Potenza GIII

najibkl

Guys, anyone here used this tyre? How much for 15/16?? Where???Performance????

Mind to share !

p/s : Seen advert at autoworld

Using this on my Charade 185/60/14. Dry is same as my previous Pirelli.. nothing to shout about.... but wet is very good. Tried it on highway raining time, no regret taking this. Another contender is the Yokohama ES100, but I think G3 is more sporty.
FYI, I tried ES100 on a wira.

Previously i was quoted RM280-290 each for a Potenza GIII sized 205/40/17 83W rated. As for 16" sized 205/45/16 i've no idea but for 195/50/15 82V rated, it's going for RM190 each.

Made In Thailand? because i was quoted RM190 but made in thailand so i ended up buying a cheaper one... since i kinda rough use...

no doubt, my ES100 (becoming semi-slick to slick tyres, before i change) is soooo good and it is still better than my new four tyres

Originally posted by 4agze@Feb 22 2005, 17:47
Made In Thailand? because i was quoted RM190 but made in thailand so i ended up buying a cheaper one... since i kinda rough use...

no doubt, my ES100 (becoming semi-slick to slick tyres, before i change) is soooo good and it is still better than my new four tyres
Of course made in Thailand. Its for Asia market. Also available Made in Japan

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/emzine/1723/1723F63747950.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/emzine/1723/1723F63257210.jpg

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/emzine/1723/1723F63258740.jpg

hi pal...how much is the Yoko ES100 cost for 195/50/15 series..?

Originally posted by kiyoshi@Feb 23 2005, 11:45
hi pal...how much is the Yoko ES100 cost for 195/50/15 series..?
last year i bought at RM210 with 195/55/15

and Potenza GIII would be cost a bomb if it is made in Japan

hi,

i'm using it....225/55/16 Made in Japan. I think grip & aqua planning good but little bit noisy

Noise is there. Directional tyre, I think must have 1 lah... If really want quiet 1 you can try Michellin Pilot Preceda, asymetrical. Should be quiet. Or Energy XM1.

Originally posted by whx@Feb 23 2005, 12:03
hi,

i'm using it....225/55/16 Made in Japan. I think grip & aqua planning good but little bit noisy
Where got 16 inches made in JapanG??

Originally posted by TiBuN@Feb 23 2005, 13:21
Noise is there. Directional tyre, I think must have 1 lah... If really want quiet 1 you can try Michellin Pilot Preceda, asymetrical. Should be quiet. Or Energy XM1.
How much for 15 or 16??

For 16" : Silverstone SSV = 165, Aksa = 170, Ventus =185, Nangkang = 168, Toyo = 300, Falken = 245

Originally posted by najibkl+Feb 23 2005, 15:20 -->
QUOTE (najibkl @ Feb 23 2005, 15:20 )
--QuoteBegin-TiBuN
@Feb 23 2005, 13:21

How much for 15 or 16??

For 16" : Silverstone SSV = 165, Aksa = 170, Ventus =185, Nangkang = 168, Toyo = 300, Falken = 245 [/b][/quote]
15" quoted RM200 in Wangsa Maju for G3.
16" I don't know, should be in the range of RM220.
If your driving preference is spirited / enthusiastic, then I would say this tyre is sufficient enough.
Nankang i hear bad comment on autoworldforum.
Ventus is also a good tyre in terms of grip. But i dunno about the treadwear...
Falken 512 izzit? Initially wanted to go for that, but in the end decided to go for G3 cause it's newer.
Toyo Trampio ?

Originally posted by nd4ever@Feb 22 2005, 17:36
Previously i was quoted RM280-290 each for a Potenza GIII sized 205/40/17 83W rated.
nd4ever, can u give me the shop address. Last time i bought from L.S sunway, around $320 to $340 (forget already) for each Pontenza GIII 205/40/17.

I’m currently using Potenza. Not satisfied loh… Which should I seek for?

anyone know the price about this tyre (NEW)
and how about the performance?

Size : 195 / 50 / 15

1- Falken ZE512
2- Dunlop SP9000
3- Yoko ES100
4- Potenza (wat model ngam for that size)

Size : 195 / 50 / 15

1- Falken ZE512 - RM 148.00 each
2- Dunlop SP9000 - RM 130.00
3- Yoko ES100 - RM 145.00
4- Potenza (wat model ngam for that size) GIII - RM 180.00

Was using 2nd hand GIII made in Japan.. good. Now using Advan Neova AD07 new rubbers. much better in dry grip. Bought mine for RM220 a piece (14")

I'm using a pair of Potenza GIII on my fronts. The grip is alright, I guess. I only tried the grip once after I changed my front abs and springs. Tried a bit of spin around the sunway "industrial" area, where all the car workshops are. Quite good grip. Grip on wet? Didn't try because my rear tyres ain't good anymore.
Got it at Kota Kemuning in Klang for RM178 per piece, 195/50/R15.

One advice to anyone who wants to change tyres in Klang.
If you DO NOT know the people who sells the tyres, just change the tyres there and that's it. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT let the mechs there drive your car for a test run after they put the wheels back on your car. I'm sorry to say but majority of malaysian workshops has earned themselves of being fucking vehicle abusers when it comes to testing customer's cars. So just get the tyres changed, have it installed, and do the alignment / balancing / etc. at your friends place. If not, find a friend who knows someone who does alignment / balancing / etc.