DIY - 'Magnetrap' - Oil Filter Magnet

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
i know where to get it. question is how to take it out
It's simple.. just remove all the screws and metallic binding tape.
Most of the HDD uses Torx screw.

So you need to buy these :

RM5 from Daiso la.. :P
Or cheaper from Mr DIY

quicksilver7

Sep 15, 2011
It's simple.. just remove all the screws and metallic binding tape.
Most of the HDD uses Torx screw.

So you need to buy these :

RM5 from Daiso la.. :P
Or cheaper from Mr DIY

Hmm ok ok thanks. I'll find one and fiddle around with it. BTW how big is a HDD magnet? How many of those are in a typical HDD?

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Hmm ok ok thanks. I'll find one and fiddle around with it. BTW how big is a HDD magnet? How many of those are in a typical HDD?
This is the size comparison.
And typically ... 2

Try not to put them TOGETHER.
Once snapped together, it is very VERY VERY hard to take them apart. Yes, it;s that strong

I have a few old HDDs that I don't mind parting with. Anyone game for 3 HDDs for RM20 or a lunch meal plus drink? :biggrin:

You know before i have torx screw...I use grinder to just destroy all those screw and cut the HDD into half with it...Hahahahaha....talk about overkill...

badmelatonin

Aug 17, 2013
went to jln pasar looking for magnet. was quoted RM25 for a magnet about as big as 20cents coin. my oh my ... damn expensive.
but FilterMag is even expensive @ RM250. WTH??

You know before i have torx screw...I use grinder to just destroy all those screw and cut the HDD into half with it...Hahahahaha....talk about overkill...

there is nothing can beat a hammer :listen:

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
In Mr DIY and those China hardware stores, they carry these Magnets for as cheap as RM1 each... :D

They also work on fuel rails for those "Magnetized Fuel" thingy... Like er... FuelSaver

In Mr DIY and those China hardware stores, they carry these Magnets for as cheap as RM1 each... :D

They also work on fuel rails for those "Magnetized Fuel" thingy... Like er... FuelSaver
When I went to ShenZhen, these HDD magnets sells like pasar malam...1 yuan only. What size also have.

how to make my kancil faster without changing the engine or upgrading it with a turbo