Smart4four VS Myvi, heaven and earth?

alexz said:
see alot of talk2 empty here.

FYI the smart forfour is not based on the smart fortwo. its actually based on the mitsubishi colt CZ. it even uses the mitsu 4g15 engine (same like proton saga lah). its cute (but IMO the front looks like a catfish).

its sold as a cheap car in europe, so dont expect it to be the same quality as a mercedes.

its selling for around 120K for the 1.5 litre, around the same price as its colt CZ cousin.

the advantage is u can get a colt CZ 1.5 turbo halfcut and transplant it into the smart forfour!

R u sure or not..the smart forfour use same engine like me..
http://www.smart.com/-snm-0146233820-1126683641-0000019452-0000002991-1127580738-enm-is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/WFS/mpc-en-content-Site/en_EN/-/EUR/SVCPresentationPipeline-Start?Page=issite%3a%2f%2fsmart-Site%2fsmart%2ecom%2fRootFolder%2fsmart%2fmodelle%2fsmartforfour%2ftechnik%2fmotoren%2fbenziner%2epage

http://tiuloh.blogspot.com/2005/09/smart-is-rather-stupid.html
a review of the Smart For Four. he says he'll choose the Myvi over the Smart anyday. oh, and he had the car for a few days, you guys didn't, so i dont see how you can make any conclusions.

yes the 1.3 uses the 4g13 and the 1.5 uses the 4g15 engine. but it has a new dohc head with mivec though (the 4g15 DOHC 1st seen in 1996 in lancer MX 1.5)

someone pls explain to me why you guys are saying smart uses 4g13 and 4g15

ok

the smart forfour is built in the same factory in netherlands that built the mitsu colt cz. it uses the same chassis and engine as the colt cz (similar like colt CA and proton satria lah). only the cosmetics is different. nowadays its common (like the new volvo S40/mazda3/new ford focus.... or the mitsu charisma/old S40/proton waja... yessss!!)

even thought smart didnt say so (prestige maaa) the 1.5 litre engine is really a 4g15. with diferent head and gearbox of course (same like the vr4 and evo9 engine... beneath all that glitter of the evo9 mivec, its actually the same old 4g63 block that can be traced back to the old 1980 lancer turbo!!)

i guess only ppl who like to read technical mags and stuff really cares about all this obscure trivias...

alexz said:
ok

the smart forfour is built in the same factory in netherlands that built the mitsu colt cz. it uses the same chassis and engine as the colt cz (similar like colt CA and proton satria lah). only the cosmetics is different. nowadays its common (like the new volvo S40/mazda3/new ford focus.... or the mitsu charisma/old S40/proton waja... yessss!!)

even thought smart didnt say so (prestige maaa) the 1.5 litre engine is really a 4g15. with diferent head and gearbox of course (same like the vr4 and evo9 engine... beneath all that glitter of the evo9 mivec, its actually the same old 4g63 block that can be traced back to the old 1980 lancer turbo!!)

i guess only ppl who like to read technical mags and stuff really cares about all this obscure trivias...

mmm good info bro..I shall meet u and have a chit-chat about engines at deli-france here in Kepong

proton12vauto said:
mmm good info bro..I shall meet u and have a chit-chat about engines at deli-france here in Kepong

sure mate :)

hmmm, so Myvi can be compare with smart4four or not? conclusion? dun compare with the price of it la of coz. as for the 1 cents for 1 cents products, r u really sure bout it?do u mean cheap things doesn't come with good quality? i buy proton with so high prices, i dun get good quality wor.......how's that gonna say? maybe i'm wrong la.
so dun compare myvi la, compare with toyota passo?

TOYOTA PASSO VS SMART4FOUR

desmond937 said:
hmmm, so Myvi can be compare with smart4four or not? conclusion? dun compare with the price of it la of coz. as for the 1 cents for 1 cents products, r u really sure bout it?do u mean cheap things doesn't come with good quality? i buy proton with so high prices, i dun get good quality wor.......how's that gonna say? maybe i'm wrong la.
so dun compare myvi la, compare with toyota passo?

TOYOTA PASSO VS SMART4FOUR

the smart4fours gearbox totally killed the car. can't compare. myvi/passo wins hands down for sheer drivability.

havent driven the forfour yet. but it has a unique interior concept where you can turn it into a lounge. its a better value for your money compared to the colt cz cousin.

as for the Myvi, it is really a great car. IMO the best value for money 1.3 car in its class.

i read in the papers that UMW will be bringing the new yaris to malaysia next year. it uses the Myvi chassis, but nicer bodywork and a 1.5litre engine. should be priced somewhere between swift and jazz. maybe that would be a more appropriate comparo with the forfour pricewise.

so actually it depends. similar cars in the class - Myvi, forfour, colt, swift, jazz, getz, aveo, impul micra... which one do you pick? overall i'll choose myvi for its value for money... as alot of malaysian's do (look at the waiting list!)

actually Myvi is a default choice coz it is not in the same playing field with other cars in its class (price wise), coz its a national car, with toyota quality... so its almost a no brainer to choose it...

now i hear some comment.......:) so, means myvi/passo win over smart4four rite? hehe.....

what about TOYOTA PASSO VS SMART4TWO?

i choose smart4two even is expensive, but the power is very good. small, fast and compact for 2......

but its turbo wor......u tekan only then cabut liao. kelisa more for economical car, not fast car also...

but smart fortwo, two doors 2 seat while kelisa 4door 5 seat :P kahahaha

xtracooljustin said:
Mercedes's built quality might have drop but its never a junk car, compared wif wat our own nation offer on da table.

Now thats wat i call crap indeed.

wow, its amazing that from comparing smart to myvvi, it can end up with someone comparing mercedes with national cars.

back to the topic. its lucky for malaysians that perodua assembles the myvvi, which brings it under malaysian national car status. imagine if the myvvi was brought in by daihatsu, or toyota. the price will definitely double. Which is how Naza is able to bring in the naza kias, as they also fall under national car status.

Smart ForTwo, Fast? Bwahahahahahaha! That's funny mate...funny.

Anyway, I'd pick the Myvi over the Smart ForFour as well. As already mentioned, it is great value for money (here with our over inflated prices that is). The Jazz is already bleeding expensive for what it is, a small car. Now this comes along with a bigger price tag. Anyone who buys this has more money than sense. Or just plain a lot of money.

And most people almost always fail to see past the exterior. They hear it is a Smart and they go wow. Then they hear Smart is owned by Mercedes and they go double wow. When in fact underneath, it is just a Mitsubishi Colt. And how much are they selling the Colt for? In the UK even the Colt is cheaper than the Smart.

Oh yeah, speaking of Mercedes build quality. Yes it has been steadily declining over the past decade and they did pay the price for their shoddy cars for a while. And now they have realised their folly and are trying to fix that apparently. Of course, saying Mercedes builds shoddy cars is relative, it simply can't compare to the level of world class shoddiness that Proton can produce, for example.

alexz said:
havent driven the forfour yet. but it has a unique interior concept where you can turn it into a lounge. its a better value for your money compared to the colt cz cousin.

as for the Myvi, it is really a great car. IMO the best value for money 1.3 car in its class.

i read in the papers that UMW will be bringing the new yaris to malaysia next year. it uses the Myvi chassis, but nicer bodywork and a 1.5litre engine. should be priced somewhere between swift and jazz. maybe that would be a more appropriate comparo with the forfour pricewise.

so actually it depends. similar cars in the class - Myvi, forfour, colt, swift, jazz, getz, aveo, impul micra... which one do you pick? overall i'll choose myvi for its value for money... as alot of malaysian's do (look at the waiting list!)

actually Myvi is a default choice coz it is not in the same playing field with other cars in its class (price wise), coz its a national car, with toyota quality... so its almost a no brainer to choose it...

Do you mean this Yaris? This car can't compared with Jazz or Aveo b'cause it's 2 doors

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/mshjohorean/yaristsport.jpg