Myvi or Savvy

Guys,

Thanks for the replies.

And for informing me about savoc.net. I've been spending alot of time reading about savvy.

Note that if you venture into carsurvey.org, there are many other well known car companies with qc problems. So proton isn't alone in this world.

However, it is the percentage of the defects and how critical are they that i am interested about. And how it is tackled. Proton has done good with the savvy. You can check at autocar uk and a couple of other mags. Proton has done good with the quality audit of savvy, the recall of waja with the rims problem and the quality of proton waja. I was quite fed up with proton but these moves by proton are a good start. And i hope they don't tend to take advantage of the public anymore by selling cheap low quality cars.

I've checked with a dealer and myvi 1.3 is available 4/5 months after booking. 1.0 is available in 1/2 months.

Currently, savvy is my choice but pending on when i get to test drive it.

If the car fails to impress me, i'm booking the 1.3 myvi.

regards.

Sounds like a sensible thing to do. Hope it goes well for you and you find the car you want.

Chips Yap got it all wrong comparing Proton to GM. GM already revamped their product lineups, quality of products increased tremendously.

Proton had only one product that was claimed by Proton to be of good build quality. What about the others? Still selling Saga to con people? Still selling all those that were prone, deemed to fail consumers? Quality assurance is affected by overall company image rather than solely product itself. If Proton were so keen to sell something which is supposingly well engineered, quality assured, then STOP selling low quality, lemons, then only Savvy will help Proton build up its image. Making a good car trying to polished up own's image and at the same time selling craps to make money is another stupid act.

GM cares for their image and products, really. Proton just wanna sell Savvy. And speaking of good build quality...... does that mean that something that breaksdown easily will only then be regarded as bad quality? Nope, well built car should also be build with pleasant plastics .... a better consideration on the materials used, not those from Savvy and Gen2. :)

Proton Savvy
- the new R3 version is cool
- altought its a 1.1 litre...but the power is satisfying
- somehow i felt for a kcar local car...it has like a continental car feeling
- Less people has it...so its pretty special
- Less exterior parts to play...but it doesnt matter...i like the AMT ...the pickup and the flexibility....

...[/QUOTE]

i aslo perfer to savvy R3 version, cool dude , myvi now a large number , sum r changing to passo version n others, now savvy r growing now, i saw many sum savvy car r modified , its cool !! if i was u , im sure will take savvy with R3 version and AMT , coz te transmission r special for kcars n te engine r renault !

those r my opinion, i didnt wan to get fight or else....

Or else what?

BTW, Savvy R3 hasn't been launched and even when it does it wouldn't come with AMT.

"engine r renault !"
I mean that must be the greatest selling point EVAR!!! Yeah, right.

Savvy cars are environment friendly. The plastic parts in the car are of "bio-degradable" quality. It will break up over time....(get my drift?)

si|verfish said:
Or else what?

BTW, Savvy R3 hasn't been launched and even when it does it wouldn't come with AMT.

"engine r renault !"
I mean that must be the greatest selling point EVAR!!! Yeah, right.

yeah !!! or wait for new toyota car ----> yaris or vitz , it will launch soon !!

crsjimmy said:
yeah !!! or wait for new toyota car ----> yaris or vitz , it will soon launch it !!
Ummm...I was being sarcastic with the last sentence, if you didn't notice. Nevermind...

hahaha...!!!
anyway IMO savvy is v well built indeed except that piece of renault is totally crap & the exterior is a bit weird...
...whereas myvi looks v refreshing & is more powderful than savvy but handling is not as good...

1st inside space, is it big or not? It can fit people with weight average of 50-75kg and height of 150-165cm, taller and heavier than that it will have problem, which these 2 failed.

are you really sure? well, the savvy might have a problem with that but not the myvi. i weight 82kg, 181cm tall, and so far in cheaper car catagory Myvi is the only car that i do not need to push the seat all teh way back to be able to drive comfortably. and DO NOTE that even with the seat push all the way back (mean i can't really reach the pedal confortably unless i'm wearing a thick boot), there is still enough place for me to move my leg at the rear seat.

i say the Myvi can fit in 5 averagely built adults, 175-180cm tall, 70-80kg. or if you are really fat, then only 2 at the back. i don't think a 6'3" person is common in malaysia.

if anyone bothers to read what i'm going to type after this, please help yourself. I kind of agree with Zidane that over the times people's views on the car might change, and it really did, cuz i've changed my views on them myself.

i use to bash proton all the time and support perodua, well, its not like i support proton now, i still dislike them, just that my view on savvy had turned for the better. so if anyone bothers, here's my view now:

exterior
it is common that most people will say savvy looks ugly (and i think it has the face of a waja as its ass), and the Myvi look cool and funky all the way. But over the times, i kinda get boring with the Myvi, its too common on the road now, and it just don't feel special, and if you built it up with body kits, you need to spend extra dollar AND might end up in initial B depends on how you do it.

savvy on the other hand, dunno why, i started to accept how it looks, although not my thing, it actually isn't as bad as most people said. My mom, now 50+, actualy prefers the savvy since day 1 cuz she thinks myvi's big ass is ugly (someone mention this just now.., although i dun mind). Savvy now looks kinda cute running on the road to me, while with Suzuki swift running around on the road, Myvi's funkyness seems to be overshadowed by the swift.

interior
This i did not change my views, i'm still dissapointed over the quality of Savvy's interior still looks like what some of us Hakka would say "an fa hok" (very chemical -> cheap plastic.. simply made.. related to overly cheap china made imitation product). Might seem to fit together in the showroom, but dunno what might happen in the future, but still better than any Proton saga LMST. (imo)

Myvi isn't pure leather interior itself either. But at least the quality seems to be better, more refined, and more solidly built. Being a boon/passo base model, i couldn't help it but to be EXTREMELY dissapointed cuz it didn't come with a boon/passo meter console (which i would kill to get one).

power
i've never sat in a moving Savy before, so i can't really compare. And i only sit in a Myvi 1.3 auto as a passenger. with 3 adults in the car weighting more than 200kg, the auto 1.3L really feels lack of power, but still enough for daily comuting.

I have a friend, owns a honda b16 vtec, test drived both cars. He told me that Myvi is kinda more rev-happy, while Savvy is smoother at low rpm. You don't need rocket science to tell which car he like better.

BUT--- do remember there are at least 5 time more drivers that would shout "OMG 4000rpm its gonna blow!!!" than those who would shout "DAMN why they make tacho show up to '8' only??"

handling
i really can't say much on this, since i'm never at the wheel of both cars. but the friend who did, the one i mention earlier, told me Savvy, although less power, actually more stable when driving at 120km/h. corner also smooth. while Myvi seems abit unstable at high speed (compare to savvy).

however, i've sit im myvi doing normal speed, ride's okay, no big deal, comfy enough and handles good enough to keep most people from complaining.

support
really depends on the service center. i've read alot of people complain proton's mechs are jerks. but at where i live, they are quite okay, just that they don't seems enthusiastic about their job.. mean work very slow, at least they get the things done.

upgradability
okay lets face it guys, just a wild guess, but most probably, out of 10 driver, 1 would not care about their car, 5 will just drive the car around, fix it when it breaks down, wash it when its dirty; 3 would probably go to accessory shop to put some stuff in their car, maybe a better CD player, maybe some steering wrap; and only 1 would spend real money upgrading their car.

and out of those who would mod their car, probably only 10% would go to the extreme, performance or not. So it is unfair to say one car manufacture sells a car that cannot be modded at all (i'm not saying someone say something wrong in this forum, just incase someone might misunderstand, just an example). Car manufacture make cars to be sold to the majority of the public, not minority kaki modifikasi like us, although it seems that there's many of us here but its purely because we just group together. 9 out of 10 of my friend rather go watch movie or buy expensive handphone where you could afford 2 SAFC2 already.

my conclusion
for stock driving around town, the myvi would be a better comuting car IMHO. for the sake of fun, Savvy might sound interesting, especially the AMT. If you Kaki Modifikasi, then go for Myvi. If you damn sifu in modification liau, whatever car you can also make it fly already, right?

Myvi had better overall headroom, legroom bla bla bla. INTERIOR OF MYVI IS LARGER THAN TOYOTA ALTIS, AUDI A4, V40 --- > BEAT THAT.

Ingolstadt said:
Myvi had better overall headroom, legroom bla bla bla. INTERIOR OF MYVI IS LARGER THAN TOYOTA ALTIS, AUDI A4, V40 --- > BEAT THAT.

and iswara, wira, sentra, satria.............

hobcai said:
and iswara, wira, sentra, satria.............

Perdana as well... .. Waja i'm not too sure... .Waja got very nice roomy interior ... even more comfortable and roomy than perdana.

dudes..........read back the topic.....

if like this.......

Subaru Impreza WRX STi la.....
Mitsubishit Lancer Evolution 9 la......
Audi A8 la.......

if like this.......

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 9 la......
Audi A8 la.......

for me... myvi is my choices....
cuz as what jombiee said.. it ready performance part liao...
giv sum mod wif hav a nice look....

gohkokeng said:

if like this.......

Mitsubishit Lancer Evolution 9 la......
Audi A8 la.......

hur ~ ?! am i lost somewhere? where does this lead to or comes from ?

MYVI or SAVVY

how come talk until Satria, Iswara, Wira, Waja.....Perdana also mari.........

then better say Ferrari as well.......

si|verfish said:
Couldn't you just do a search? The compariosn has been done to the death. Go read and make your own judgements.

LOL thats a fish slap, downright sarcastic, but you made your certainly. *nods*

Write your reply...