Myvi or Savvy

Zidane

Guys,

I am considering one of these.

I would like consrtuctive comments about both thru your experience.

I don't want comments like "not nice" or "proton tipu" etc....

I want comments with evidence, experience or support.....

Most likely i'm going for the savvy but your comments can make a difference.

thanks guys for your time.

Couldn't you just do a search? The compariosn has been done to the death. Go read and make your own judgements.

Myvi gots lotsa ready available performance part even can dumped in YRV inside, savvy - well good luck
Myvi looks cool but savvy are not which I think one of the ugliest car I ever saw IMHO
savvy will end like Tiara - remember ? it will fade away, while myvi with a lotsa version that u could find at kedai potong will be one of the favourites modded car on the road.

& like what silvervish quoted - pls feel free to search in this forum...

bro...i m a noob ar...just giving my point of views

cos i m a perodua driver also

Perodua MyVi
- if u wanna get myvi,get the 1.3 manual version
- Cute exterior,but soon there will be a large number of myvi on our roads
- more aftermarket parts.
- Has DVVT technology...claim to save fuel...but i felt that the FC moderate nia
- can transplant a K3-VET engine...same engine but its turbocharged
- more owners of myvi, thus u can join their club TT...keke

Proton Savvy
- the new R3 version is cool
- altought its a 1.1 litre...but the power is satisfying
- somehow i felt for a kcar local car...it has like a continental car feeling
- Less people has it...so its pretty special
- Less exterior parts to play...but it doesnt matter...i like the AMT ...the pickup and the flexibility....

above are just my 2 cetns.....correct me if i m wrong ya all the taiko...

Proton Savvy
- the new R3 version is cool
- altought its a 1.1 litre...but the power is satisfying

djgerm...i think the savvy is 1.2 liter..

jombie...myvi got more performance parts...but cannot tahan meh...see the pevious myvi rear arm during sso?

si|verfish said:
Couldn't you just do a search? The compariosn has been done to the death. Go read and make your own judgements.

Bro,

Done already.

Also searched yahoo and many other reviews locally and UK also.

Like technology, the moment u buy a laptop, the technology is obsolete. So snce the last review was done quite some time ago, there are bound to be new experiences. Waja has improved tremendously but still has a long way to go. So do i base my judgement on what was written 2 months ago? I am a manager and i want the latest update. I want the best. I want to know it all. Even if it is concerning proton's cambering. This is not like SURBO which the development is stagnant.

Guys,

thanks for the feedback. Really appreciate it.

I don't want to be mean and give you my very opinionated answer. Because, it is based on my preferences and my stand on certain car issues. So I can tell you why I like the MyVi and why I don't like the Savvy, but will that really help you much in making a decision? My decision is made, your's isn't.

And you are not going to get much of anything else from here either, because there will be usually 2 parties here, one favouring the other. And there will be bashing etc. etc. What this means, is that it will be difficult to get an objective view.

I think the better way to get some objective response from here is to ask the opinion from owners on what their experience has been with their car (not the other car, to avoid subjective opinions). Sort of a satisfaction survey, Savvy owners on the Savvy and Myvi owners on the Myvi. No statements laced with biasness, whatsoever.

With views from boths sides you can then decide. Of course, do some reading from local car mags to gauge some ideas from their test drives as well. Don't ask questions like Myvi VS Savvy...won't work and it'll just start a bitter never ending argument.

My 2 cents.

ehaab said:
how about none of them..can ah?? get used Jap. car..

HEHEHEHE!

I have used a MAzda Familia 323 2 doors hatch 1985 1.5
a Wira aeroback 1997 1.3
and a Ford TX3 Sampan 2 doors 1.8 1990.

and i have used these cars in a period of 5 working years.

Planning to move on from used cars.

My favourite is still the Mazda. During my younger years i was crazy enuff to go 80km/h constntly around the corners of the hill road to ulu langat. Never went off the road once. Crazy and stupid. Almost hit a bus going the opposite direction. Not my fault. He was on my side of the road. mauauhahaha

But i'm getting too old already. So just wanna buy something stock and standard. But i still prefer old jap cars.

But if my finances does not allow me any of the 2, planning to get a toyota corolla 1990. Planning to save and pay cash and put in a 4age.

muahahahahah

hahaha... like what i've posted recently ... buy VIOS heheheh
TOYOTA VIOS akekekee...

DJgErM said:
- somehow i felt for a kcar local car...it has like a continental car feeling

AWESOME!!!!11GRANDE...whatever floats your boat man.

I've never been in a savvy, but have driven a 1.3 auto Myvi for uh....10minutes?
All I can say is, a 3banger is always a 3banger. No matter whatsoever dvvt or anything, it is still meh.

noise wise, quite decent (maybe because it's still a new car)

steering and braking wise, you'd definately want to get rid of the 175 tyres.
and I honestly do not know how some myvis on the road use 17" wheels. even with 14", I think the performance(acceleration pull) is ultra meh.

well, that's all from me. I'm afraid of enraging proud myvi owners who might be lurking here and would not accept their car to be degraded like this.

myvi all the way for everything

but for fun factor - savvy AMT

Zidane said:
Guys,

I am considering one of these.

I would like consrtuctive comments about both thru your experience.

I don't want comments like "not nice" or "proton tipu" etc....

I want comments with evidence, experience or support.....

Most likely i'm going for the savvy but your comments can make a difference.

thanks guys for your time.

FACTS:
Savvy is built AROUND that proven and reliable little renault engine... unlike Waja 1.8 which is incompatible at all with its Renault engine, so expect much less problems with savvy.

Only ignorant guys will say Savvy is like Tiara..they are two totally different creatures altogether.

Savvy Sales averaging 1k+ units per month.. if this trend continues, it will defintely outsell Kenari and Kelisa based on 2005 figures...source is from motortrader.com.my and uncle CHIPS YAP himself, who has vast experience in local motoring industry.

quote from uncle Chips
The Savvy won't end up like the Tiara if you refer to resale values. It is a different type of car and it was a wrong move for Proton to code it 'TRM' and have everyone consider it as a 'Tiara replacement'. Lucky they did not also call the Savvy a Tiara as well.

Whether the Savvy will become a very popular model for Proton is another thing. I consider it a well-engineered product - engine not all that great, though - and the best from Proton so far. It is Proton's fault that there are not more people wanting to buy it because the company failed to show that it cared about quality until it was too late. It was only with the Savvy that it actually started to talk about making a serious effort on quality, even bringing in TUV to help.

I was just reading a Fortune article about GM and they suffer the same problem as Proton. A SC guy said that today's GM cars are built better and don't break down like before - but people are just not buying them. And that is because people got fed up having to live with the inconvenience and when alternatives came, they chose them - and forgot GM. That is what has happened to Proton and it was all due to complacency that was brought on by the false perception of being a 'great' carmaker because it could have 70% share. They never thought whether that 70% was achieved because the products were actually that great or because people had no choice.

There's a thriving community for Savvy owners as there are increasingly number of Savvy OTR..the URL is here http://www.savoc.net

For more about infos like parts price, issues etc visit the link

MY EXPERIENCE:
If you like manual transmission, definitely go for Savvy..it has harder clutch and stiffer gear change and unlike perodua gearbox and clutch which are soft and spongy.

Savvy's handling and ride is superior than the other. Its suspension absorbs road shocks very well, it won't transfer the shock to the cabin.

Savvy is not ugly.. it's design is cutting edge unlike myvi which is bland and uninspiring, got big butt also..well depends on personal choice hehe.

TEST DRIVE BOTH CARS and you will definitely see the apparent differences..the choice is all yours ;)

I have test driven both cars and ended up being a proud Savvy owner here for 2 months plus after searching for a new car for nearly a year.

Well, for me few things to look at before buy a car:
1st inside space, is it big or not? It can fit people with weight average of 50-75kg and height of 150-165cm, taller and heavier than that it will have problem, which these 2 failed.
2nd the price, is it value for money or not? For 1.2/1.3 engine also cost 4++++, it is slightly overpriced.
3rd FC and performance, this is the most important part, can it climd hills or not? Like Genting without radiator boil.

to me its still an ugly car & it WILL end like tiara
If produa could keep up with Myvi demands, Savvy will die
One big reason people buy Savvy is they hate to wait.
whats the different ? lotsa car enthusiast will go for myvi b'cause unlimited upgradable & u just go to cut shop & find one, heck u can convert it into passo or boon & is that easy, transplant - no problem, performance part - no problem, even now they install brembo calipers.
but what can u do with savvy ? one members has to customised its bodykits because its but are damn ugly & how to improve performance ? transplant ? probably there a little hope to find renault clio at cut shop
Think what will happen in the next 3-5yrs, better not regret later
but then One man's meat is another man's posion.