Drifting's effect on your wheels.

blitzkid

Ello.. I'm sure (really sure) hehe.. That there are many good drift racers in this forum.

I would like to ask .. You know, wheel spins would wear out your wheel right? But wheel spins wears out the whole surface of the wheel.

What about drifting? My wheels are kinda new, tried drifting a few times. The "U-turn" kind of drifts. (If you can call that drifting.) at a nearby place. You know, normally drifts are done turning right/left and sliding kind, right? But so far i only did the "turn right, and you have to turn right again" kind.. Like a big U-turn kinda road, but sliding most of the way. Maybe that's not even a drift.. :confused: Hmm.

So anyway, my question is.. When you're sliding all the way. Only one certain part of your wheel will be wearing off, right?
Would it be dangerous if you keep doing drifts, and each part of your wheel wears off.. The wheel won't really be.. Round. Right? Won't some parts be like.. More "Even" that the whole round wheel.. Hmm?

Or am i getting it all wrong and thinking too much? Hope to get some answers from the true experienced drifters. Thanks.. :) Please don't give me answer that you just assume.. I hope the real experienced ones will give me the answers.. If that's not too much to ask from a little bit of the experts' forum time. Thanks alot.

your tyre will flat spot and eventually when it wears out, the tyre punctures.

that is precisely why they don't use good tyres for beginners but used tyres. Handbrake turning and drifting is two entirely separate world. handbrake turning is the elementary process of learning to drift.

Joeker said:
your tyre will flat spot and eventually when it wears out, the tyre punctures.

yo bro, i can feel my tires unbalanced through my accelerator, could that be caused by flat spot? i jam brake kau kau 360 in SIC a few weeks back

Joeker : I see.. Thanks. Hmm, guess i'll have to stop doing this too often huh? Sigh. Don't really have the money to change tyres so soon.
Lately i've been going home late every night around 2/3 a.m. Road's empty, hands tend to get a bit itchy.

devious17 said:
that is precisely why they don't use good tyres for beginners but used tyres. Handbrake turning and drifting is two entirely separate world. handbrake turning is the elementary process of learning to drift.

So this handbrake thing, you just straight pull your handbrake straight up to it's fullest and .. What EXACTLY will happen to the car? Will the car automatically turn to ur desired direction in a 100 out of 100 tries?

I'm guessing that'll spoil your handbrake real bad huh..?

handbrake turns erm.....the autocrossers are all expert with this....

great way to change direction of the car.

basically, you've got to load one side of your car first, then yank your handbrake till you're able to lock your rear wheels. once that happens, your tail is gonna swing out with your front wheels as the fulcrum....

when your car is almost pointing to the desired direction, try and power out smoothly...not nail the pedal straight down.

on lower powered cars, you have to erm, "upset" the car first by feinting to one direction and then only turn to the desired direction....followed by the handbrake.

autocross sifus....please come here and help me....i'm lousy at descriptions...