Tyres - My opinion

zero4 said:
i see i seee, like that not bad loh the ST115, i was wondering, u know how much thread that one time SIC session makan away?

dunno laa..... maybe it chew 1-2 months of tyre away.. :D

if i had money i would love to test the Azenis RT215... but no money..

RT215 good loh, semis mah, i would like to have those, sure damn syok running on SIC

my GIIIs really botak liao now, just after 1 session in SIC, maybe i jam and spun kau turn 6 i think, flat spot, now gone case, wheel spin non stop

Zero4;
1 session habis GIII?? wah... u must be one of those hardcore racers that overtake us amatuer hobby racers like crazy one... i always get out of racing line when u guys are approaching... :D

About the RT215, i read in a report that they were suprisingly "OK" in the rain. They did'nt say it was good, but it was OK and acceptable... i was quoted RM330 per peice for 15's at hup shun sunway... want to start saving for a set.... :D

aiks, the GIII got not much thread also ler before i go down, hohohohoh, i thought wont makan so much, mana tahu 1 session habis oredi

nolah, i'm just another hobby racer like you guys lah

i got a buddy running on RT215, comment is, darn good

in wet ah, is really OK only loh, raining better drive extremely carefull loh

we once ran up genting, it was drizzling, the fella stilll pek, in WET condition is still acceptable ler i would say

During the days of 4 Yokohama A520
During those days with Yokies A520 all round, there was quite a bit of run in that is required. When I tried doing some sharp lefts and rights, the car feels like it's floating. At that point of time, my car was 1 finger gap for front, and about 2.5 fingers gap at the rear.

After running in for a bit, it felt normal and grippy again. I had quite a bit of mixed reactions on the Yokies on and off. It also felt "flat and even" when driving and doing sharp lefts and rights.

On Dry road
Dry road, it's quite acceptable and rather grippy. Doesn't screech so easily unless I do something obviously foolish. Flooring the accelerator a little bit more than normal also doesn't screech so easily, but I would also guess it's how the acceleration takes place. Of course, all things considered, nothing too much would be done, for example, holding the rev at 5000 or 6000, then suddenly releasing the clutch, or those kind of stuff. So, over all on dry road, it's quite alright. Kinda better than the GIII, generally.

On Wet road
I wouldn't put much bet on this. It's given me mixed reactions on dry road. When the thread starts to wear out (but not like until 20% or 30% remaining), it doesn't really hold the road well. ON the CONTRARY, I've tried taking the LDP Western Digital over head (where there's a kinda curve on the over head bridge) on a wet road. The rain has just stopped but the road wasn't entirely dry due to the time being at night, at about 12am or so. I did the corner at about 135kmh, running over the over-head bridge expanders, but it didn't even slide a tad bit. It held the road pretty well. Never tried any more after that. To my surprise, when I run Yokies A520 only in the back, the car could easily slide from as low as about 50imh to 60kmh, on a normal curve road. For example, the 2-lane flyover from MidValley that links to Federal Highway, the side that is leading to PJ/Subang. So, that's why it's mixed reactions.

Generally,
Could it be that I should not mix the tyres? Is it strongly recommended to use same brand tyres all round?

TypicalGuy said:
then why u never put yoko for the front?

maybe more botak ..more grip on dry?
I wanted to put the new GIII on the front because the front Yokies A520 were almost out. So I decided to live with Yokies on the back and Potenza GIII on the fronts. Kinda feel that I shouldn't mix the tyres. :)

beatnik said:
satria_95 i assume u r driving a satria? tubo'ed that is?
Yeah, satria. Engine fully stock 1.6L manual. Nothing else is done, other than using K&N replacement filter.

zero4 said:
GIII can use and flood on water when go swimming lah
Yes. How true to a certain extent. I've attached here a photo of my tyres. Of course, it's been used for a while already when these photos were taken.
The 2 grooves in the middle is quite deep. The grooves on the outer side is not as deep. However, despite these 4 grooves which BridgeStone claims to slice through water (of course, to a certain level), it still doesn't perform entirely as expected. The tyres feels like it's starting to float.
Potenza_GIII.jpg

My first 15" second hand tyres
Well, it came with my 15" rims so I used it for a bit since it's got about another 40% thread left. It was SilverStone FTZ sports, 195/50. I understand that SilverStone is a local tyre manufacturer. To what extent that it is fully true, I'm not sure but I'll take it that it is a local manufacturer.

Considering that it's local, the FTZ sports performed quite impressively, not to the extent of taking it maximum but enough in speed to get some fun and exhiliration.

Performed quite well on damp roads (unlike the 30+ % on the Yokies A520 on my rear). Wouldn't bet on wet road, though.

On dry conditions, it grips quite good. In fact, better than the Potenza GIII generally. Maybe that's why I couldn't exactly find the Potenza GIII on bridgestone's website anymore.
http://www.bridgestonetires.com
Go to "products" on the right hand side to see the list of products that they have.

Thanks for reading through for those who were patient enough.

which brand of tires you guys recommend? criteria: quiet(most important),grippy on wet n dry.size..215.45.17

satria_95 said:
Yes. How true to a certain extent. I've attached here a photo of my tyres. Of course, it's been used for a while already when these photos were taken.
The 2 grooves in the middle is quite deep. The grooves on the outer side is not as deep. However, despite these 4 grooves which BridgeStone claims to slice through water (of course, to a certain level), it still doesn't perform entirely as expected. The tyres feels like it's starting to float.
http://www.boomspeed.com/satria95/Potenza_GIII.jpg

and the compound is definately not as good as the falkens, i mean just GIII, dont know about other bridgestones.

guys.. im using ftz on my wheel rite now (16").. so far ok laa.. use it for 2 ++years.. newly change it 5 month ago.. b4 oso use ftz.. coz its the cheaper i think.. dry or wet condition so far ok for me.. cornering oso good..;) ( my car r standard 4G92p).

zero4,
Yeah, I feel that the compound makes the tyre crappy, somehow. It's coming to 6 months of using that tyres now. Don't plan to use GIII anymore. May want to go back to FTZ sports. :)

hey sifus...what about those high end Michelin and Continental tires?
it seems to me all those loaded uncles love these two brand...
and not to forget pirelli and sumitomo oso...
anyone with any experience with these brands?

p/s:with regards to michelin....pls ignore the scandal in US grand prix...heheh

my waja front wheel currently usin continental comfort contact tat made in malysia geh... size is 195/60/15 while back is usin dunlop LM702 made in japan... continental is soft, comfort n less noise... but when takin sharp corner the sound will come out easily but it stil in grip mayb coz of the material of the tyre??? i oso not sure... bout michelin pirelli n sumitomo no comment coz din use if b4

jz my 2cents... correct me if i m wrong

satria_95 said:
zero4,
Yeah, I feel that the compound makes the tyre crappy, somehow. It's coming to 6 months of using that tyres now. Don't plan to use GIII anymore. May want to go back to FTZ sports. :)

same here, no more GIII, me going for RT215, heard that the new replacement for RT215 aint that good, i forgotten the tire code already

Though Dunlop SP9000 has been quite a while but i still prefer using them. Dunlop Direzza DZ101 has replace Dunlop FM901 and yet the tyre performs well. Though FM901 pattern looks damn cool but heard that this tyre is damn noisy. well *heck i don't mind those noise as my car already bising enough. :p

If ur talkin bout Sumitomo tyres, try Sumitomo HTR Z2 (hope it spells right) this pattern is nearly similiar to Dunlop SP9000.

Hope this helps.

:)

using bridgestone SO3 now, very good indeed...

will change to direnza maybe...