suitable old cars?

wow zen. i get very much help right there! but, is a buying a mini clubman is a good investment? well, i've run some research that a mini's would cost around a hefty rm10k (lowest!)! So, i've been offered rm4k and the engine is in a good cond. but the floor need to weld a new one. what your opinion, zen? :confused:

Mini is a very bumpy car.Have you driven one before?. With such a short wheelbase...no matter how you mod the suspension...it's still a bumpy and uncomfortable car. The engine is loud and rough. You can feel the vibration of the engine thru the steering and dashboard.

It looks cute...but you'll get bullied even by a kancil on the road!. NOt counting the much bigger wira, waja, merc, toyota etc.

Spare parts are way more expensive than similar era Jap cars. YOu'll end up coughing so much money to maintain a Mini.

my opinion would be either KE70 or TA22. KE70 for sure will fit your budget, it's a really good car, very reliable, but very underpower too. biggest problem of the car would probably be the rust, and second is the gearbox noise. before i drive the car, my dad used to swap the gearbox 4 times just because the gearbox is noisy, but to me i don't care.

TA22 would cost abit more, but if you look around you should be able to find one, maybe even have money left to paint it with a new coat of paint (same color, cheaper, i did it with my ke70, repair rust + paint around 1.2k). sommore the TA22 will have abit more power to start with because of the engine. if you really fix it up this one is a real killer. struck gold in the future and become rich? plonk in a V8, it fit in just nice. :D

rollakid said:
my opinion would be either KE70 or TA22. KE70 for sure will fit your budget, it's a really good car, very reliable, but very underpower too. biggest problem of the car would probably be the rust, and second is the gearbox noise. before i drive the car, my dad used to swap the gearbox 4 times just because the gearbox is noisy, but to me i don't care.

TA22 would cost abit more, but if you look around you should be able to find one, maybe even have money left to paint it with a new coat of paint (same color, cheaper, i did it with my ke70, repair rust + paint around 1.2k). sommore the TA22 will have abit more power to start with because of the engine. if you really fix it up this one is a real killer. struck gold in the future and become rich? plonk in a V8, it fit in just nice. :D

isnt ta22 is hard to find? where to get?

tapr00t123 said:
wow zen. i get very much help right there! but, is a buying a mini clubman is a good investment? well, i've run some research that a mini's would cost around a hefty rm10k (lowest!)! So, i've been offered rm4k and the engine is in a good cond. but the floor need to weld a new one. what your opinion, zen? :confused:

all the cars mentioned had 1 thing in common...they are more than 20 years old.

u cant expect much in terms of reliability, i believe many of them need repairs often.

if u have 4K, why dont settle down for the 1st model kancil? a 4 speed kancil EX is most probably below 10K, favourites amongst driving school operators.

u definitelt need a loan, maybe another 4K and spread it over 3/4 years..and monthly would be very low too. the kancil will get you through college graduation and after u obtained the first job...its up to you.

can dispose the car for a better one or go mod it.

tapr00t123 said:
isnt ta22 is hard to find? where to get?
i live in kuching sarawak so i dunno about you there. here lots of second hand car dealer that sell junk car :D few K a piece, usually need lots of repair. but once in a while if you're lucky you'll find a gem among the rocks.

i got a datsun 120y for sale , within 2k...view it at http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=93874&highlight=120y

for 8k u can get ke70,130y,kancil,daihatsu aura,mazda familia 323,ford tx3

my openion for a student dont buy those classic car cos u'll make a hole in ur pocket just to take care the car

just find those good condition car like kancil its ok, got a car to drive to class enough edi

If u really want an old skool car. maybe u can consider my Peugeot 504 imported version. since im downgrading to riding big bikes.

ppl always prefer a sunny .... my car go like 140 with loud sound n high rpm .... but a sunny i dunno what the previous owner did on it .... it goes 140 wit a not that high sound n lower rpm compare to mine .....