Buying a second hand car...

BeCool

Hii all the sifus....

i have searched the previous thread, but i cant find any tipsof buying a second hand car...

This is the first time i plan to buying a second hand car from direct owner...
may i know what r the things we need to check before buying ??

ermm...
like the most common thing is the condition of the car, anything else we need to check other than this??
like how do i know whether that car is blacklisted or not, or those illegal one...
i'm really dunno about anything b4 buying a second hand car..
worry that i might con by the owner later, ekeke

and after check everything, i will need to apply for the loan..
May i know wat kind of documents i must get from the car owner??

1st of all..check the body.see if there's any weldings or any drastic mods done to the chasis.

then let the car idle for 10-15mins or so..see if there's white smoke or any particular noises that its not supposed to produce.

u can just google for tips to buying a 2nd hand car.:_:

to check whether its blacklisted or not..take the number plate and ask JPJ or the cops.

u can ask a mechanic that u know or a fren that is experiance to go with u to c the car cos 4 eyes is better than 2 lol....

most important is check the car geran 1st. look at top left corner of the geran whether got printing word like 'sambungan' or 'salinan'. if no wording, tats better.
if got 'sambungan', tat means main geran full print or old geran n jpj change a new geran adi. consider still ok.
if got 'salinan', tat means geran hilang or rosak or duplicate one. very tricky n risky n dangerous. check at jpj 1st.

then check the body chasis number ... see whether got welded or some strange paint work or mods on there. scared the car is 'aeroplane' car.

if u r taking loans, dun worry ... u have to undergo inspection at puspakom. fellas there will inspect the car.
if u scared of illegal car, check jpj 1st. if u scared outstanding summons by previous owner, dun worry. nowadays jpj n pdrm take action on owner not car.

remember signed by both a delivery order n stated date of u taking the car (black n white). so that previous summons n illegal incidents r none of ur business. all beared by previous owner him/herself. that's it ...

try not to buy cars from secondhand car dealers...they are mostly unethical and profit oriented. However there are some dealers that are good and professional with their business. Just be careful with those sweet-talk-all-no-problem car salesman at the dealers.

the best thing is to start a car's engine when cold. that way can check for irregular noise like valve tappet, belting screeching noise, even faulty throttle body!

if the car's paint is weirdly clean and shine without scratch, take cautious. it might just got a new layer of paint. a new layer of paint can mean heavy body reapir work after a serious collision.
get a magnet and cover with cloth. glide the magnet on paint surface. too much cement underneath paint is never a good sign.

if colour had been changed...ask yourself - why? especially when the colour is non stock standard.

avoid cars with extreme modficiation. u want mod, do it yourself and know the history. mods with ICEs, and footwear is still reasonable.

check owner history (from reg card copy). is owner use to stay at flood prone areas - avoid buying. if there were 6 owners in its 5 years life - AVOID.

check mileage - average malaysian drives 25,000km. a 4 year old car doing 120,000km is still reasonable. cars that clocked 50-60,000km annually normally has higher wear and tear. prepare to spend more in maintenance. that car maybe a taxi before.... ha ha ha
a car that has done only 10,000km in 3 years is also questionable. what - 300km per month?? non-sense.

look below the engine - if there is an oil leak, leave immediately. check engine dipstick - clean oil show car is well taken care off. check also auto tranny oil (VERY VERY IMPORTANT). overfilled ATF oil is also not a good sign.
strange abnormal noise upon starting - leave. or at least bring along a friend who is very familiar with car mechanicals.

dont forget to note drive shaft boot if applicable.

look also for misaligned body panels and mismatch paint shades. those are signs of major repairs.

insists to get 2 sets of keys instead of one.

dont worry about black list of keta potong and things like that. its taken care of finance and JPJ upon change of ownership. finance make it compulsory for puspakom inspection.

one thing to remember now - used car dealers are struggling to dispose old stocks. they will avoid taking trade ins therefore, private sellers also will be desperate more than ever. haggle for the lowest price (do research first of market average). NEVER OVERPAY!!

zan said:
the best thing is to start a car's engine when cold. that way can check for irregular noise like valve tappet, belting screeching noise, even faulty throttle body!

if the car's paint is weirdly clean and shine without scratch, take cautious. it might just got a new layer of paint. a new layer of paint can mean heavy body reapir work after a serious collision.
get a magnet and cover with cloth. glide the magnet on paint surface. too much cement underneath paint is never a good sign.

if colour had been changed...ask yourself - why? especially when the colour is non stock standard.

avoid cars with extreme modficiation. u want mod, do it yourself and know the history. mods with ICEs, and footwear is still reasonable.

check owner history (from reg card copy). is owner use to stay at flood prone areas - avoid buying. if there were 6 owners in its 5 years life - AVOID.

check mileage - average malaysian drives 25,000km. a 4 year old car doing 120,000km is still reasonable. cars that clocked 50-60,000km annually normally has higher wear and tear. prepare to spend more in maintenance. that car maybe a taxi before.... ha ha ha
a car that has done only 10,000km in 3 years is also questionable. what - 300km per month?? non-sense.

look below the engine - if there is an oil leak, leave immediately. check engine dipstick - clean oil show car is well taken care off. check also auto tranny oil (VERY VERY IMPORTANT). overfilled ATF oil is also not a good sign.
strange abnormal noise upon starting - leave. or at least bring along a friend who is very familiar with car mechanicals.

dont forget to note drive shaft boot if applicable.

look also for misaligned body panels and mismatch paint shades. those are signs of major repairs.

insists to get 2 sets of keys instead of one.

dont worry about black list of keta potong and things like that. its taken care of finance and JPJ upon change of ownership. finance make it compulsory for puspakom inspection.

one thing to remember now - used car dealers are struggling to dispose old stocks. they will avoid taking trade ins therefore, private sellers also will be desperate more than ever. haggle for the lowest price (do research first of market average). NEVER OVERPAY!!

excellent guide , deserves STICKYYYYYYYYYYY

it's better for you to bring your own trusted machanic along....get him to check in details for you...happy buying