UPGRADE ICE

bogieman

Hi Guys,
Need your opinion on my ice as I,m planning to upgrade.

current set up

Front Comp- RF-fanatik X 6ince
Amp- Lanzar Heritage 424 75x4RMS
Subs- Kicker 12ince

Thxs

:)

What Hu are you using now?

What do you feel you are lacking?

Best to come to tt's so we can listen and advise you properly... Fisr thing if you wanna upgrade would be ur amp.. get somethign cleaner.

Originally posted by bogieman@Jan 17 2005, 12:39
Hi Guys,

current set up

Subs- Kicker 12ince

Thxs

RF comp is not well known. Lanzar amp are overrrated and what kicker are you using? Kicker ex, comp,CVR, L5, L7?

why not start with a good HU and a good amp first. what is your budget for your upgrade?

Thxs Master for yr feedback, my HU is Kenwood DPX6040. and the front comp is Rockford fosgate fanatik.

If the Lanzar was overrated, pls suggest to me which amp should I use for better quality of Sq and should I divert the the Lanzar amp direct on the Kicker Subs thus get a new amp for D front component?

Budjet for the Amp is around 1.2K

Rgds :unsure: ,

lets see...

lanzap amps are not a very good SQ amp. they are a bit colooured. As its a 4x75w amp.. you will get abt 2x300w bridged. If you have 2 subs, you can use it for the 2 subs.

For front comps amp... How about a PPI PCX-440 or an ADS 450.2? Both will go for 1.2k each

get a good mono maybe 1000W. sell your lanzar get an alpine 4 channel.

amp and Hu are good investment so that your future upgrade will not be expensive.

i'm new here and this is only my second post. so please don't wack me, ok?

what's wrong with your current setup? what dissatisfaction do you have? or what areas of improvement do you want to achieve when you upgrade your system?

have you taken your electronics to the limit? have you enhanced the listening environment, i.e. the car, the car cabin, electricity supply ...etc?

i think you should have your objectives determined first.

just my two cents. please don't shoot me. :lol:

Bert,

just curious to know:-

do you think we can achieve 70% sound quality of a 10K ICE system, using only 2.5K budget?

what are the determining factor in the system chain?

Originally posted by lks@Jan 20 2005, 15:48

have you taken your electronics to the limit? have you enhanced the listening environment, i.e. the car, the car cabin, electricity supply ...etc?

i think you should have your objectives determined first.

if you take your electronics to the limit, i'll bet it wont last you for a year. its like driving a car constantly at the red line. precaution is better when playing with your setups.

ok. yes, agree! all the way to the limit will definitely shorten the equipment life.

find and try optimum limit then (before changing).

lks,

well, 70% of sound is a very objective question as there is no measurement we can do to determine why a 10k system is better than a 2.5k system.

A lousyly installed and tuned 10k system can sound worse than a well tuned, well installed 2.5k system... A lot of times in ICE, its the details that make a difference. The small annoying noise, the improper placement of tweeters, dampen at the correct places, using better cables etc can give a lto fo resutls compared to upggrading items... I can tell this from experience after upgrading and then playing around more with the stuff.

As for determining factor in the chain, many will argue but I feel the amp and speakers make a difference. All Hu's will give out an adequately clean signal. of coz dun compare a RM500 Hu to a Rm3000 HU... amps and speakers make a difference.

Originally posted by appleyard+Jan 17 2005, 20:34 -->
QUOTE (appleyard @ Jan 17 2005, 20:34 )
--QuoteBegin-bogieman
@Jan 17 2005, 12:39
Hi Guys,

current set up

Subs- Kicker 12ince

Thxs

RF comp is not well known. Lanzar amp are overrrated and what kicker are you using? Kicker ex, comp,CVR, L5, L7?

why not start with a good HU and a good amp first. what is your budget for your upgrade? [/b][/quote]
What u mean by overrated?
is it the lanzar amp sound quality is not good compare to other branded amps?

p/s : still learning..

thanks.

Overrated means it's stating 75W RMSx4 but the actual power is less than that.

most ppl dont understands that if you buy low end stuff it will sound like low end. if you buy mid range it will sound like mid range. fot SQ and SPl the most critical part is the installation and tuning.

eg. if you own a high end subs placed it in a wrong ported box. then it will sound horrible. but get a low end subs and placed it in a correct box and you will be surprise. but a good subs has a higher xmax means it can get loud and low. most subs can get loud OR low. Shiva is one example where it can get loud and low because of higher xmax and its value for money compared to other subs.

as for comps, it goes with preferences. i'm not saying RF comps are crap or even mohawk, but it goes with my preferences. different ppl different preferences when it comes to either comps or coaxials or a 3 way.

so a 10K doesnt alays mean it will sound much better than a 4k. istallation is important and tuning, tuning, tuning and more tuning which makes a system sounds great.

Originally posted by dracid@Jan 21 2005, 00:25

What u mean by overrated?
is it the lanzar amp sound quality is not good compare to other branded amps?

p/s : still learning..

thanks.
overrated means that the amp claim to produce 10,000W power when it actually produce 100W. if you want to know how amps are overrated, try and check the fuse rating. if it has 2 fuse at 25 when it actually claim to produce 1000 W means that it is nonsense. in theory, higher fuse rating means that ti will produce higher output power.