Oil Filter Magnet

ehehhe

khguan, ehehehe, drive like sakai?? neway thanx for the explanation. i was just curious. so mind to post ur diy magnet?? where u took the magnet from??

i wanted to try also... anyone to help me to get one? i belanja TT ler... :D

Having Magnets actually works. Tried it before and still doing it.
Anyway, putting a solid heavy cylinderical magnet into an oil filter has its advantages:
Firstly,Magnets actually helps remove 40times more grit than the filter alone.(longer oil and filter service life)
Secondly, it also reduces toxic tailpipe pollution by at least 15-20%(less pollution)
Thirdly, 3% to 5% increase in fuel economy(better gas mileage)
Fourthly, at least 5-15times reduction in engine wear(Engine lasts longer)

If magnet is placed outside the oil filter, it doesnt attract as much grit(but better than nothing, right?)
So for those who wants to save fuel costs, save the environment, and not worry about the engine, put a magnet. But remember when putting a magnet into an oil filter, use a heavy solid magnet.

ps.Information on the four advantages taken from track mechanics and service shops.

RevMesh,
i mean even if u drive like raly style.. those magnets will stil stick tightly onto de oil filter... it will not drop.. i dun have any pics of them now.. mayb later i borrow a camera from fren then onli i post here...

those magnets i got from old hdd.

saolabi,
i dun think the weight of the magnet counts... i think the strength of the magnet is more important.. those hdd magnets we used are small piece and they are really really strong... if ur fingers kena kepit by them.. sure pain like hell...

the weight is to keep the magnet stable(less movement) inside the oil filter. If it is too light, there would be too much movement in the oil filter which if unlucky, the magnet might make a tiny hole inside the filter which renders the filter lousy.
Also, I used the term heavy because some might use the fridge magnet or flexible magnets.
And the term, solid, is to explain that solid magnets are usually more powerful(my opinion).

Some put magnet outside the oil filter, so it doesnt matter if it is light.
I put the magnet in the oil filter, so I use heavy magnet.(looks like a half smoked cigarette)
Basically, I try to think ahead and make sure my options are full-proofed.

I hope to hear more from anyone. Because, you'll never know i might be wrong.
Siapa tahu?! Mungkin I salah.

Peace!

oh.. u mean put de magnets inside... how u going to put de magnet inside de oil filter?

de oil filter onli a small container with a filter elemet inside... i dun really get it...

I think they are meaning by sticking a magnet on top of ur oil filter only.

BTW, got anyone try out fule magnet tat they say can polarize fuel and thus increase FC, power n blablabla.... ??? :confused:

ghwong said:
I think they are meaning by sticking a magnet on top of ur oil filter only.

BTW, got anyone try out fule magnet tat they say can polarize fuel and thus increase FC, power n blablabla.... ??? :confused:

Not on the top.But in the oil filter itself. (Besi beraninya d'simpan kedalam lubang 'Oil filter') The magnet i put in my car's oil filter is about 4.5cm by 0.8cm. Nearly the size of a triple A battery(AAA).
But for other DIY'ers, remember that you can use both ways to reduce grit in your engine. But dont forget that you need smaller magnets to put it inside.

guys....I'm a bit blur..... the hdd magnet we put at the Fuel Oil filter or the Engine Oil Filter????

maybe this could help you...

see the oil filter and d hdd magnet...
hdd_magnet_of.jpg

kruger dude... i think better stick at de side... once we discussed bout sticking which side of de oil filter...

sticking at de side is more appropriate...

khguan said:
kruger dude... i think better stick at de side... once we discussed bout sticking which side of de oil filter...

sticking at de side is more appropriate...
ok... will change the position...

why change at the side?? if btm more metal debris will be collected rite?

it doesnt matter if you put the magnet on the side or bottom because for some vehicles the oil filter's positining is different. Some are sideways some are not.