VTEC turbo

Originally posted by flamefox850@Jul 17 2004, 03:45 PM

haaaa..i like this guy's explaination

that's what i've read from the net...now i want to ask u guys a question...can overlapping on a DOHC vtec be alter by using adj. cam pulley ?

is it 1 cam for exhaust and 1 cam for intake ? if that so, we can adjust the overlap to make it shorter if we adjust the intake cam to retard and exhaust cam to advance..is it ?
this will ensure the engine to blow the all the exhaust during exhaust valve and fresh air coming from boost will only come when the exhaust valve close. can we do that ? :huh:

so, using standard cam also can feel the performance better rather than spending money on performance cam
He means to have duration lowered only when VTEC kicks in right? I dont think adj. pulleys can do that.

I-VTEC or VVTi can though, AFAIK. I wonder if VVTi-Turbo is a better way of getting this sort of performance? I-VTEC too expensive la...

yes.. i think i got what he meant bro. and of cos adj. cam pulley can't alter duration hehehe :D

the problem here is fresh air from boost is now wasted info exhaust valve when it the two valves overlapping especially when VTEC kicks in. if we can alter the timing of intake valve to open later (by adj. cam pulley) and the exhaust valve to open earlier, then we can encounter a bit the problem of that fresh air being wasted at least

but by far, the most effective way is using high duration cam on exhaust side and maybe keep the standard duration on intake or maybe less duration a bit

low duration with a bit high lift also makes sense...

thanks for the info guys...and is there any other problem to encounter on vtec turbo other than oil pump, cam, piston, gasket and block guard ?

Hehehe you planning to make one ar? :D

Hmm I see your point but that way it wont be very efficient right... especially at low rpms? May not be good for the turbo too. Sekali go for I-VTEC saja... :P

Originally posted by koolspyda+Jul 17 2004, 12:46 AM-->
QUOTE (koolspyda @ Jul 17 2004, 12:46 AM)
--QuoteBegin-Itab
@Jul 16 2004, 11:48 PM
ezwong2002,
i see....i thought of the CRV engine also,but the old CRV engine is non Vtec one rite?so ruled it out lo.....
can change B16B engine with CRV block one ah?how's it done ah?i don really understand these hybrid mods la,please explain to me :)

i don't think it just the matter of $$$.

Vtec is a high compression engine. To achieve a long lasting reliable without changing internals is in the long term ,..... is not the most ideal.

why do turbos (the high powered monsters) have forged pistons?
why do most good tuners lower the compression when they turbo the VTECs?

search sites on turbo esp vtecs.

this reasoning is also applies for other marques (high compression engines) [/b][/quote]
It is mainly about the $$$$$$ . ( unless a lot of installation DIY , save a bit ).
To have power & durability, many parts need to be changed + management + correct tuning.

The 2L I mentioned comes from CRV block with B18C5 head .

Churning out 400++ hp , almost daily driven , best part , the idling still nice.

$$$$$$ incurred .... a LOTTTTTT

Originally posted by Zeroed@Jul 18 2004, 12:10 AM
Hehehe you planning to make one ar? :D

Hmm I see your point but that way it wont be very efficient right... especially at low rpms? May not be good for the turbo too. Sekali go for I-VTEC saja... :P
no la dude...now i'm not even own a VTEC la..planning to get a honda..ermm what model aa hehe murah2 ok la
this is long term planning..have to gather more info first as what i did in the beginning of my 882T kancil project..now success..thanks to all my old friends

still, when thinking of the cost factor, the NA hybrid VTEC can take on Turbo VTEC, giving other factor unconcern.

Simply create a 2.3 L VTEC already can beat any standard VR4. This is what the ingredients was:
- B16A2 (big VTEC)
- engine kosong H22A
- fuel regulator
- TODA 4 throttle
- TODA lighten flywheel
- Secret Drag Cam
- full slicks 15" Mickey T.
- Type R fuel rail and injector
- MICROTECH
- Type R extractor
- secret stroker kit

Estimate Cost RM23,000

Timeslip : 12.65 @400M

Originally posted by zamans98@Jul 18 2004, 09:00 PM
still, when thinking of the cost factor, the NA hybrid VTEC can take on Turbo VTEC, giving other factor unconcern.

Simply create a 2.3 L VTEC already can beat any standard VR4. This is what the ingredients was:
- B16A2 (big VTEC)
- engine kosong H22A
- fuel regulator
- TODA 4 throttle
- TODA lighten flywheel
- Secret Drag Cam
- MICROTECH
- Type R extractor
- secret stroker kit

Estimate Cost RM23,000

what if i say i dream of B20B hybrid B16A with stoker kit 2.2L and turbocharge ? sure many more horse can get far more better than NA
then sure it is a dream only maa..can't get it in short time..maybe 10 years after ? :lol:

simon : sure it gives more power than a non-VTEC turbo and more driveable than a turbo engine with high cam

p/s: H22A block can install B16A head aa ?

I'm not sure, but can someone find out if any of the usual turbo engines, 4G, RB, SR etc.. have aluminium blocks.

but i've wondered sometimes y take a high revvin NA vtec engine which millions was spent to R&D to get the best out of it, then spend a little fortune to get it turbo'd. might as well get a non-vtec block, get full race cams and turbo it. much cheaper and more reliable.
somethign i've always wondered la. :)

Originally posted by flamefox850+Jul 18 2004, 09:36 PM-->
QUOTE (flamefox850 @ Jul 18 2004, 09:36 PM)
--QuoteBegin-zamans98
@Jul 18 2004, 09:00 PM

- B16A2 (big VTEC)
- engine kosong H22A
- fuel regulator
- TODA 4 throttle
- TODA lighten flywheel
- Secret Drag Cam
- MICROTECH
- Type R extractor
- secret stroker kit

Estimate Cost RM23,000

what if i say i dream of B20B hybrid B16A with stoker kit 2.2L and turbocharge ? sure many more horse can get far more better than NA
then sure it is a dream only maa..can't get it in short time..maybe 10 years after ? :lol:

simon : sure it gives more power than a non-VTEC turbo and more driveable than a turbo engine with high cam

p/s: H22A block can install B16A head aa ? [/b][/quote]
going for honda is it en.musang? u have a good point there... can B16b head go into H22 block? or did it use B20b block with a 2.2L stroker kit?

didnt know b16a can rojak with h22 block. how did u do it? wow.

dont think original typeR fuel rail and injectors are sufficient for a h22a

try beating a vr4 with rm23k spent on it as well.

jeng jeng jeng jeng...!!!

vtec turbo vs eclisp3

MAUHAHAHAHAHAH

(just kidding... main main aje ahh)

Originally posted by eclips3@Jul 19 2004, 12:08 PM
didnt know b16a can rojak with h22 block. how did u do it? wow.

dont think original typeR fuel rail and injectors are sufficient for a h22a

try beating a vr4 with rm23k spent on it as well.
u got a good point ther my friend.. try beating a kancil with rm23k worth of mods..ehehe.. like they say.... money talks and bullshit walks..

Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Jul 19 2004, 12:12 PM
jeng jeng jeng jeng...!!!

vtec turbo vs eclisp3

MAUHAHAHAHAHAH

(just kidding... main main aje ahh)
aijoo...eclipse tarpau many vtec turbo's oledi la. he's now looking for those CL55 AMG, C65 Brabus, Murcielago, Zonda....... he say now he want to take all the monnster cruisers one.....
so if anyone cruisin' for a bruisin', look for eclipse....:) heheeh

muahahaha... ramsing, dis WC gonna pull all your hair out from your
chest

nola...nowdays WC no more time to pull hair one. he always in movies one with some girl. ehehhe. mebbe he pulling hair from some other place la... ;)

Originally posted by ramsing@Jul 19 2004, 10:38 AM
but i've wondered sometimes y take a high revvin NA vtec engine which millions was spent to R&D to get the best out of it, then spend a little fortune to get it turbo'd. might as well get a non-vtec block, get full race cams and turbo it. much cheaper and more reliable.
generally becoz Vtec block is stronger in construction.

p/s edit : spelling error

Originally posted by ramsing@Jul 19 2004, 10:38 AM
hmmm hehe, i wonder if u know the manufacturer's (HONDA) point and puposes built in that VTEC engine. how come they create 1.6L, 1.8L, 2.2L and 3.0L ?
why not making bigger CC like 6000cc VTEC ?

yeah manufacturer also has target..all RND begin with that target. what consumer want..what type of consumer they want and how much car they want to sell (target)

if they put a very very high performance engine in a street car and sell for 100k..how come they get profit ? now u get my point. manufacturer's RND isn't the best for U. what u r looking for, then comes in ur mind building ur own vehicle at least u can mods the engine if u can't build up the whole body. and at least that car satisfy ur need

for me, iffffffffffffffffff i got the chance to built VTEC turbo, what i want is the driveablility and performance combined in VTEC engine. if i choose a non-vtec engine and use high cam, how is the idling quality...who knows ? if i choose vtec at least it is still driveable on street and i get performance as well

p/s : honda is known as non-turbo engine manufacture and want to get that vtec (a very high performance NA) name still exist in the world only. if honda also building turbo engine..then vtec will die