Student buy car

yohannes said:
hopefull its in nice
condition and parents will be willing to buy for me..hehe

dude...this does not conform to your first post in this thread

thanks for the links honda accord!looks useful...:P bu not sure whether
im capable of identifying anything myself

Make sure the car is legit & legal. View all the documents & check whether the car is blacklisted under jpj & pdrm. If uwanna be sure go puspakom for a thorough inspection but u need to pay fees...bring along anybody who has experience in cars or whatsoever that u can trust. Take a test drive & try to pick up any abnormalities. Check for rusts, engine mountings, oil leaks, wierd sounds & dont be afraid to ask the owner bout any doubts you have. But then it all goes down to luck too. U might have checked everything thru ur mechanic & everythings fine but after a week or a month the problems starts to surface...hehe prepare sum hefty cash just in case of any serious problem. Hope this helps.

Legit i hope and think it is since ive seen his mum driving it since ten years ago.what documents are there and how to check for blacklisted?online?puspakom about 500 right?hmm..perhaps ill just send drive it over to my friendly service centre 10minutes away from his house. hehe..he did tell me timing belt has to be changed...anyway , how hefty is a hefty sum of cash?:P

zan said:
3. it is brand new car with warranties! forget about 96 satria or 10K sunny, its just too old. if u chalked up more than 20K per year, it will break down more often than u can imagine.

I chalk up 20k km per like 2 or 3 month
and my sunny is still as reliable as ever
never fail me and I really like it alot
never fial me to cut almost any car on tight corner

thteh86 said:
bros, not trying to be smart here...but a Sunny is a damn old car, u pay the amount of money for it, but if u're a 3rd or 4th hand car owner, u should know the conditions of the car. The chasis, the timing belt, the throttle body, the air cond, the seat, the exterior....etc, there might be something not functioning properly. My dad bought a 2nd hand benz b4 more than 10 years ago, and u know wat? within 3 months the engine oil leaking, the air cond not functioning properly, timing belt putus....etc And that car was only 2 years old, imagine a Nissan Sunny, such an old car...after replacing some parts and servicing i guess the repairs could sum up to 5k.

My personal opinion, if wanna get lousy car, get la 120y straight...can drift somemore hahahahhaa. If wanna get better car, my suggestion, kancil or kelisa 1999 and above, less hassles in repairs

IM the 5th hand owner of my sunny
yeah it got water leaking problem when I got it
but heck ... I Spend less than 3k fixing the car and it still run solid rock

yohannes said:
Nissan Sunny , Ke70 , etc --- less than 10k

Kelisa--More than 30k

what im looking at -- satria second hand --20+ k

Where i want to burden my parents bro..im looking for something
which i can afford la...and i like also ma..u recommend me Nissan
sunny cos cheap....less than ten k...then after awhile pulak u ask me
buy kelisa that easily costs 40k if new one...abit weird la there...
it depend on you
we are giving you our opinion and point of view and the car we currnetly
have

lol ... 20k can patch up a sunny drop in sr16ve and smoke practically almost
all 1.6 out there

yohannes said:
found a satria year 1996 not sure bout the condition weekend

gonna view it ex classmates one...price below 20k still nego not sure
how much with front rear side skirt , new coat of pearl white and some
minor stuff like steering , meter etc etc....will check it out..hopefull its in nice
condition and parents will be let me buy...sorry for pervious typo..hehe

by the way , what are the stuffs to look out for and normally second hand car have
to change what and spend how much restoring it to tip top condition?Can share the
costs of individual items roughly?So wont kena sotong..hehe

check for water leaking
check for engine bay wheather it is clean or not
drive abit the car see if got sound or not
try braking softly and really hard wheather got sound or not
turn the steering fully and see if got sound or not
while idle see if got sound or not
rpm fluc or not ,how much is the idle
check for rust
check the exhaust gas if blue or any colored engine sure gor problem
check brake oil level engine oil level
check power window if got
check wiper
check suspension wheather leaking oil or not
check boot wheather got rust or not
check make sure all light lever switch are functional
drive it in highway see if at 100 km/h got vibrate or not
check jpj got blacklist or not
check if got overdue summon or not
check battery water level
check radiotar water wheather karat or not
push the car down and see how many time it bounce ... if 1 still acceptable more suspension kong
make sure radio is still working
make sure no wire harness is dandling here and there under the steering around the feet area
make sure the seat doesnt smell
check all pillar if got karat or not
make sure all document is signed

there is alot more but cant remember at this moment

thanks thanks for all the advice! problem is my parents feel doubtful
about letting me buy a second hand car...the older , the more scared
they are bout it , and problem also is i cantg afford a new car..hmm...how
leh...anyway , seems to be quite alot to check there...another thing is ,
assuming the car is like 10years old by now....if i were to check all the problems
and send it to my mechanic , get him to calculate the total cost to restore the car to tip
top condition prolly around 2k i suppose , will a ten year old car be able to run reliable
after that?Presuming i fix everything that needs to be fixed, provided there arent any major problemsss...

After repair ofcouse good condition lohhh...

But u know lahh,car cannot say warranty 100% wont broke after repair 1 mahhh...if not all mechenic lapar mati liao lohh.......use ori of better part to warranty u car life.....n dont sent u car to black shop mechanic ohhh.....if nott.....

I own a Daihatsu Charade Aura, I must say its a very reliable car, only that there was this problem with radiator hose and the engine blew which could be prevented if I checked the water level. Changed to same engine for only RM900.

My vote goes for Daihatsu Charade Aura.

ambayah said:
I own a Daihatsu Charade Aura, I must say its a very reliable car, only that there was this problem with radiator hose and the engine blew which could be prevented if I checked the water level. Changed to same engine for only RM900.

My vote goes for Daihatsu Charade Aura.
yea
daihatsu aura!!
woohoo
hehehe
ma fren drives one
love it
except for the air con which can be solved coz his old dii ma so not so cold
and ermmmm the steering
besides tat
damn syok
:P

guest18 said:
I chalk up 20k km per like 2 or 3 month
and my sunny is still as reliable as ever
never fail me and I really like it alot
never fial me to cut almost any car on tight corner

r u sure 20,000km in 2-3 months? that is like 8,000km per month or 266km per day. r u driving a taxi? ha ha ha juz kidding..btw B11 sunny is a basic car on 4 wheels. better reliability.

i thrashed my car as i drive becoz i traveled chasing against time. i truly understand why it brokedown quite often ..he he unless i behave on the road like an uncle, then i think for one whole year also juz need to fill in petrol.

no regrets though as my 20 years old galant seems to depreciate very little every year. maybe about RM600 less every year. compare this to a 60K car.

1st year depreciate 6K.
2nd year depreciate 5K
3rd year depreciate 5K.
4th year depreciate 4K.

that i cud not tolerate. :)

yohannes said:
hi guys....just asking for fun, just in case i suddenly wanna buy a car.

Questions :

1 . Student buy car, how to go about it?Cos i got no working documents
and stuff etc etc....so how to get loan?Is a guarantor necessary?

2. I heard that with a record of a consistent amount of money banked into
your account every month, can use as proof of ability to pay the monthly
installment

3. If i buy, just buy 2nd hand wira/satria(if turbo also nice yeah?haha)
something below 30k, closer to 20k if possible. So , what would i need for
this kinda price?

4. Is it possible to buy without my father's knowledge?Kakakaka

Thanks in advance for replies and advice guys...

1. when i was student, i've a car which is under my father's name. he is the one who go for loan. me, pay the installment for every month.
u've to make sure ur name is included in the insurance. so that, when u involved with accident, u can claim the insurance

2. from what i heard from friends, this can be done. my friend told me people who're doing MLM, can do this way. by having track of transaction, bank can allow for loan.

3.no comment, go for turbo lah.:regular_smile:

4. i don't think so.

waa nowdays student really rich people laa ... can afford to buy car... using the study loan or what..:D

no 'lah', i'm not using loan to pay for the car.
i'm using the car to get money,:regular_smile:
i'm doing car rental services for student.
many friends of mine doing so, some of them own 2 or 3 cars.

yohannes said:
thanks thanks for all the advice! problem is my parents feel doubtful
about letting me buy a second hand car...the older , the more scared
they are bout it , and problem also is i cantg afford a new car..hmm...how
leh...anyway , seems to be quite alot to check there...another thing is ,
assuming the car is like 10years old by now....if i were to check all the problems
and send it to my mechanic , get him to calculate the total cost to restore the car to tip
top condition prolly around 2k i suppose , will a ten year old car be able to run reliable
after that?Presuming i fix everything that needs to be fixed, provided there arent any major problemsss...
yohannes, good luck with ur car hunt.. gambare!!!

hi fren, since u r student tat only aged at 19+ then u shoudn't demand 2 much of “luxuries” tat u still cannot afford yet and put 2much of financial stress n pressure on ur parents...a budget car like sunny or KE70 is more than enuff for u....

n about ur gf, will she run away from u just bcoz u driving a budget car?
if she do, then dun bother to let her go lar...tell her tat u getting a car to drive her everywhere is better to ask her to use public transport...just my 2cents....

i'm student also but i never demand for a car from my parents since it's not a "must" for a student, i rather get sum cash by myself n get a budget car....

anyways, good luck in ur car huntin....

Thanks for your replies guys.... Anyway, didnt expect that anyone would reply this thread since Ive already bought my car more than 2 years ago.

Haha...Anyway, I wasnt expecting my parents to buy me the car too... was all along planning to buy it myself. Thanks for the replies anyway =P