn't buy earlier cause budget constraint haha...

didn't jumpstart as most of those i've seen are not really in a great shape, some have been opened before, no point wasting time... as for quantities, for 2.5 mostly 1 to 3, didn't ask Mun Lee

another shop will deliver a unit to my mechanic's place for testing tomorrow... hope all goes well!

---------- Post added at 09:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:58 PM ----------

some of them do make big moneys and can actually give very good discounts as some price variance can be as high as 3x and they can match back the lower price if they're desperate to move their stocks..

old engine out, gearbox coupled, "new" engine in, all other items reassembled.... ignite...and it's quiet..hhhmm......no wonder.. it's working... :)

now to replace other wear and tear items and we're good to go...

Hi i'm new here, i have an engine oil leakage issue in my a32 2.0 '97, normal workshop i went ask for 4k to fix i don't think is reasonable at all. I hope i can get some advise from you guys.
Also, my rpm meter is pointing all directions, i was advised its having sensor or some sort any idea how much to replace? Thanks in advance!

ps: appreciate recommending more reliable and reasonable workshop for my future visits :) KL area.

kcxkoh, RM 4K is reasonable i would say, depending on what the mechanic mean by "fix", my engine is leaking badly and phewing out white smoke like a barbeque grill, and change engine kosong is the more economical way to go. you can refer to my earlier post on some of the updated engine prices.

as for your rpm meter, get a used sensor from the chop shop, it's about RM 200 to RM 300 for a full set, versus RM 200+ for brand new each, and you will need six (to be safe)! mine was having the same issue, so i changed one from chop shop as well, been doing great since then...

Hi everybody,
Good day! I am new here and this is my first post in fact. Need to get some advice from the cefiro sifus here ! I just got an A32 about 3 months ago. It is a 3.0 engine. the fuel consumption is 30cents/km (50% city driving condition). Is it reasonable or on the high side? The road tax is expiring in feb 2012. I do not want to pay more than 2000 bucks for the road tax. I intend to convert it to 2.5L engine. Can anybody recommend a reliable mechanic for this job ? How much will it cost i.e. engine kosong, labour charge, JPJ clearance? Thanks in advance!
Kit

hi kitlinchai,

engine kosong = RM 1,600 to RM 2,200 (or can be higher)
other replacement parts = usually averaging RM 1,000 or less
labour = RM 500 to RM 1,000
JPJ endorsement = runner dependent, some charges RM 450, some i heard can go up to RM 1,000

expect to budget on the high side, I'm pretty sure you are aware that when you change engine, some wear and tear parts require changing as well