VTEC turbo

flamefox850,

brother,mahu pakai VTEC already huh?why don't you give the owner of DXX 777 an offer? civic EK3 E6K turbo,tuned by GT auto also,i think... :rolleyes:

if want to play VTEC,don't turbocharge it lar...i think NA is more fun... if like turbo,go for EVO3,silvia...shiok also...

well,turbo and NA,different category... :lol:

no la...this is old topic la....at that time i want to sell my car and want to have a civic...BUT..sadly to say, my friend cancel the booking. so, if i sell to car agent. so, now dun want to sell anymore...want to mod it to be fully perfect. optimum condition hehe.

p/s: i dun agree when u say VTEC is meant for NA...many people has done vtec turbo and proven to be faster. go vtec turbo for more power and reliability B)

flamefox850,

if me,i'll go for NA VTEC rather then the vtec turbo... vtec turbo kena habis a lot baru power...u really need a expert to tune the vtec and turbo to work together,unless you buang terus the vtec system...see the vaz maz vtec turbo or not? very very fast last time,can clocked 12s something! and now the orange bullet from singapore,NA and clocked 11s something...damn ganas! ;)

Juz to share wif u guys..... we take example a country like taiwan (coz there they hav a lot honda turbos influenced by both the Japs n Americans) If u watch their mags n videos, juz about all the turbo charged Hondas r mostly single cam vtecs or non vtec engines. Most would opt for a supercharger instead of the siput for better lift off!! (If u read reviews in Honda Tuning)

The reason behind this is that compression ratio of a vtec say the b16a, the minimum is about 10.2:1 unlike the single cam units around 8.8:1.... Juz to cut short nobody says u cant turbo a vtec but the life span of the engine is greatly reduced due to its massive engine load, accelerated wear n tear + the amount of money invested to match the turbo n vtec to work together.

I hav owned a owned an oem turbocharged Honda b4, who would believe a 1.3 could touch 180km/h easily!! There were pieces n hints of single cam vtec technology in that turbocharged engine during that time back in 1986.......

Juz my views..... ;)

SA6YEuro,

you're rite bro... ;) in thailand,they buang terus the VTEC system and go for damn high degree cams! in US,their VTEC turbo damn fast with 500bhp but when you read carefully,the stock block have been rebuild...they just made another block which can tahan the high boost...here i believe no ppl made it yet,to rebuild another block,i think cost a lot... piston JE,conrods CROWER...well,a lot of money...
no wonder their car can boost gila till 500bhp! :lol:

So for a 1.6 SOHC NA Honda (DA16Y) engine's turbokit, what are the necessary ingredients?

Originally posted by keong_MIRAGE@Dec 20 2004, 18:36
flamefox850,

if me,i'll go for NA VTEC rather then the vtec turbo... vtec turbo kena habis a lot baru power...u really need a expert to tune the vtec and turbo to work together,unless you buang terus the vtec system...see the vaz maz vtec turbo or not? very very fast last time,can clocked 12s something! and now the orange bullet from singapore,NA and clocked 11s something...damn ganas! ;)
On 26/2 PG sprint Vaz-Maz(Rotary Savanna) clocked da fastest on da night and the only car that hit below 11sec (10.47sec) indeed Rotary King of Malaysia~Respect man...As my favourite Tung Chun also not bad clocked 11.62sec da fastest in 2wd turbocharged class.

Happy Motorsports To All~ :D

turbo power come out b4 3000rpm after that rev high 9000rpm to v-tec power,turbo for pick up n v-tec for top speed,both combine sure best

got one B18+turbo running around ma....
internals all changed. sleeved the combustion chamber etc etc
i hear the ex-owner tell me
claims running 500whp....
monster :o

Originally posted by 3R1C+Jul 22 2004, 06:20 -->
QUOTE (3R1C @ Jul 22 2004, 06:20 )
Originally posted by KillerB@Jul 21 2004, 08:36 AM
--QuoteBegin-eclips3
@Jul 21 2004, 10:00 PM
turbos were banned coz it killed a.senna rite?

no, it's the active suspensions that killed a.senna.

true :(
the suspension went thru his helmet and thru his brain :ph34r:

RIP the legend :huh: [/b][/quote]
the steering link was beeing cut n welded back bcoz senna was complaining he can't see the road to his engineers...but welding was poor n the steering linkage broke n when crashing into the barriers the other half of the broken steering linkage has poked senna's helmet...and boom...into the sky another legend after the great Gilles Villeneuve.... :(

Originally posted by AccordRacing@Feb 28 2005, 20:15
turbo power come out b4 3000rpm after that rev high 9000rpm to v-tec power,turbo for pick up n v-tec for top speed,both combine sure best
u should understand turbo is not a super power..
there is a limit for turbo turbine rpm, it will push alot of hot air at high rev and kill the engine.
small turbo spool early and also end the power early, u start lossing power at top end due to the high air temp.
big turbo will spool late, u will have cooler air charge and more air flow at high rpm.

smart Vtec turbo will choose big turbo to run but not in high boost. let the turbo boost when vtec engage. cooler air charge with more air rushing in.

Originally posted by rotorian^29+Feb 28 2005, 09:05 -->
QUOTE (rotorian^29 @ Feb 28 2005, 09:05 )
--QuoteBegin-keong_MIRAGE
@Dec 20 2004, 18:36
flamefox850,

On 26/2 PG sprint Vaz-Maz(Rotary Savanna) clocked da fastest on da night and the only car that hit below 11sec (10.47sec) indeed Rotary King of Malaysia~Respect man...As my favourite Tung Chun also not bad clocked 11.62sec da fastest in 2wd turbocharged class.

Happy Motorsports To All~ :D [/b][/quote]
pasir gudang drag race....the timing is based on 0-300m arrr??? tats wat i heard la. so is it 0-300m???

It should be standard 1/4 mile or 400m. It's not terribly fast if a heavily modified car still needs some 12 seconds for 300m, i think.

vaz maz SAVANA damn fasT.
tis sat i go curi curi tengok. d car using MT12. HeHeHe.

SOUL BY MICROTECH~~

Common VTEC Turbo maintenance + problem

Sifus and oll ti outthere,
I just got my vtec installed with turbo...so I need experienced sifus to advice me the most common maintenance that I need to do to prolong the lifespan of my engine and the common problem that i might encounter and what to expect and to do just in case....u might never know..better be prepared...cheers!

usually engine oil level, whether your oil pan is leaking oil or not ( especially over the oil return line to turbo vice versa ), check boost pressure, exhaust temperature, check coolant levels often and that coolant is not leaking anywhere. maybe there's more or less to look out for.

never take ur eye off the temperature gauge... :biggrin:

with any turbo, heat is the biggest enemy, cooling is always important. U should consider an alluminium twin core radiator, samco hoses, oil cooler, monster CF bonnet with those air ducts... besides the normal use of a good oil and having it regularly serviced...

a good engine management and setup also protects the engine against pre-ignition, detonation, boost creep, etc... its not just there to squeeze extra power...

ace79 said:
usually engine oil level, whether your oil pan is leaking oil or not ( especially over the oil return line to turbo vice versa ), check boost pressure, exhaust temperature, check coolant levels often and that coolant is not leaking anywhere. maybe there's more or less to look out for.

tq 4 the info bro..