Is 0.5 bar too low?

soggie

I'm running an Evo 2 RS stock engine, everything stock inside. Well except for the hoses (samco silicon), BOV and air filter. The prev owner set the boost pressure to 0.5 bar, and I'm thinking, is it possible to raise it to 0.8 or even 1.0 without any major mods to the engine? What's the original boost pressure of an Evo 2 engine? Using stock TD05 twin fin turbine.

0.5bar got problem..gotta check it....

las time my impreza running at 0.5bare..after check..mech told me my car was running in safe mode...so ecu automaticaly set boost at 0.5bar....

but i oso dunno wats wrong la...now boosting at 1bar...

hmm no ler, i mean, right now the boost is set at 0.5 bar. Prev owner sed its a safe zone... but I'm itching to up it to 0.8 bar. Was wondering if that's ok for a stock Evo engine.

soggie said:
hmm no ler, i mean, right now the boost is set at 0.5 bar. Prev owner sed its a safe zone... but I'm itching to up it to 0.8 bar. Was wondering if that's ok for a stock Evo engine.

u sure previous owner put it at 0.5bar? coz stock boost is at 0.7-0.8bar....

so it is no problem if u wanna boost up to 0.8bar.... it is standard boost

soggie said:

u sure previous owner put it at 0.5bar? coz stock boost is at 0.7-0.8bar....

so it is no problem if u wanna boost up to 0.8bar.... it is standard boost

Yeah there's a boost controller in there... Sorta like a dial. Is that used to control the boost pressure? BTW, if not mistaken I'm using a dumppipe instead of a wastegate.

how come so many gadgets n boost so low?

my fren car is Timing lari las time...u go n check it....

coz wat i know...boost controller can decrease boost...juz can up boost...

corect me if im wrong

huakenny, not everybody hentam high high boost. i can boost up to 1.5 bar but what for?? so i dial in 0.8 for daily driving coz less stress on engine,

soggie standart boost for EVO is 0.7 - 0.8 bar.
if u want to up to 0.8 there's no prob at all. but mantain stock boost or 1.0 bar is safe level.
but i'm wondering y ur boost is so low. even u close ur boost controller it will back to stock boost reading if i'm not wrong.
u may check sumwhere might be leaking, i mean hose leaking.

phat7 said:
huakenny, not everybody hentam high high boost. i can boost up to 1.5 bar but what for?? so i dial in 0.8 for daily driving coz less stress on engine,

no...i mean..even he hv boost controller...bu it is imposible for him to set to 0.5bar rite? coz oledi lower than stock boost.....

can boost controler do tat a? juz curios....

argh headache... Nvm, I'll dial it back up to 0.8 bar after changing my clutch and timing belt.

erm please double check
is it ur boost meter showing the right boost

if not
please do check whether ur system still connected to
the stock boost valve , if yes then i tink ur ecu can control it

bt like normal headache's
it usually ur actuator , check whether it is screwed
maybe it already weak , rusted or such

to boost 1bar haih , i did a few things
main thing is BOV
plastic bov will leak at 1bar
2nd ur fuel pump evo oso can bt is it ok or not ? make sure its still supplying fuel

1bar oso quite high for a stock ecu evo
and summore not tuned
gasket stock oso , make sure dont heat the engine up

stock boost for evo according to websites is 11psi bt some tend to go 12psi