Student buy car

nonono... i means after year 98.. all is without air bag... only year 96-97 got... ok? u know la... not air bag stering... the original stering wif proton logo.. very ugly... hahaha....
and... after 98... red and white satria have no power windows.... very mafan.. if no power windows...

in kl......lots of highway...safety comes first when deciding which car to buy....

satria i think got power window rite? satria too small.....try wira aeroback better...

parents not suggest buy car? then ask them charter u a taxi or bus..hehe

used car not bad...but got to see wat car lo....

depends on luck oso........

dear yohannes,

u described urself as a student, meaning low budget but u do not want a kancil as at times u need to travel down to jb. still, u need good fuel consumption. i can only think of one car.

at RM32,000 try get a new kelisa EX. it is using 850cc engine with EFI!! if i am not mistaken, its DOHC. u wont get power windows, or power steering even power mirror. you do not get rear wiper neither. that is only on the diadvantage side. think of the advantage

1. bigger than kancil, more stable and more space, more comfortable.
2. not that more expensive than kancil. new kancil 850EX is about RM28K.
3. it is brand new car with warranties! forget about 96 satria or 10K sunny, its just too old. if u chalked up more than 20K per year, it will break down more often than u can imagine.
4. highly reliable with low number of problems. hardly breakdown except puncture or empty fuel tank.
5. u wont lose on pickup or top speed. 1.0 kelisa can do 160kmh after a long strech of road.
6. easy to manouvre in tight spaces and park where a waja could not squeeze in.
7. want to sell back? it will be a lot easier becoz after 3 or 4 years still can arrange loan. when u buy sunny, u keep it forever unless u find another student to buy it from you. so as a car that is 10 years old now. it will be 15 years old when you want to resell, difficult to finance..prospect buyer will back off.

my 2 cents...he he btw, most important thing...u have driving license or not?

maybe i can oso give some advice here..hhehehe....i used to be a student wif car(in my name) but my parents paying for it. u can get loan wif it but u must supply the bank wif the income document of your guarantor. now when i working, i do the same n get a car for my sister who is studying.

i think currently the easiest to get loan is Ambank...most of new car dealer like to go ambank cause they say fast n easier to get n less likely get rejected. other bank would be more strict. i

think u better get a bigger car to go outstation.satria is a good choice since u usually carry only u n gf.no need get wira cause heavier n takes more petrol. as for old car(>15yr), if good u can get a reliable one. if bad, u will have a lot of headache wif constant breakdowns n expensive repairs(this month this spoil, next month tat spoil).

as u need to go overseas soon, u better buy the car cash so tat u dun lose so much money when u sell it. let say u get 5 yr loan(interest for 2nd hand would >4% per annum). so u need to pay bout >20% of interest when u ony use the car for one year..when u sold it off after 1 year, u still need to pay for interest for the rest of 4 yrs.

think for yrself if it's really worth it to get a car.maybe get a bike..hahhahaha...buy car is easy, maintain is hard.

bros, not trying to be smart here...but a Sunny is a damn old car, u pay the amount of money for it, but if u're a 3rd or 4th hand car owner, u should know the conditions of the car. The chasis, the timing belt, the throttle body, the air cond, the seat, the exterior....etc, there might be something not functioning properly. My dad bought a 2nd hand benz b4 more than 10 years ago, and u know wat? within 3 months the engine oil leaking, the air cond not functioning properly, timing belt putus....etc And that car was only 2 years old, imagine a Nissan Sunny, such an old car...after replacing some parts and servicing i guess the repairs could sum up to 5k.

My personal opinion, if wanna get lousy car, get la 120y straight...can drift somemore hahahahhaa. If wanna get better car, my suggestion, kancil or kelisa 1999 and above, less hassles in repairs

yohannes, ill take some pics later and tell everything u need to know

Proton Tiara rumah saya ada jugak sebijik saya takut belum sampai KL

sudah putus dua...hehe.sorry bro, not trying to be mean but seriously
the proton tiara in my house seems to be an extremely unreliable car and
we only use it to go short distances like go mini market or something....certainly
not to come up and down kl...hehe.

anyway , thanks for all the replies everyone and sorry for the late reply. anyway
at themoment i will stop here and wait see whether my parents do allow me to get
a car or not as i havent went home to discuss with them yet and even on the phone
they do sound quite disapproving already. anyway , will keep u guys updated...thanks
for all the info and supporT!

yohannes said:
hehe..nola..im not saying that sunny is lousy or wad...just tat...my gf
has seen that particular model together with me before and i do know
that she doesnt really like it and frankly i also kinda prefer a car that looks
trendier abit..hehe..u know la young fellas:P

erm....don plan to put extra burden on them cos i was thinking , now every
month i spend my money upgrading pc la...pay phone bill la few hundred bucks,
better i buy a car instead..cos my quite far from me mar...got car straight go find
her ma..can save phonebill...at the end of the day still got a car sumore..haha.and
seriously my phone bill also more than half the monthly installment for a 25k car lo.
and this money not take from parents one...parents give me a standard amount , what
other average living students get also o...most of the money ownself earn one ma..
but..still , need to consult parents lar as im still considered dependent on them.

Fees also they don need pay at the moment ma get scholarship:Phaha...thought wanna
try depend on myself get a car too ...but talked to them already they aren't that enthusiastic...hmm....

i agree with RodneyK. dun burden your parents with ya ego to own nice cars so dat can take chicks out and all that. Study 1st...buy something reasonable... kelisa maybe:) , it's not such a bad car... for it's size, it's got quite an amount of power.

Than after you finished study and made your parents proud, u start work and then u can buy whatever car u want. Seriously bro, there's no rush.... take you time, prices on old cars will get cheaper and new affordable cars wil be coming soon.

Aiiyyya... young ppl always like dis....no patient but wan to follow the trend.

you said:

"erm....don plan to put extra burden on them cos i was thinking , now every
month i spend my money upgrading pc la...pay phone bill la few hundred bucks,
better i buy a car instead..cos my quite far from me mar...got car straight go find
her ma..can save phonebill...at the end of the day still got a car sumore..haha.and
"

come on man.....how shallow can u be. this is probably the worst excuse i've ever heard:mad: .
Think about this, if u buy a car...u stil have to 1.pay for petrol 2. send for service 3. if it's an old car, u'll probably need to change suspension and a lot of things. 4. don't tell me if the car is oledi modded, u dun want to mod somemore coz all your friends will b doing it.:mad:

pls lah bro, i also use car.....from the 1st day i bought(wif my own money:cool: ) my 1st car till my 5th car i've been modding them. On top of that u still have to pay phone bills and other comitments(bills).
don't torture your parents lar:mad: .

I'm sorry if i have came across quite rough to u, but this what i think about your problem.And this is for your own good...It's shitty but that's part of life that u have to accept. If your gf thinks that this sucks.... well i think u should look for another one, coz she bloody hell materialistic man, sorry to say. there's a lot of other chicks out there who just love old cars like nissan sunny, KE70, KE30, A31...etc. i even knew a beautiful chick here in ZTH that drives a modded nissan sunny wif turbo engine......hhhhhm my, my damn she's fine.

Anyway, study 1st, worry bout car later. U need to buy a car just for the sake of going back & forth JB-KL. Taking the bus or the train is cheaper than car. But if u must buy a car, then buy a kancil or a kelisa 1st ler, at least your parents won't feel like there's and additional hole in their pocket all of the sudden!

Nissan Sunny , Ke70 , etc --- less than 10k

Kelisa--More than 30k

what im looking at -- satria second hand --20+ k

Where i want to burden my parents bro..im looking for something
which i can afford la...and i like also ma..u recommend me Nissan
sunny cos cheap....less than ten k...then after awhile pulak u ask me
buy kelisa that easily costs 40k if new one...abit weird la there...

and i where got say wanna buy any very chun car to impress my gf or
wad...i just stated wad im interested in right from the start of the topic
mar...and another thing...i do need the car for some business purposes
also lor...transporting stuff and etc...its not tat simple as u think..anyway
thanks for planting ur valuable thoughts here...

oh yar and btw so far whatever extra expenses ive been incurring
all ive been settling myself la bro...wads this about torturing my
parents and stuff...aih~~ i was just asking about the loan part
and stuff mar... why pulak so much side stories come in...

if i didnt calculate in the first place my budget and stuff ,i wouldnt
even dare think of buying a car mar...

goosfrabar said:
aiyo bro, this satri selling for RM26000 la. for RM25000, u can get a good nissan cefiro with RB20DET....ready for drift oledi.

hahahhahahaha.
haiyo taiko...ceferio is 89 to 92 year car lehhh...that 26K satria is 2001 car lehh..not same story lehh....every ppl hv them own choice 1......some more drift not easy to do 1 lehh....need spend many money to do 1.....n dengerous 1.....like my KP61 last time accident liao...still now also not yet hv part repair lehh......YOHANES no income...play rb20det mehh.....petrol now raise price lehh...Hmmm my repair satria price around RM1K lohhh..with out labour..bcs diy mahh....but munky car also not bad lahh,powerful.....

WAJA2003 said:
Hmmm my repair satria price around RM1K lohhh..with out labour..bcs diy mahh....but munky car also not bad lahh,powerful.....

dude, i dont get wat ur talking in the last part... bcs? noobie..sorry
anyway, i m looking for a car also...i m a student but graduating in a month's time, so consider i m getting a car for work..currently eyeing ke70 for low price, low operating cost n driftable + 4AGE... the look..hv to accommodate a bit la, haha..n also the narrower rear passenger area(comparing this to a 82' sunny 130y).

dude yohannes, getting modded car needs extra care on the initial car condition. as my fren usually suggest, get a stock car n slowly do up the mods urself coz u nvr know wat the modded car been through.

petrol + regular services + emergency services + insurance + road tax...i'd rather opt for a motorcycle but my parents dont allow me to ride one. Iswaras are quite cheap with plenty of room even in the back seat...hehe. How reliable the car is depends on how the previous owner maintained it or just bad luck.

good luck mate =D

jus get a trusted mechanic to go along when u buying ur 2nd hand car..let him check thru lor..

Hi , i recommend u to buy a 2 seater car, its not a coupe, its not 2 door. Its a motorcycle heheheh, seriously 2 seater, hahahaha for less than rm20k hehehe.

Ok , joke aside, u remind me of me few years ago, i study in kl and my parent buy me a car, at that time i don't know about the price to pay after getting my kelisa :( , i have to 1) maintain the car(service) 2) went for repair coz i drive like a sohai at night, averagely one and a half month bang the car one time, my friends all also laugh hehehhe 3) take gf out to college, shopping low yat... damn kau the parking fee, going to college myself and other places, so petrol factor is high too.
And also other factor u have to take into account after u get ur car, so i advise u better do part-time job when on ur weekend or semester break so u won't burden ur parent on the monthly loan or petrol.
Ending of me is no more kelisa...my first love :( other than my gf. But now i got accord hehehehe

ya parking at golden triangle damn kaw. few years back got one time park RM12 at sungai wang. siau.....now park at open air per entry car park at rm5 no matter how long u park but walk a bit la..sometimes take lrt but lrt oso not cheap man. take till hang tuah station still need to walk, change monorail even more expensive.so think bout it better take car.

if u gonna use the car for 1 year, no need to mod la.waste money. when u sell tat time, nobody gonna pay for yr mod.

found a satria year 1996 not sure bout the condition weekend

gonna view it ex classmates one...price below 20k still nego not sure
how much with front rear side skirt , new coat of pearl white and some
minor stuff like steering , meter etc etc....will check it out..hopefull its in nice
condition and parents will be let me buy...sorry for pervious typo..hehe

by the way , what are the stuffs to look out for and normally second hand car have
to change what and spend how much restoring it to tip top condition?Can share the
costs of individual items roughly?So wont kena sotong..hehe