VTEC turbo

siva: dont talk rots... u ffk barger.

blackie: dont u start farker.

flamefox: dont really agree with u, maybe with production cars, they dont opt for turbo.. but in F1, honda used to produced the fastest n most powerful turbo engines.

Originally posted by eclips3@Jul 20 2004, 09:30 PM
siva: dont talk rots... u ffk barger.

blackie: dont u start farker.

flamefox: dont really agree with u, maybe with production cars, they dont opt for turbo.. but in F1, honda used to produced the fastest n most powerful turbo engines.
yeah..what am i talking about is about production car lor..that F1 cars is produced to make their name glory if they win their race. that's why i told u guys manufacturer have their aim

then it is why us as a consumer even modify a Vtec engine hehe maybe my last sentences in my last other post is not suitable hehe. sorry for that :D

flamefox,

the cam duration would obviously affect your overlap but even if you adjust your cam pulleys for different overlaps, the duration stays the same and so the effect you get is no where near the same as long duration cams, even for the same overlap as you have dialed in.

vtecs try to extend the revvability of the engine by having 2 different sets of cam profiles(lift and duration) each optimised for different regions of the rev scale. when you add a turbocharger in, things become even more restricted in terms of optimality across the rev because a small turbo will be optimised for lower rpm and vice versa.

if you build up a vtec turbo, immediately you must decide if you want the turbo to help boost your low end performance, or your high end performance and size your turbo accordingly. inevitably the rpm region in which your turbo was not optimised for will make your vtec performance worse than if it wasn't turbocharged.

for race engines, because they operate constantly within a narrow rpm region, they don't need vtec at all. just simply high cams. i doubt any of the true track civics or nsx have vtecs still enabled, and even if it is, i doubt the rpm ever goes down low enough to engage low cam. so what for have the additional complexity of the vtec system?

as for lowering compression with thicker gasket or pistons etc, yes, many people know that. but why? everyone just simply say you need to lower compression but no one bothers why. actually, even with a high compression ratio, you might get away with a reasonably high boost on normal fuel if you have really long duration cams because the net effect is that of lowering your compression. otherwise, high compression ratio, say 11.0:1 with 1bar of boost and reasonably streetable cams are achievable provided you use racing fuel. otherwise, you just retard ignition so much that you end up losing so much power you might as well junk the turbo and go na with more ignition and more power.

yeah...got that f8...thanks a lot for the info. what i'm trying to suggest using adj cam pulley is making a bit performance rather than losing it when overlaping occur too much. when retarding the intake cam and advancing the exhaust cam, then overlap decrease a little bit the can gain performance a bit but for sure just like u said..nothing compare to a vtec turbo with cam replacement

ok now..i want to ask u guys...if i want a high rpm range power of vtec turbo..ex. 4000 or 5000rpm and above with bigger than normal turbocharger unit a bit higher boost, what kind of duration should i put regarding intake and exhaust cam ?

intake = leave it as stock (270deg? 280deg?) - as for vtec open
exhaust = up duration maybe 256deg ?

can this setup create a more reliable and more powerful vtec turbo ? if not, can advice me what kind of duration more suitable

Originally posted by eclips3@Jul 20 2004, 09:30 PM
but in F1, honda used to produced the fastest n most powerful turbo engines.
:lol: :lol: Reminds me of a fren of mine who argued that Turbos are useless.

He said that if turbo was so keng chow, why F1 cars nowadays no more using turbo engine? that means n/a engine is better than turbo engine. :lol: :lol:

I just kept quite and said to myself "DUH! Hello fren!! F1 banned turbocharging lar" :rolleyes:

Check tthis out....VTEC Turbo from Sarawak..... ;)

http://www.terato.com/cars/article.asp?ID=75

leave all those aside... forget hybriding the VTEC and get turboed

look here:
http://www.knology.net/~curtisaj/webpics/dyno/dyno2.jpg

Its a stock b18c1, drag manifold, small intercooler, 54trim/.63 exhaust turbo, hondata, and skunk 2 intake manifold @6psi

Some more on that setup (H22A)
http://www.honda-acura.net/forums/index.php

just tumpang in... please don't flame me...
i'm driving civic 96 EJ7. and i wanna make my car faster, should i go for the engine upgrade or engine swap, and if i go for the engine swap which engine should i get and how much does it cost?

Originally posted by KillerB+Jul 21 2004, 08:36 AM-->
QUOTE (KillerB @ Jul 21 2004, 08:36 AM)
--QuoteBegin-eclips3
@Jul 21 2004, 10:00 PM
turbos were banned coz it killed a.senna rite?

no, it's the active suspensions that killed a.senna. [/b][/quote]
true :(
the suspension went thru his helmet and thru his brain :ph34r:

RIP the legend :huh:

i heard that the US CRV with the block code B20Z has a higher compression ratio of 10:1 comparative to the Jap CRV B20B with the compression ratio of 8.8:1.. is this true?

Originally posted by speedemon@Jul 22 2004, 02:19 PM
i heard that the US CRV with the block code B20Z has a higher compression ratio of 10:1 comparative to the Jap CRV B20B with the compression ratio of 8.8:1.. is this true?
later generation JDM CRV's also came with the B20Z.
not 10:1 though, something like 9.2 (lazy to check).

guys..one innocent question..about how much turbo charging a VTEC would be??
i'm prepared to faint when i see the numbers.. ;)