Proton called and asked me a few questions.

ambayah

Ok this morning Proton Edar called me and asked me two questions, "What do I work as?" and "What color is your car?" he said for customer data. For statistics, marketing purpose or what?

Should I suspect anything or this is normal because I bought from a sub-dealer?

edit:

With all the new tricks thieves having today, even something like this is suspicious.

tell them:

work = secret (add some evil laugh behind it..)

car color = dunno... it looks different from every angle and i had it air brushed all over... and the hood is carbon fiber

:lol:

ambayah,
did you tell them?
hmm..did they tell youw which proto they called from..very suspicious to me also

hmm..becareful yah

Originally posted by alantan@Mar 22 2005, 10:54
ambayah,
did you tell them?
hmm..did they tell youw which proto they called from..very suspicious to me also

hmm..becareful yah
[snapback]829872[/snapback]​

I told them :ph34r:

At first I thought, oh what the heck, but after that felt suspicous, even if I ask them, theyll sure will make something up right, the problem is my home phone doesnt have caller ID. I did ask them again in a suspicious way what for, they said for customer data /info something like that, and I believe its for market research like that maybe?

If anyone else here got the same call then its nothing to :ph34r: of.

i know there's a agency got the job in updating proton's customer database

did they ask for you personally? as in did they mention your full name etc?

sacarstic: They called my home phone :) but I can make something up he he

916EK: Well I guess that's it, they mentioned my full name B)

XaMaX: :ph34r: :lol:

Anyone who experience this before, post ok! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by ambayah@Mar 22 2005, 12:59
sacarstic: They called my home phone :) but I can make something up he he

916EK: Well I guess that's it, they mentioned my full name B)

XaMaX: :ph34r: :lol:

Anyone who experience this before, post ok! :rolleyes:
[snapback]830187[/snapback]​

i think u should call back their HQ or their branch around ur places to comfirm whether got ppl call ur num or not.... :lol: :lol:

You got ask which branch is he from? and his name and contact?
this is important dude....better check it out about this with the proton :)

Originally posted by ambayah@Mar 22 2005, 10:19
Ok this morning Proton Edar called me and asked me two questions, "What do I work as?" and "What color is your car?" he said for customer data. For statistics, marketing purpose or what?

Should I suspect anything or this is normal because I bought from a sub-dealer?

edit:

With all the new tricks thieves having today, even something like this is suspicious.
[snapback]829749[/snapback]​

1. ask for his/her name and direct phone number,
2. tell them that you will call back later to continue the survey.
3. call back Proton Edar general line to verify the number before call him/her back to continue the survery.

play safe.

4. ask whether they will give a free pen with it...
5. ask them if they deliver pizza, you are hungry...
6. gossip about what your neighbour is up to...

i think mayb is for statistic only lar coz that day when i service
my car at EDAR they ask me to fill this 4 page long survey..
ask a lot of crap question...but i dont think they will call u up leh :huh:

sorry to say that i do not like to participate in any knid of surveys
(I'm not helping the economy am i?)

they called me too. i think 2 weeks ago.
iirc, she asked for my current milleage. :rolleyes:
the rest, i cant remember :P

for me ? " driving driving .......if i kena sommon ...u pay for it "

or

" jus now someone called me up alredi wat , what for so many times 1 ?
my color is spray by myself by these spray bought from shopping 1 , so i m not sure the color , look like red ? erm.....no no ...pink ? no no ......
sorry ah .....i got color blind ........somemore .....my hood and door get from diffirent halfcut workshop .....then u wan to know my hood color or door color or roof color ? roof ? sorry ....sun roof ......no color .........
hey....u prefer red or yellow ah ? i prefer red leh .....but majority ppl like yellow wor ...how ah ? .............

jus continue talking rubbish to them .......

these ppl veri dangerous 1 ....always say wan to make some report or what ! last time someone say call from TMNET , another times dunno which magazine ....

they ask about my job n imcome somemore ...

hehe....u wanna what i told them ?

TMNET: r u using streamyx ?
ME : yaya ...y?
TMNET: which packcage u chose ?
ME : 512kbps ! oh ya ...why my line havent update ?
u all cheat me again ? dun bluf me ....tell me why my line havent
upgrade yet ?
TMNET: sorry ..i m not sure wif it ! tht is not my job
ME : u dunno how to check ah ? call from TMNET ? is u using TMNET line
call me or call from TMNET ?
TMNET: erm....we r veri sorry wif tht , pls come to our tmnet centre for
for more information ! thx ..bye ...( said it veri quickly )

MAGAZINE : we r XXXX magazine ...we r doing a report for next issue
can u do me a favour ?
ME : yes ...sure
MAGAZINE : what is ur name ?
ME : u din told me ur name yet !
MAGAZINE : oh...sorry ....i m micheal ......
ME : i m jacky ( actually i m not jacky ah )
MAGAZINE : what is ur job ?
ME : working in food stall
MAGAZINE : boss ?
ME : no ! cleaner there
MAGAZINE: ok , what is ur income ?
ME : erm.......about RM5k loh .....y?
MAGAZINE : ?? how can u earn 5k wif cleaner tis job ?
ME : i din said i jus working cleaner !! and the food stall is my friends
jus help him when i was free ...y?
MAGAZINE : ok ..actually wat is ur real job ?
ME : real job ah ? i think is engineer .....
MAGAZINE : what mean u think ?
ME : becos i m still a student wat ! how to work ?
MAGAZINE : ( they change veri fast oh !!) then .what ur father work as ?
ME : i m not sure leh .....he always stay at home minum teh......
MAGAZINE : boss ?
ME : u ask him lah
MAGAZINE : can u pass ur phone to ur dad ?
ME : UK now ! phone number is 012344556( jus reading a UK magazine
simply giv the number on the book to her )
MAGAZINE : thank you
ME : welcome

she said thank you to me somemore

dun simply answer them any real detail ...
jus bluf them ........

another time is call from wat group lah ..
ask me for where i live wor ......
jus answer them " M'SIA lah " they said i m veri humour somemore ...
" ok lar ...... i live in my house " then......i hang up the phone ......

nowadays , theif using many many ways to near u .......

becareful

the got ur full name.. no prob.. i also can.. can find in the telephone directory.. those ppl who ask for full name normally my mom dont entertain.. cuz always kena those like.. buy periuk la.. this la dat la..

Yea, this is really dangerous. There was once I actually received a call asking for my credit card number. Guess what, they know my handphone number and they know my full name! I don't know how they knew and I was kind of surprised since I couldn't be published on any phonebooks right?

Anyway, they asked for my credit card number and I was like WTF! You said you know what credit card I was using then you might as well check out my number! STUPID! I asked them, "Wait, where did you say you were calling from again?" They said, "I am calling from XXX and I am YYY. So what is the number? We just want to ensure bla bla bla..." I replied, "Actually, my mom sub this credit card to me." They went, "Ohhh.. anyway, thank you sir.."

WTF, idiots! :lol:

When I get calls like this, the first thing that comes out of my mouth is...

"May I ask how did you get my number?"
And they'd reply some fucked up shit like "our head hunter dept does that"
And then I'd say, "Please remove my number from your database immediately. I'm not interested in your plans but thanks anyway. Thank you"
And they haven't even tell me anything yet. hahaha

Yea, I did ask how they got my number and they gave me shit like "Oh, our bla bla bla got it. I am not too sure.." Whole lots of bull crap!

There was this Cuti-cuti malaysia thing, I don't even know if it is real. They were saying that I would get all sorts of benefits and I played around with the operator and she couldn't understand what I was trying to tell her and she called another person to attend to me.

This one told me whole lots of stuffs again and I just went "I see...". After all those talks, all I said was, I have to consider first. She asked me why would I want to consider first. I just told her I wanted to consider. She said OK and she said she'd call me back in an hours time. Turned out, she didn't even call back after that.

I have received calls of this type for several times now and I don't even care. SIGH, people nowadays, terrorizing those with handphones.