Tyres - My opinion

hmmm...no one mentioned anything abotu quiet tires. sifu's recommend some la. quiet ones. dun care if got no grip also. ehehe. as long quiet. :)

i'm using es100 and i must say i like the dry and wet grip as compared to my previous ducaro ga, which is by no means competition to the es100.

u guys might have forgotten the goodyear f1 gsd3 which is actually a very good tyre too. worth a try!

good thread......thnx to satria_95.......

im looking for tyre now..and open to choices...and ive used A520......
for me its damn good......but wear out too fast...a session in bt3 (yeah i know..long time already) can do a visible damage to the tyre..emmm but maybe coz the track itself......

i might use A520 again....coz budget x cukup :)..for 140(is it??)i think gonna test it again and in sepang if possible.......

what about the new silverstone ka??EVO8 tyre???

so as a conclusion...which tires represent best worth of money leh?

Gti,
I guessing that tyres would have to suit invidual needs. Of course, we only share our own personal experience on which tyres that we've used. One consideration that we would need to take into account is the driving style of the individual.

At DreamCars, I spoke to the people at the large BridgeStone about the problems I faced with the GIII, since they're promoting GIII at the booth. I told them that with a little harder braking on dry road, the tyres will start to slide. On wet road, it grips but starts to slide rather easily. I told him about my previous experience with the SilverStone tyres which was better than the GIII, and he only said, "Then I think you should use back the SilverStone tyres". Perhaps he's refering to individual preferences but I'm wondering whether is this how they market their products. Such typical Malaysian business people.

thosan, I've got friends using the pirelli dragons, and continental csc2 and are happy with it. Comfy:D

well...i will be changing my wheels to 17" soon...
thus am looking to fellow forummers experience...

Satria_95,
Thanx for ur kind advice though,....will take note of that..

i was quoted for 300bucks a piece for falken...and GIII oso bout that range..
Yoko Es100 is about 380...lowest i can get...but dun think i will be getting it cos my 16"that i am using now is quite noisy...performance wise of course...thumb up no complain.
very headache these few nights cos donno which wan to buy...
the fella in a shop in Kapar recommended me to use the new Dunlop...donno what name...
365 each...
but another shop in sunway say no good...
i oso kepala pusing..
but am currently thinking bout Falken coz...cheaper compared to YOko and performance wise....at least it won't sux big time...still considered reliable...

but come to think of it again...if I really wan to save...I can buy Kumho oso...bout 200 each...or bout the same range...Sime Tires...
Oso...there were expired Continental tiresoffered to me at one shop near SG Besi...worth 400++ each...selling to me at half price...but once again it's expired...so....
he say he can warranty if i am not satisfied...then again...i scared if any shit happens to me...I dun even get the chance to go back claim warranty oso...so...
still considering my option...
kepala pusing..

Gti said:
well...i will be changing my wheels to 17" soon...
thus am looking to fellow forummers experience...

Satria_95,
Thanx for ur kind advice though,....will take note of that..

i was quoted for 300bucks a piece for falken...and GIII oso bout that range..
Yoko Es100 is about 380...lowest i can get...but dun think i will be getting it cos my 16"that i am using now is quite noisy...performance wise of course...thumb up no complain.
very headache these few nights cos donno which wan to buy...
the fella in a shop in Kapar recommended me to use the new Dunlop...donno what name...
365 each...
but another shop in sunway say no good...
i oso kepala pusing..
but am currently thinking bout Falken coz...cheaper compared to YOko and performance wise....at least it won't sux big time...still considered reliable...

but come to think of it again...if I really wan to save...I can buy Kumho oso...bout 200 each...or bout the same range...Sime Tires...
Oso...there were expired Continental tiresoffered to me at one shop near SG Besi...worth 400++ each...selling to me at half price...but once again it's expired...so....
he say he can warranty if i am not satisfied...then again...i scared if any shit happens to me...I dun even get the chance to go back claim warranty oso...so...
still considering my option...
kepala pusing..

I think Falkens are noisy and thread wear as fast as Yokohamas.

Why don't you check out the reviews at www.tirerack.com ?

You can view tyres by brands. And then after u see the tyre u like, there is a link to another page where they compared the tire of your choice with other tires of the same category.

I used tirerack.com when making my decision to get Goodyear F1 GS-D3 and the review was very accurate.

satria_95 said:
Gti,

At DreamCars, I spoke to the people at the large BridgeStone about the problems I faced with the GIII, since they're promoting GIII at the booth. I told them that with a little harder braking on dry road, the tyres will start to slide. On wet road, it grips but starts to slide rather easily. I told him about my previous experience with the SilverStone tyres which was better than the GIII, and he only said, "Then I think you should use back the SilverStone tyres". Perhaps he's refering to individual preferences but I'm wondering whether is this how they market their products. Such typical Malaysian business people.

satria95,
u might have spoken to the sexy female promoters are these chics won't give much shit about the tyres they are promoting. hehehe. ok seriously, u have spoken to the wrong people. these guys are probably in charge of sales and marketing and probably not prepared to answer your questions. besides, they can't do much about it anyways. but if you're at an overseas booth whereby their top level engineers and technical guys are there, your questions will be answered precisely.

similarly i was complaining to a salesguy about how low quality his chair is coz i had changed the same computer chair almost 3 times. i told him after only 6 months, the chair cushion becomes thin and the arm rest breaks. he told me quite simply, then you go buy a new one again la. this made me #$%^&#$!

prodigy,
So you feel me too, eh? Ain't that typical of malaysian attitude of doing business. That's why malaysian products don't improve, or at least, almost all the malaysian products. I've come to a point where I don't even want to use capital "m" for malaysia anymore. I spoke to the guys at the BridgeStone booth. Unfortunately, they look like those typical chinese guys with the "if you don't like it, then go get other brand" kind of face.

I guess consumers have their part to play. The consumers have to make their complaints felt, like going to the newspapers, complaining and getting the forsaken relevant ministry to move on the biz outlets, law suits and bla bla bla. Then only will the outlets have to make a move. Most of the consumers just say, "fine. I won't buy from you anymore". Of course, slowly and over time, the biz outlet will loose it's business but that'll probably take a very long time and even more, maybe will still continue their biz like normal. It's just the malaysian way of life, where hardly anything will improve. malaysia will never reach 2020, whatever they have planned for it.

InitialD said:
I think Falkens are noisy and thread wear as fast as Yokohamas.

Why don't you check out the reviews at www.tirerack.com ?

You can view tyres by brands. And then after u see the tyre u like, there is a link to another page where they compared the tire of your choice with other tires of the same category.

I used tirerack.com when making my decision to get Goodyear F1 GS-D3 and the review was very accurate.

Whoa~!Hui la Hui~! Aloha~!
It's heaven..can review rims sumore
heheh
thanx so much dude
but no proton la....aiks......haf to substi wif mitsu.....
aikss aikss

Gti the fella in a shop in Kapar recommended me to use the new Dunlop...donno what name... 365 each... but another shop in sunway say no good... i oso kepala pusing.. but am currently thinking bout Falken coz...cheaper compared to YOko and performance wise....at least it won't sux big time...still considered reliable... but come to think of it again...if I really wan to save...I can buy Kumho oso...bout 200 each...or bout the same range...Sime Tires... Oso...there were expired Continental tiresoffered to me at one shop near SG Besi...worth 400++ each...selling to me at half price...but once again it's expired...so.... he say he can warranty if i am not satisfied...then again...i scared if any shit happens to me...I dun even get the chance to go back claim warranty oso...so... still considering my option... kepala pusing..[/QUOTE said:
Those guy in the Sunway is correct, in fact those Dunlop tyre qualitty drop dramatically lately, u will make a wise choice if u choose other brand instead of Dunlop and Kumho n sime, sure Kumho and Sime Tyre is cheap but the compound use for the tyre is so much inferior even if you compare them with local production Goodyear tyre. They are only good in advertising and publicity of their tyre thats it.
About expired tyre issue, not matter how cheap or even free, you are not suppose to fit them in your car. Expired tyres mean its more than 4 years old, thats the longest life span of the tyre, after the 4 years period, the rubber compound will tend to hardened and the side wall of the tyre structure will be change too, if you try push in pressure once fitted, they might explode without even putting on the whole thing in your car. Just imagine what if you are doing a 360 degree turn near Genting, and it exploded, you will end up somewhere at the bottom of the Genting bush or may be might end up on some orang asli home attap :D

ok from my experience here, no flamming ya..
i feel that the azenis ST115 grips better than the ES100 but the road feel for the ES100 is better.

Currently i'm using Michelin preceda pilot and i think it's better than both the ST 115 and ES100.

All in terms of grip, comfort, noise level and wet handling. the michelin is pretty value for money... price range is around the same as the ST115, ES100 or GIII.

And the the good thing bout the michelin is i feel and from what the tyre guy told me is that the michelin inner part of the tire is made of harder compound since that's where most of the wear occurs, cost we drive straight roads more. and this is more pronounce if your camber is -tive or your car is lowered. where else the outer part of the tire is of softer compound where u need the extra grip when you are cornering.

downside, it does not have the aggressive japanese tire look. the directional look. but heck i prefer the looks on the michelin anyway. - looks more like F1 tires eh. 4 straight main grooves.. hahahaha... :P

Just my 2 cents oppinion.. :) :)

After much survey i haf done b4 purchasing...
here is my conclusion...and again.. MY conclusion like what abang Satria_95 emphasised...so jus my own humble opinion and research thus far...

ES100 - Pricey..bout 380 each for 17"(cheapest i could nego thus far) In terms of performance...Superb grip and handling in both wet and dry condition...Quite noisy...and thread wears fast like nobody's business...try to imagine my 9 months old ES100 front already left sumthing like 40-45%...but if u really opt for performance at a decent price...ES100 is ur choice--can't compare to AD07 cos that one everybody knows it cost a bomb...

FM901 and replacement 101 - handling could match ES100...price wise oso cheaper little bit like 360\365 for a 17"...but but..ES100 already noisy...but 901 is noisier~!

GIII - already stated above...but price i can tell u is RM300...so a cheaper alternative...

Azenis - another alternative for GIII...of the same category...performs slightly better than GIII...but when thread goes to bout 50% left...grip will deteriote...as compared to earlier
this is my research thus far...so if u haf any opinion...pls feel free to share but dun plame me...i oso only try to share out as much information as possible to fellow forummers looking forward to change their tyres...
Cheers ;)

Gti,
Nice quick reviews. I heard some good stuff about the Yokies ES100 too. Also heard about it's thread wearing out rather fast. Taking into consideration the petrol price at RM1.52 per L, and another possible price hike, I think better we sell all our performance parts and just put back stock 13" or 14" rims and drive with cheap tyres. hahaha I think soon, fried kuay teow will cost bloody RM5 for small plate in those hawker stalls la. sigh...

I support AD07. Have been using it for 6 months. Thread still deep. I dunt do much cornering la.. but i do drags quite often. Very grippy esp when hot.