Advise needed: Wastegate problem

• See what others are reading now! Try Forums > Current Activity
  • Search function more powerful with google results! Try Search

geukai

Hello taikor-taikor and sifu-sifu,

I'm kinda new to this, so please bear with me on the problem description. I'm currently using a Tial 38mm wastegate with 0.7 bar spring installed. Running on a TD05-18G 4G63T with an electronic boost controller. So my questions are:

- If I'm using 0.7 bar spring, the wastegate should only open when the boost hits 0.7 bar, am I correct?
- I noticed that the wastegate will work normally (open at 0.7 bar) when I switch on the electronic boost controller. When I off the electronic boost controller, the wastegate will open at 0.4-0.5 bar range, so it that normal?

I hope those are not a stupid question, try to seek for answers. Thanks again and don't flame me if I describe the thing incorrectly.

its simple , disconnect ur boost controller, see if boosts at 0.7bar
if it doesnt then most probably ur wastegate is faulty

Jin, thanks for the advise, u mean disconnect the boost controller and see whether it can boost up to 0.7 bar? I've disconnected my boost controller last week and test, the car hardly boost up to 0.7 bar, most of the time 0.5-0.6 bar. The wastegate opens at 0.4 bar...

..hmm,actually..i was wondering,why not just remove the boost-con. just rely on the wastegate?

question:how those guys can have wastegate installed and at the same time having a 'scramble-boost' function?..i dont get how-it-works. =)

Where did you get all these 0.4 & 0.7 reading? From boost meter? from Turbo timer? etc?

Had a fren who boast his bone stock turbo engine engine could boost almost 2 bar without any problems.

Later found out he got this 2 bar reading from his HKS turbo timer. (the turbo timer is very old model and very worn down) In other words the reading from the Turbo timer "aeroplane" liao :rofl:.

Last edited:
haha...speaking of "aeroplane" readings..try this..