Mod Proton Gen2

all i can say is..better not touch the GEn 2 engine...

i look at it once....kepala also sakit....why the engine liek this geh?

hahahahahaha...and now i realise thatity's CAMPRO w/o the CAM in it....

hmm..well..i test drive the G2 oncce..

handling and brakings are very conti feelings....not as hard as japanese

but anyway...G2 engine is kinda sakit kepala...cos it's weird the way i look at it..

razaksa, best way is to be patience, nobody (besides Proton themselves) knows how Campro engine works. The engine is too knew that nobody dares to play around inside the engine yet. Your basic mods are ok now, so just leave it like that for the moment.

thanks for the replies and feed back guys I'm planning to upgrade the ECU to Obit, installed and tuned by a Japanese tuner in SIngapore. Check out the ws www.obitasia.com. The Torque bands on the dyno graph looks interesting how they tune the car to have 10% more torque and max torque comes in at abt 2000rpm. ANy comments?

Originally posted by suriasah_putera@Jan 10 2005, 17:04
better follow like this
externally the car looks great, reminds me of the previous Renault Megane and Laguna, very nice to mod.

but internally it sucks.
the dashboard is weird, the seats are weird, and the engine too :rolleyes:

Actually, G2 doesn't have "CAMPRO" in it because technology not stable. Something like after 3 - 4K have to service if not blow up!!

So they remove it for mass-market reliability.

..... that was what I was told.

m

Originally posted by chilskater@Dec 16 2004, 09:29
GEN 2...i tot stock engine can go 160HP...Geng..read the news ka?GEN 2 baru 4days sudah terbakar...engine burn geng...these are normal problem with GEN 2...quite powerful but mudah terbakar.....not to scared u but better buy small fire extinguisher...
r u referring to the same case in the newspaper or there's any other cases?

campro is the name of the engine series...designed to be fitted wit cam profile switching(thus call campro). the current one is the base model and future engine from this family will have the tech...

happy driving...

cheers...

go check out speedworks.they haf a package for Gen2 upgrades.air filters..cams and so on.

but its still camTAKpro at the end of the day still have to use the lousy dashboard with miniature dials, hard to see analogue clock and kenot remove cdplayer for ice upgrades :angry:

There can be many reasons why Gen2 still got no variable valve timing, we can only guess coz Proton don't tell public the real story. It can be still in testing, it can be the supplier of the engine parts still unable to mass-produce Campro engine parts, it can be any reasons. Unfortunately it'll always a guess. Even when Proton change the gear ratios for Wira/Iswara from time to time, they don't tell anyone.

hi sifus,

just want to know what is actually ABS and EBD.. i know that the new HLIne gen2 are equiped with it.

Is it that good to be install into gen2? anybody know the price if i were to install it in the base gen2?

need opinions ...

ABS = Anti-lock Brake System
EBD = Electronic Brake Distribution

both of this systems will provide more safety when maneuvering or emergency situation as it will minimizes the braking distance. great for novice drivers.

i think it can be fitted to any cars with disc brake system (correct me if im wrong). and the cost would be in the region of RM2k+++

anyone interested to supercharge or turbocharge their Gen2?

Question about campro. I went to Proton's updated site and they're actually exhibiting campro technology. I figured that there is a difference between variable valve timing, cam phasing with VTEC's electronical lift control.

VTEC = Variable-Valve Timing & Electronical-Lift Control

...which indicates two(2) technologies in one engine.

Variable Valve Timing is about creating overlap during high RPMs.

Electronical-Lift Control is phasing from a low profile came to a higher profile came to increase valve entry (equates to a bigger hole) for air intake or exhaust (whichever).

So, is CAMPRO design with the former or latter or both?

Haha, my friends like to call it engine CAMPUR....:p

umm..i know the exact news to the burnt gen2..
the old version gen2, the catalytic converter ( to burn all the un burnt petrol ) is located next to the spark plugs, it somehow caught fire when that dude tries to start his car back.

anywayZ.. the new gen2, all the catalytic converters are moved to a diff place, far from the plugs, which leaves a BIGG BIGG hole under ur hood right beside the engine.. so that also explains why u see so much space next to ur engine dudes.. it's not for ur turbines or nos tank! ahahah..

izt okay to buy gen 2 instead of waja??can someone compare btw waja and g2...:) maybe wan day wanna buy a family car....

i saw someone drive a waja tat have been tacap..looks like an audi. white color..veri nice.

Hayvern said:
Question about campro. I went to Proton's updated site and they're actually exhibiting campro technology. I figured that there is a difference between variable valve timing, cam phasing with VTEC's electronical lift control.

VTEC = Variable-Valve Timing & Electronical-Lift Control

...which indicates two(2) technologies in one engine.

Variable Valve Timing is about creating overlap during high RPMs.

Electronical-Lift Control is phasing from a low profile came to a higher profile came to increase valve entry (equates to a bigger hole) for air intake or exhaust (whichever).

So, is CAMPRO design with the former or latter or both?

There's no"valve timing" technology in dis Campro engine ..... It is jus a twin cam engine ....